The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, June 28th, 2006

Directed by Bryan Singer
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:34

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Superman Returns: An IMAX 3D Experience
Following a mysterious absence of several years, the Man of Steel comes back to Earth, a soaring new chapter in the saga of one of the world's most beloved superheroes. While an old enemy plots to...  View more >

PG-13
some intense action violence

Starring Brandon Routh, Kate Bosworth, Kevin Spacey...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  3 23 See Now! Percent
Good  3 23 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  6 46 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 8 Stay Away! Percent
13 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Superman Returns: An IMAX 3D Experience.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by   Jun 27, 2006
Great special effects!

That alone makes it worth watching.

The storyline is a bit slow. However, notice that Superman says very little.
Overall, it's a great movie!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jun 28, 2006
Very long and very very boring in many places. A simple story that could have been told with an hour less of movie time. Kevin Spacey was cool but the movie put him on the back seat. Superman Returns was no Catwoman, but most certainly was no Batman Begins or Spiderman 2. In my opinion, Singer should have stuck to the X-men, which are far better films as well.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 29, 2006
"Superman Returns" was my most anticipated summer movie, and for good reason. Kevin Spacey as Lex Luthor, and Bryan Singer (X-men 1 & 2; look what happened to the franchise when he left . . .) in the director's chair virtually guaranteed success. But I'd heard some troubling things: it wasn't all it could be, a few reviews even said it was terrible. But all my fears evaporated about thirty seconds in when John Williams' masterful Superman theme started blaring and the credits came up . . .

This is not your typical superhero action movie. Its pace is slower; it lets us get to know the characters and builds a final act that's not so much action-packed as it is incredibly suspenseful. Still, this is Superman through and through, and certainly ranks at least second in the series after the original, if not above that classic. The sense of humor is intact, but this time, the villain seems like a real threat (there's a scene late in the movie . . . but you'll see. I cried).

The performances are good all around. Brandon Routh does a credible job as the Man of Steel, and Kate Bosworth made a good Lois Lane once I got used to her. Of course, the show-stopper is Spacey, all at once hilarious, deadpan, and incredibly dangerous, he simply steals every single scene he's in.

This one doesn't skimp on the spectacle, either. Be it a fiery plane crash, a massive earthquake, or a tussle between Lex's thugs and a weakened Superman, nothing here disappoints. The only problem I had here is the end: it kind of goes the Return of the King route with anticlimax after anticlimax. I don't understand why this was needed considering we'll almost assuredly be watching a sequel in a couple of years. Also, I could've used at least one more scene between Luthor and Superman. Luthor has this huge personal grudge against Superman, and for good reason, but that scene towards the end of the movie would have been so much more powerful if Lex's grudge were just a little more fleshed out.

So in the end, this is a very solid reboot to the franchise, and in the ranks of the new wave of superhero films, it stands solidly with the "X-men" flicks, if not quite on the level of Batman Begins and the Spidey movies. ***1/2 out of 4.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP Member Jun 29, 2006
"Superman Returns" is a film that is upbeat on special effects and music score, but downbeat on story and characters. Superman returns to earth after a five year absence and learned that the world went on without. In addition, there are personal changes in his life. the film never got going. The premise is fime, but the delivery is petty slow, like someone threw kypotnite on the film to make it weak. there a few scenes inwhich Lois Lane tried to light a cigerette. A day before I saw the movie, the Suregon General came out with a report that second-hand smoke is deadly, probaby it was the cause of Lung Cancer which claimed the life of Dana Reeve, the wife of Christopher Reeve, who also played Superman in the four films starting in 1978. I would love to recommend "Superman Returns," but nobody learned the lesson from the other Superman movies. I didn't think much of the series except for Superman II in 1981. so no recommendition from me. on "Superman Returns."
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Jul 2, 2006
I enjoyed this film immensely and think you will too. The only thing that bothered me about the film is that I think the actor who played Superman looks too young. Also, his suit is less colorful, just like the suit in Superman III when he turned evil, and I had trouble getting that out of my mind. Very little things, wouldn't you say?

