The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, July 7th, 2006

Directed by Gore Verbinski
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:31

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest
Academy Award® Winner
Captain Jack Sparrow owes a life debt to Davy Jones, master of the ocean's depths, and he must figure out how to avoid an afterlife of eternal servitude and damnation. Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of adventure violence, including frightening images

Starring Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, Keira Knightley...  View more >

Academy AwardŽ Winner for
* Achievement in Visual Effects

Academy Award Nominee for
* Achievement in Art Direction
* Achievement in...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  18 82 See Now! Percent
Good  3 14 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 5 Stay Away! Percent
22 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 7, 2006
awesome!!!movie very good and some very funny parts in the movie to . i cant wait to get the dvd!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 9, 2006
Good ending.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 9, 2006
Better than the first, must see on the big screen
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 12, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 12, 2006
By all accounts, this sequel shouldn't exist. A big-budget summer movie from a few years ago, with an unproven director, based on a theme park ride (seriously now, are we that starved for original ideas?) and coming from the crapfactory that is Jerry Bruckheimer, the original Pirates became a phenomenon only because Johnny Depp lifted up the entire massive, sloppy production, put it on his back, and carried it into immortality. I think everyone who loves Pirates should write that man a thank-you letter.

The second in the Pirates trilogy is pretty much what you'd expect: big action, epic storyline, and an expanded role for Depp. This one's also a little darker than the first; not in the sense that it's scarier, but there's a lot more genuine despair going on here. That's not to say that this isn't a funny movie, because it's hilarious in many spots. But it's a little sad, too. That's all I'll say, not wanting to give anything away.

As for performances, Depp is, of course, spot-on. However unlike the first film, his supporters are all good enough that the weight of the entire production isn't on his shoulders and you're not always waiting until the next time he appears. Bloom and Knightly are both more comfortable in their (slightly smaller) roles, and they get some significant character development going on. Knightly especially impresses, and I'm looking forward to seeing where the character of Elizabeth goes in next summer's Pirates 3.

So this being the middle chapter of a trilogy, you should be warned that it ends on a massive cliffhanger that leaves you jonesing for the next flick. The cliffhanger is great so long as you know it's coming.

Now this isn't a flawless film by any means. The huge, action-packed, undoubtedly very expensive climactic battle between various beasties, ships, swords, giant squids, pirates, and the like goes on and on and on, simply longer than it needed to. Still entertaining, but after awhile it felt superfluous. In fact this whole thing could've shaved maybe 20 minutes off. Those 20 minutes may be great movie, but it never hurts to tighten the pace of a whiz-bang adventure flick. Also, like the first movie, this one's pretty busy with lots of characters running around all with different goals, and it can get hard to keep track of where everyone is and what they want at times.

Still, I'll go ahead and say it: Pirates IS this generation's Indiana Jones. Big, fun, charming, funny, and action-packed. If you liked the first one, there's no reason you won't like the second. If didn't like the first one, you're wrong. Also don't see this. If you never saw the first one (all 2 of you) see it first because this one relies heavily on it pretty often. Just like the first Pirates, this is the big, sloppy, spectacular, joyful sort of film that Hollywood can only seem to squeeze out once in a blue moon. ***1/2 out of 4.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJul 13, 2006
A very enjoyable follow-up to the first movie. It's safe to say that if you liked the first, you'll like the second. All the great characters are back, acted by the same people (which is always a good sign).

As with most sequels, this one's bigger and grander, and longer. There was a spot in the middle where I found myself counting ceiling tiles in the theater to figure out how wide the screen was, but that was only briefly, and mainly because I try to take note of such things when I go to a theater.

It's well-known that Pirates 2 is the middle movie of a trilogy, and this one suffers a little bit from having to play the middle part. The ending isn't so much of an ending as it is a cliffhanger to be continued, but they did stop short of stopping the action and putting up a message that says "Pirates 3, coming May 2007" (I think they actually did that with Back to the Future 2).

That's not to say that this isn't enjoyable by itself. You should see the first movie if it has been a while, or if you've never seen it. If you don't, some of the connections just won't make any sense.

Johnny Depp is back in classic form, although I'd have to say that he was fresher in the first installment. Maybe because it was new and his performance was a break-out hit, but I found myself wanting him to do more wise-cracking. There are a few great lines involving Elizabeth which are pretty good.

Speaking of Elizabeth, Keira Knightley is embracing the part with no trouble at all. She was good in #1, and she's better in #2. She dominates the screen in every scene she's in. If her character and performance continues to dominate on the same path, she'll be headlining #3. Orlando Bloom's part is diminished from #1, but that's OK, he handles it well and pulls his weight.

Other regulars are back with great success and some new characters are brought in with limited success. I could do with less of the fortuneteller without any trouble.

While the movie seems just a little too long for its own good (a characteristic that's becoming common in movies), it's a great movie to see if you're into that sort of entertainment. I am, and I liked it a lot.

One more thing, stick around until the credits are over. There is a final sequence for those that like to watch the entire movie instead of getting up as soon as the credits start rolling.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 15, 2006
Awesome. Not quite as original as the first movie, but still up there. The ending of the movie has made a lot of people angry, but i still liked it since the third film is sure to bring us back even more than this movie. The second film is kind of like lord of the rings in that the middle movie is a bridge between the first and third. Johnny Depp comes back with more laughter this time. go see it.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 17, 2006
Just as good as the first. I figure out why this is a good series. It the performance of Johnny Depp that kept the series afloat. His comic edge is very strong in this series as well as this movie. I love Keria Knightley. She's the sexiest woman that came out of England since Emma Thompson. The fil;m ios fun to watch, but the running time should be cut by about ten minutes. I think it went on a little too long.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jul 21, 2006
No plot, repetitive, and boring. A major disappointment.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 28, 2006
Best movie of the summer!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 2, 2006
Great make-up, totally believeable. Extrememly funny and entertaining. Johnny Depp is the best.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 12, 2006
This movie was great and exciting from beginning to finish. It is truly better than the 1st of the series but the only thing I didn't like was that it leads right into the 3rd movie which is not out yet so I could not get any really conclusion. But see it on the big screen. It's great.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 21, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 22, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 24, 2006
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 26, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 12, 2006
Loved it, can't wait for the next one! I like that it didn't feel like a sequel, it just seemed to pick up logically after the other one left off. I've seen it numerous times, and I can't wait to own it!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 14, 2006
johnny depp and orlando bloom are even hotter than before!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 2, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 10, 2006
This movie is a must-see for those who loved the first one! Special effects and great storyline makes for an "edge of your seat" blockbuster that is too good to miss!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 2, 2006
This is an awesome movie
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 20, 2006



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.