The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, October 6th, 2006

Directed by Martin Scorsese
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:30

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Departed
Academy Award® Winner
In South Boston, where the state police force is waging war on organized crime, young undercover cop Billy Costigan is assigned to infiltrate the mob syndicate run by gangland chief Costello. While...  View more >

R
strong brutal violence, pervasive language, some strong sexual content and drug material

Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson...  View more >

Academy AwardŽ Winner for
* Best Motion Picture of the Year
* Achievement in Directing
* Adapted Screenplay
* Achievement in Film...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  9 90 See Now! Percent
Good  1 10 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
10 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jack Nicholson is fabulous. Should be up for an Award. The whole movie is entertaining, not a dull moment in spite of its length (2 1/2 hours). See now!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 13, 2006
My only complaint is that the film took too long in wrapping up. Aside from that minor issue, The Departed is a top shelf movie and is sure to be an Oscar contender in many categories.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberOct 19, 2006
One of the best movies of 2006! "The Departed" is one of those movies that reminded us of the power of the motion picture. Martin Scorsese has directed one of the best movies in years. A first-rate cast led by Leonardo DiCaprio and Matt Damon, also helped the movie. In this film, undercover cops are out to take down a mob boss played by Jack Nicholson, in one of his best roles to date. The acting, the writing and the direction are all first rate. One of the rare excellent films to come out in the fall season,which to me is Oscar Season. It's a strong Oscar contender. Another reason why you shouldn't miss this film. The film is "The Departed," it's a must see.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 28, 2006
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberOct 31, 2006
"The Departed" proves that Martin Scorsese is not like many other directors.

Here is a case where the movie's story itself isn't the most compelling thing in the world, but the way that story is told leaves a lasting impact on the viewer.

The performances were very good. Jack Nicholson is in great form, playing a character that doesn't seem very difficult for him to portray. One wonders if they wrote any of his lines or let him improvise as he went, as his delivery is so natural and unforced that you have to believe that there is a lot of Jack Nicholson in the Frank Costello character.

I'm not a big Leonardo DiCaprio fan, but he does a good job here. For whatever reason, he's still Jack Dawson on the Titanic in my mind, and it's going to take a while longer for him to remove that typecasting from my mind. Matt Damon does a serviceable job, but I've seen him do better.

The biggest weak point in the entire movie is the casting of Martin Sheen. I can't help but think that Jed Bartlett (the sitting President of the US in TV's The West Wing) is saying the lines. Every time he appears on screen, it was jarring, but that's more my problem than the movie's.

Like I said, this movie is not one of the greats, nor is it a movie that you really do need to see as soon as possible, and therefore not deserving of a "See Now!" rating. This one will play fine at home, and if you catch it towards the end of its theatrical run, the dirt and scratches on the film will only enhance the grittiness of the drama playing out on the streets of Boston.

It will, however, leave you thinking about it for hours and maybe even days later. That's why Martin Scorsese is one of the legends in the business. Anyone capable of this kind of storytelling should be duly respected and honored for his work.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 17, 2006
All I can say is "WOW" It kept me spellbound with the great acting and storyline.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 9, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 29, 2006
Excellent Movie
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 19, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Departed.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.