The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, September 30th, 2005

Directed by Joss Whedon

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Serenity
When the crew of the spaceship Serenity takes on two new passengers -- a young doctor and his unstable, telepathic sister -- they get much more than they bargained for. The two are fugitives from the...  View more >

PG-13
sequences of intense violence and action, and some sexual references

Starring Nathan Fillion, Gina Torres, Alan Tudyk...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Serenity.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K Sep 30, 2005

I'm a fan of the show, and I LOVED this movie. I think that most fans of sci-fi would enjoy it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Eileen VIP MemberSep 30, 2005

Serenity has non-stop action. A great story. Actors that suspend our disbelief and dialog and story line that is whitty and REAL.

I liked Star Wars 3 because it formed a bridge between Star Wars of yesteryear and today. But its dialog was too simplistic. They made poor use of their excellent actors.

Not so, Serenity.

A glimpse of what the universe would really be like if human beings colonized space.

Oh, Firefly we really missed you!

The movie does not require you to have watched the series. See it today and judge for yourself 

[--- See Now! ---]by euler010 Oct 1, 2005

If you have seen the Firefly TV series, you will find this movie to be AMAZING. If you haven't, I still strongly recommend it. You will really enjoy it. This is one of the best sci-fi movies I've ever seen. The plot is very well constructed and is filled with suprises. The hero (Mal) and the villian comprise one of the best good guy/bad guy duos I've seen in a while. And the climax scenes (two that I really loved) are totally unexpected and very exhilarating.

By the way, if you haven't seen the Firefly series, go buy the box set. It's one of the best shows I've seen in a while, and it's well worth the $35 (for 13 episodes). Don't take my word for it, this movie was made solely because of the success of those sales after just half a season on the air. 

[--- See Now! ---]by The Jake Oct 1, 2005

So a disclaimer before I begin this review: I am a fan of the TV series "Firefly" and was extremely (perhaps a little too) excited to see this movie. I was expecting a lot, and I got more than a lot. I got my favorite movie of the year.

Joss Whedon knows how to write dialogue like no one else. He knows how to make an audience laugh right before making them go dead silent with their hands shaking over their mouths. He knows how to scare people.
The characters of this movie walk out onto a planet where the Apocolypse has already happened. It's one of the most eerie, frightening moments I've ever seen on film.

One character waxes poetic in the heat of battle: "I am a leaf on the wind. Watch me soar", then watch as he is promptly, and stunningly, grounded.
Watch as writer/director Joss Whedon bucks current cinematic trends and sustains his shots for long periods of time. One of the first shots of the film takes us on a journey through Serenity, the spaceship for which the film is named, and that shot lasts about five minutes. Another uncut shot shows a heroine taking on a mob of "Reavers" (monstrous, mad humans) with kung fu. Watch as he limits his CGI due to budget constraints but manages to make a film with more style by far than 95% of the films released so far this year.

For newbies to the "Firefly" universe, things might get a little disorienting. The background of characters Shepherd Book and Inara isn't really explained, but everyone else gets a thorough introduction. Plot points from the series are brought full circle, with more than a few surprises along the way.

This movie as more originality, better characters, and better dialogue than any space opera released since "The Empire Strikes Back". There's a space battle here that puts the opening one in "Episode III" to shame, simply because you care so much about the people on that ship that you couldn't bare to watch it explode.

The villain, The Operative, is someone more frightening than any character I've seen so far this year. After slaughtering settlements in search of a mysterious fugitive aboard Serenity, the Captain says to him, "I don't murder children", to which the Operative replies, with cold sincerity, "I do."
As for non-fans, there's enough action, humor, mystery, and romance to sustain your appetite. The ride is more than worth it.

And for the record, this movie is hopefully the first in a trilogy, but that won't happen unless it has decent box office. So see it with your friends!!!
Overall: Perhaps not the best, but certainly my favorite movie of the year. **** out of 4, and I can't wait to see it again. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jasmine Schmidt Oct 1, 2005

this is a fantastic movie with all the things that make a film great. Please, please go see this movie. You won't regret it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by dolphintails Oct 1, 2005

Very good movie. I loved the series and wish it was still around. The movie explained so many things from the series, great dialogue, plot and action. Best sci fi experience I've had in a long long time. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jonathan Oct 3, 2005

For fans of the series, this is exactly what we've been waiting for. Serenity is an outstanding movie that doesn't waste time rehashing the series, yet it takes the viewer from start to finish through a well written and thought out storyline. It is a perfect conclusion to a series that was unique and brilliant.

For those that are unfamiliar with the series, you will still enjoy an fantastic sci-fi movie that is different and special. Unfortunately, you won't be have the benefit of the history and backstories of the characters and their relationships that make the movie so much better. There simply isnt' enough time in the movie to give the screen time to each character that they so richly deserve. If you enjoy the movie, buy or rent the series on DVD.

Again, if you don't know anything about Serenity, give it a chance and it won't disappoint you! 

[--- See Now! ---]by BAMFRA Oct 9, 2005

Outstanding movie. Joss Whedon is nothing short of a master storyteller. 

[--- See Now! ---]by redragon Oct 10, 2005

let me just say this ... this is THE Sci-Fi that will cause you you to say Skywalker who? ;) 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberOct 13, 2005

"Serenity" is a Science Fiction movie based on the television series "Flyfly," the show FOX cancelled after only eleven episodes. I don't know why, I don't watch the show, but judging from the feature movie, it had to be for a good reason. Sure, there are plenty of good special effects that I like, but the movie moves too slow and talks too much. There's only one break-out character in the movie, and one break-out character isn't enough to save this film. 

[--- See Now! ---]by TVConway Oct 21, 2005

It's an intelligent and beautifully shot action film. Something for everyone. See it now! 

[--- See Now! ---]by RMC Nov 12, 2005

This is the best movie I have seen in years!! I liked it so much I went out and bought the full season of "FireFly" which is the series of Serenity before it was a movie. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by wetback39906 Dec 29, 2011



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.