The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, July 18th, 2008

Directed by Christopher Nolan

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Dark Knight
Academy Award® Winner
The sequel to "Batman Begins" which has Batman teaming up with Lt. Gordon and the newly appointed District Attorney Harvey Dent to investigate a vicious killer with a sense of humor, named "The...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of violence and some menace

Starring Christian Bale, Heath Ledger, Michael Caine...  View more >

Academy AwardŽ winner for:
* Heath Ledger - Performance by an actor in a supporting role
* Sound editing

Academy AwardŽ nominated...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Dark Knight.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by The Reviewer Jul 18, 2008

A feeling of remorse and deep tragedy swept over me as I left the theater. I had been waiting for this movie since well...Batman Begins. Looking for new footage, new early reviews, and all other information that would feed my Batman hunger. But nothing prepared me for this new film. I never thought a comic book movie could be so tragic.

The movie has a different feel than its predecessor. Comparing this film to Spiderman or The Incredible Hulk just doesn't seem right. The Dark Knight almost fits into its own genre of comic-book fantasy. I felt so well-connected to the main characters that it was almost TOO TRAGIC during a certain scene. In most movies (and I'm not simply talking about superhero flicks) there is a certain formula that must be followed. The Dark Knight brings you to the nitty gritty of the villains (I'll get to the joker in a minute), taking you down into the catacombs of dispare without showing a bright shining light at the end.

If you're looking for a feel good, family friendly blockbuster do not turn to the dark knight. A brilliant performance by the late Heath Ledger casts a gloomy, sadistic, but motivational spell throughout the film. But there is something missing in this new batman, and that is a sense of "home," a sense of comfort that is never concluded. The audience didn't have the cave to cling to, a mansion to put their feet up, or even familiar characteristics that would be expected by "the white knight." We were left to struggle in the darkness just like Batman, which may throw some people off or make them feel uncomfortable. But at this point, Batman is not comfortable. He is in a struggle- on a quest to figure out his place as a model citizen (despite what others may think). The decisions he makes now affect the ones he cares about. But "the dawn is coming."

While the audience is left in the dark, we can only hope for the light in chapter three. Go see "The Dark Knight," but don't expect the usual, or for that matter, a traditional format of superhero genre. 

[--- See Now! ---]by lejahn Jul 18, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by Sinamax Jul 19, 2008

Very well done, the Joker will never be replaced by anyone else. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Laura Jul 19, 2008

Best Batman Movie ever made thus far! 

[--- See Now! ---]by spiritdug Jul 21, 2008

Just awesome, but the rated "R" version would have been even better! 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJul 22, 2008

"The Best Movie of the Summer, and it's a sequel," wrote the late film critic Gene Siskel. the film he'd talked about? Well it came out it 1990 and it's called "Die Hard 2." I'm using that same quote from him to describe what I love about "The Dark Knight." it's a sequel and it's the best summer movie. No arugment there. Not only it's the best movie of the year so far, but the best superhero movie peroid. "the Dark Knight" is powerful and well made. the film reflect the power of darkness, not only on the villain the Joker, but on Batman himself. In this movie, no one escapes guilt free. Heath Ledger's take on the Joker is quite different than the Jokers that were protrayed in the past. His joker comes across as a insame man with a terrible past. He didn't fall into a white stuff to become the Joker, but his home life had made him the Joker he is. "Let's put a smile on your face!" is one of my favorite lines from the Joker. I think this is Ledger's best work. there is also talk of a supporting Oscar nomination for Ledger, but I must remind you on two things, 1) 2008 is half over and there will be plenty of good supporting performers that will reval Ledger by the time December comes around. 2) Many Oscar voters may not honor a dead man. The last time the Academy honor a fallen actor was Massimo Troisi for "The Postman (Il Postino)" in 1995. But I believe that Ledger will be nominated. But Ledger isn't the only person in the movie that should be talked about. The rest of the cast are just as good. Christain Bale is terific as Batman. Michael Caine is great as his bulter. Gary Oldman, Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman are all terrific. Aaron Eckhart is great as Harvey Dent, who becomes Two-Face later in the movie. And Maggie Gyllenhaal who may have outshine the rest. I love this movie. this movie is not only for Batman fans, but people who have never saw any of the Batman movies, will love the film too.  

