The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© 2008 Columbia Tristar Marketing Group Inc All rights reserved
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 14th, 2008

Directed by Marc Forster
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 1:46

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Quantum of Solace
Betrayed by Vesper, the woman he loved, 007 fights the urge to make his latest mission personal. Pursuing his determination to uncover the truth, Bond and M (JUDI DENCH) interrogate Mr White (JESPER...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of violence and action, and some sexual content

Starring Daniel Craig, Judi Dench, Gemma Arterton...  View more >

This is the 22nd James Bond movie.
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 50 See Now! Percent
Good  4 40 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 10 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
10 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 14, 2008
As you know from Casino Royale he is not your your typical Bond and this may not be your typical Bond movie but I thought it to be an excellent movie.

I went to the movie to enjoy the action and action there was. This is a fast paced film with a good story line and a Bond who is the best since Connely by far.

This is a bond with feelings and he gives a great performance and the cinematography was also great I know this film hasn't got good reviews I just don't know what they are looking for. maybe they are looking for the gadgets from Q? Go see it NOW.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 15, 2008
Great Movie, picks up right where the last left off! Great great film!!!! Although, by far the WORST theme song yet! Pure garbage.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberNov 25, 2008
"Quantum of Solice" is the second out for new Bond Daniel Craig, and unlike the first, I got very little out of new bond Daniel Craig and this movie. Craig's Bond is so weak that it make the Bond girls look good by companison. Speaking of Bond girls I love the performance of Olga Kurylenko and Gemma Amalrice. They're the best thing about this movie. I love the song "Another Way to Die," It's one of the best Bond song that I ever heard. the film's villain isn't either compelling or memorable. As for the rest of the movie, it drags and sadly, I can't recommend the movie.
[--- Good ---]by  Nov 28, 2008
This Bond continues high energy, par cour, Jackie Chan action. The villain Dominic is more pragmatic than merely a diabolically evil, world conqueror. See the previous Bond to remember the plotline as it continues.
[--- Good ---]by  Nov 30, 2008
The film was rather hard to follow, and while the action was certainly entertaining, the lack of depth in the film left me unsatisfied. Worth seeing, but the film shows a very different Bond than the one that we all are used to.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 7, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 20, 2008
A worth Bond film.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 1, 2009
Good action in James Bond fashion, but forgettable. The last Bond film was better.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 15, 2009
This one was exciting and it really moved. No dead spots or lagging, very entertaining and well done!
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberMar 27, 2009
Casino Royale rebooted the lagging James Bond franchise with great success, combining exotic locations and a treacherous villain with a new actor in the lead role and the best Bond girl to come along in a long time.

As such, it set tremendous expectations for subsequent installments, and against that comparison, Quantum of Solace does not fare well. As a James Bond movie, it compares well overall, but it's definitely not better than its predecessor.

Some reviews I have read say that this Bond movie is more Bourne-like than it should be, and I guess that's the best way to describe my feelings about this movie. I really like the Bourne movies, but they work because that's their style, and the use of fast cut editing and extended fight scene close-ups aren't what Casino Royale was about, negating some of the foundation that movie established for the next generation of Bond movies.

That said, the locations in this movie are great. Things get pretty bleak once we get into Central and South America, but the overhead shots of Italy remind you of what one of the most likable parts of any Bond movie are. I like car chases, especially when one of the cars is an Aston Martin, so the introductory scene is good, but not as effective as chase scenes in other Bond movies and even the aforementioned Bourne series. (I won't even bring up Ronin)

Casino Royale worked so well because there was a good blend of spy stuff, intrigue, an interesting villain, a strong Bond girl, and a good performance by Daniel Craig. Nonetheless, Quantum of Solace is well worth watching and enjoying. Here's hoping that the next Bond movie will be more like Casino Royale and less like The Bourne Supremacy.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Quantum of Solace.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.