The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 17th, 2006

Directed by George Miller

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Happy Feet
Academy Award® Winner
A comedy adventure set in the land of the Emperor Penguins in the heart of Antarctica. These penguins sing, each needing their own special song to attract a soul mate. Unfortunately, our hero...  View more >

PG
some mild peril and rude humor

Starring Robin Williams, Hugh Jackman, Elijah Wood...  View more >

Academy Award® Winner for Best Animated Feature Film of the Year
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Happy Feet.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Jay Nov 18, 2006
[--- Good ---]by The Jake Nov 25, 2006

I don't even know where to start with this. There's so much going on with "Happy Feet". Should I talk about the beautiful animation? The excellent voice work? How funny it is? Because I could. Or I could talk about how chock-full it is of left-wing ideology. Seriously.

This movie is overtly pro-environmentalism, anti-religious fundamentalism, and yes, even seems to have its say on the topic of homosexuality (just imagine that instead of dancing, Elijah Wood's character Mumble is gay). Not that any of this is a bad thing, but parents should know that it's there. If you're the type that doesn't want the tykes questioning the existence of God or thinking it's okay to be different at a very fundamental level, you might not want to take the kids.

Anyways, "Happy Feet" concerns an Emperor Penguin colony and in particular a little misfit named Mumble. See, the penguins find a mate with a song; when songs match, they've found a mate. But Mumble doesn't sing; he dances. And when the other penguins start to dance, the Elder Penguins blame the current fish shortage on Mumble for angering the Great Penguin in the Sky (it is, of course, because of over-fishing by humans). See where all that left-wing stuff starts fitting in? I'm not making it up.

As I said before, "Happy Feet" is beautifully animated to the extent that when actual humans (not CG) show up, they don't seem at all out of place. Voice work is uniformly excellent, and the singing is great fun. Hugh Jackman, Nicole Kidman, and especially Brittany Murphy show off some great pipes here. And Robin Williams gives his funniest performances in years as Ramon, a height-challenged Latin lover of a penguin, and Lovelace, a deep-voiced mystic. Oh, and he narrates. Surprisingly enough, all this Williams is actually funny rather than grating, as it usually proves to be these days.

Still, "Happy Feet" feels familiar in the wake of all the talking animal cartoons these days, even if it is among the best of them. It seems to drag on to a rather perfunctory ending (we all know where it's headed after awhile, but the penguins keep dancing anyways). And a lot of the characters are pretty much impossible to distinguish from one another, being penguins and everything.

But it's funny and preposterously cute, and unlike most boneheaded kids' movies these days, "Happy Feet" has more on its mind than shutting the kids up for an hour and a half. And (to me, at least) that's a good thing. *** out of 4. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by carol Jan 5, 2007
[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJan 11, 2007

"Happy Little Feet," is a fun little comedy about a penguin who can't sing, but can dance. That my be the same problem with Fred Astaire when tried to break into show business. There are some good dancing numbers and plenty of songs to get this film though. It's like one of those 1930's musicals, except it sat at the bottom of the world. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Ang Jan 13, 2007
[--- Stay Away! ---]by Pisteuo Feb 11, 2007
[--- Good ---]by TONYA2U Apr 18, 2007
[--- Stay Away! ---]by The Awesome Jul 14, 2009

this movie is annoying and lame dont waste ur money and time 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.