[--- See Now! ---]by Niki Jul 23, 2008

There isn't enough words to tell you how amazing this movie was. Make sure to go see it while it is in theaters. Heath Ledger could not have done a better job, no one will ever be able to match what he did (Rest in Peace Heath). I missed Katie Holmes a, but Maggie Gyllenhaal did an excellent job. I also believe that Christian Bale is the best Batman there will ever be. If you haven't yet, get out there and see it! 

[--- See Now! ---]by betsy Rockwood Jul 23, 2008
[--- Good ---]by Bubbas WORLD Jul 23, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by artier75 Jul 24, 2008

It is all you can ask for see it now or later but see it.
Artie R 

[--- See Now! ---]by Penie Jul 24, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by dwain Jul 26, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by MaxSob Jul 26, 2008

Well when I saw Spider-Man 3 I thought that that was going to be the best Super Hero Movie ever.

Then i saw The Dark Knight

Now the bar has been rasied way way to high!

And you know when you watch an action movie and at some parts there are things you wished the hero or heroin would have done better

Well when u watch this movie you will find nothing wrong with it

See it right away! 

[--- See Now! ---]by jncmovies  Jul 27, 2008

Brilliantly haunting. Truely captures the essence of the graphic novels & why we love these characters to begin with. Fantastic superhero movie/ or movie period. Heath gives an inspired performance and everyone else brings their usual best. A must see! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kyle Jul 31, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by vmaxx Aug 5, 2008

Good story..lil slow.
Very good acting on kieths part...
def a see on big screen. 

[--- See Now! ---]by brian Aug 5, 2008

awsome lots of action and very cool acting .dark night is a must see 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kar Aug 9, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by Older n Wiser now Aug 23, 2008

Acting was great and the motentum of the movie just kept getting better. I see a sequel? NOW of course. 

[--- See Now! ---]by RanMan Aug 25, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by Jen Sep 17, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberSep 19, 2008

An incredible movie that surpasses its predecessor!

That's pretty much how I feel about The Dark Knight. I really enjoyed Batman Begins, and I was looking forward to seeing the next part of the rebooted storyline.

Director Christopher Nolan should be congratulated for taking a series that was run into the ground and restarting it from scratch to become better than the original ever was. Back then, everyone commented about how dark Tim Burton's Batman was, but that caped crusader was a caricature compared to what has been brought to the screen in the two new movies!

Performances are great. Christian Bale still does a poor job of sounding menacing, but the rest of his performance is great. Heath Ledger's Joker was downright scary, and you never knew quite where things were going. I thought that replacing Katie Holmes as Rachel would be difficult to sell, but Maggie Gyllenhaal made the part her own and erased any doubt as to which performance was better. Aaron Eckhart's Harvey Dent was also very good, as was Gary Oldman's return as Lt. Gordon. Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman round out the excellent cast of supporting characters.

I am certain that there are more layers to this movie than can be enjoyed in a single sitting. There is talk of re-releasing the movie later this year, so if you haven't seen it yet (and it's still not playing in your local theaters, which it may be, as it was still #7 in the box office and in almost 2,200 theaters), definitely check it out! If you have seen it, but haven't seen it in an IMAX theater, that version does provide some very stunning photography that is integrated very well into the movie. (I'll write a separate review covering those issues)

Last but not least, the soundtrack to this movie is amazing! It is a character in and of itself. Composers Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard collaborated on the score and the result is fantastic. Words cannot describe the effect that their music has on the movie. I have listened to the score many times since seeing the movie, and as a standalone composition it is a wonder to behold. I would love to be able to watch the movie with just the score playing! 

[--- See Now! ---]by ssparkkless08 Sep 22, 2008

Definitely a MUST SEE! The ONLY disappointing part of the movie is the changing of an actress (must see to find out who). Still just as good! 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by . Sep 28, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by feuerbob Dec 18, 2008
[--- See Now! ---]by LOSTfan Jan 2, 2009

The Best Batman Movie EVER. The Best Movie of 2008. Heath Ledger got an AA Nominee Award for his performance as the Joker. Got 2 c it. Out of 10, 10 

[--- See Now! ---]by bekaloutaylor May 8, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by wetback39906 Jul 19, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.