The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, July 11th, 2007

Directed by David Yates

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Harry returns for his fifth year of study at Hogwarts and discovers that much of the wizarding community has been denied the truth about the teenager's recent encounter with the evil Lord Voldemort....  View more >

PG-13
sequences of fantasy violence and frightening images

Starring Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint...  View more >

See also "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: An IMAX 3D Experience"
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJul 12, 2007

After four movies, the series is beginning to show it's age as the kids are growing up. It was yesterday that the kids are fighting for the house cup. Now the same group of kids are figting for their lives. In the MTV Movie Awards, I voted "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" as the best move I haven't seen. Well I saw it and I glad that I voted for that movie. In the fifth installment, Harry Potter is having a hard time convincing everyone that Voldemont is back. but he's isn't the only villain in the movie. A teacher comes to Hogwart and shortly afterward has taken over the school, and issue so many strick rulkes that you have to have a broomstick to read some of the rules. I like Voldmont. He's a better villain than that Dr. Doom from "Fantastic Four:The Rise of the Silver Surfer." The old cast is back. And I'm glad. Although the fifth movie is not as good as any of the four movies, My heart is still with Harry and the Hogwart students. I'm looking forward for the last two movies. I had fun with those movies. As for the books, I still going though the first book in the series. The series is still high flying. 

[--- Good ---]by Niki Jul 13, 2007

As always another great Potter movie. I really loved the movie, but I couldn't quite give it a see now. This movie is defiantly darker, and I doubt that smaller children will understand it. I was a little disappointed only because one of my favorite characters die and it was not played as sad as it should have been. Take the time to see the movie while it is still on the big screen. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Laura Jul 13, 2007

Awsome! 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by GH Jul 14, 2007

While acknowledging that the entire book cannot be represented in the movie, Order of the Phoenix barely resembled the book. It didn't even match the hype of the trailers. (If you saw the trailers, you've seen the movie.) If I were JK Rowling, I'd be pitching a fit!! Scenes were out of story timeline, essential backstory was not present, liberties were taken by expanding parts of scenes that don't occur in the book. I was almost rooting for the Ministry of Magic to prevail.

It wasn't worth the price of the ticket to see this distorted version of what to date has been an exciting series. Another example of why the book is always so much better than the movie. Let's hope that Half Blood Prince resembles the book more closely than this poor excuse...although that's unlikely since several of the pieces of backstory needed to understand Half Blood Prince weren't present in Order of the Phoenix. 

[--- Good ---]by Sinamax Jul 15, 2007
[--- See Now! ---]by Sweetlily Jul 15, 2007

great movie u won't be able to tear your eyes from the screen til the end 

[--- See Now! ---]by Billy Thompson Jul 28, 2007
[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K Jul 29, 2007

This is one of the better book to movie transformations in the series. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Cortney Jul 31, 2007

This one was not as good as all the other ones. I was honestly a little dissappointed. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Sam Aug 13, 2007
[--- Good ---]by Patty Aug 14, 2007

It was a dark book so naturally it was a dark movie. Not the typical fun type movie as in the past with Harry Potter but it held true to the story line. True Harry Potter fans will appreciate this movie. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Michael Mazzoni Aug 31, 2007
[--- See Now! ---]by Spirit Oct 26, 2007

Loved it and so did my 12 year old. We love all the Harry Potters. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.