As far as the rest: ambrosia! A lot of people seem to be saying it is too slow. When I went to the film, I was surprised at the time when I got out. Although it is 2.5 hours, it did not seem like it. The film had everything it needed to have and I was engaged the entire time.

Also, do not listen to these attacks on Superman by the media. I'm not sure where they are coming from. The film is everything I hoped it would be: another Superman film and nothing more.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Jul 3, 2006
Uninspired story, terrible casting. Too much retread from Superman I and almost nothing new.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jul 6, 2006
Unfortunately this movie is about an hour too long, way too confusing at the begininng, has some totally unbelieveable aspects (Lois Lane getting a Nobel Peace prize for an article about Superman), has overly loud sound during any action part and was generally a dissapointment to me. Most of the actors did a credible job, with the exception of Kevin Spacey who seemed pretty wooden most of the time.

I was squirming in my seat and thinking "isn't this thing ever gonna end" for the last hour too. Maybe I expected way to much after waiting all this time for a new Superman movie. Too bad - all the potential was there. Oh well -- I bet there's a equally bad sequel coming too.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jul 8, 2006
Just nothing to cheer about, very dull
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 10, 2006
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Aug 3, 2006
The story of Superman Returns comes very close to a See Now! rating, but the addition of 3D actually drags it down.

While the 3D scenes comprise only about 20 minutes of a two and a half hour movie, having to put glasses on and off on cue completely takes you out of the story. I knew this would happen going in, so that wasn't a surprise. So then, the question becomes, is the 3D effect worth the extra expense of seeing it in an IMAX theater and dealing with polarized 3D glasses?

The answer to that would be: not really. The 3D effects were impressive when one knows that the movie was not intended to be a 3D movie. Since the conversion team had to work with a two-dimensional source, their accomplishments were remarkable. But that's where it ends. The effect is interesting, but it really doesn't lend much to the story being told, so it is more of a gimmick and a curiousity than it is a benefit to the movie.

I found the 3D effects to be similar to a child's Viewmaster toy, where you look through a viewer to look at photographic slides with a 3D effect. All the 3D scenes in Superman Returns had the appearance that an object was at the screen's distance, and everything behind it was then located behind the screen's plane (further away from the viewer). While this may sound like it should be, I've seen 3D demonstrations where objects actually come toward you and appear inches away from your face at times. This is a much better illusion of depth, but I would imagine such effects may only be possible when you have a 3D source to work with instead of converting a flat image.

One final comment I have about the experience is that I found wearing the glasses to be a little fatiguing on my eyes. It was similar to crossing your eyes for too long and when you take off the glasses, you have a little bit of a weird feeling as your eyes relax again. I'm not sure I would want to watch a feature-length movie with the glasses on all the time, but perhaps it's better when you aren't taking them off and putting them back on periodically.

The surrounds are very active, and the scene before and during the opening credits is very impressive with a good sound system. I was walking in just as the movie began and almost lost my concessions when an explosion rocked the theater!

That said, I'm not a big Superman fan, and I enjoyed the movie. I wouldn't buy it on DVD, but I would recommend seeing it in a theater if possible. 3D isn't necessary, and not worth the added expense unless you are curious/interested in that feature specifically.
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Aug 7, 2006
I'd rate this as a "Very Good", while I felt that the 3D stuff was good, it was annoying to put on and take off the glasses. I missed the first cue to take them off, but it was pretty obvious that they were no longer needed. Overall, I liked the film, but thought that Perry could or should have been more of a hardass and Lex could have been more evil. Thought that Brandon Routh did a good job.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Aug 15, 2006
Too predictable, boring, long, "supposedly suspense" scenes. I left early maybe I just wasn't in the mood.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   May 6, 2013



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.