The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, July 15th, 2009

Directed by David Yates
Genre: SciFi/Fantasy
Running Time: 2:33

Share This Page

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Academy Award® Nominee
Voldemort is tightening his grip on both the Muggle and wizarding worlds and Hogwarts is no longer the safe haven it once was. Harry suspects that dangers may even lie within the castle, but...  View more >

scary images, some violence, language and mild sensuality

Starring Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson...  View more >

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Cinematography

Also available in IMAX and...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  9 53 See Now! Percent
Good  7 41 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 6 Stay Away! Percent
17 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 15, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 15, 2009
"Bloody brilliant!" As always the book is way to rich to be able to put every delicious detail/plot point on screen but what does make it to the screen makes for a satisfying 2 hours and 33 minutes for readers and non-readers alike. Acting is pitch perfect by all with plenty of light moments balanced by the darker. This muggle plans to view again in IMAX 3-D!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 15, 2009
The movie is great!!!!!!!!
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Jul 16, 2009
It's great to see Harry Potter return to the big screen after a two-year wait. I miss the series very much. I miss the castle and I miss the kids and the teachers at Hogwart. Man, it's nice to be back in front of the screen again to see the new Harry Potter movie. And that makers the latest Harry Potter movie, "Harry Potter and the Half-blood Price a welcome relief for me and for the fans who love him and the books they read. I only read one of the seven books and I'll probaby read the books later. It's also nice to see the kids growing up. when the first movie opened in the fall of 2001 they're were little kids. Now, they're growing up and with that the problems that come with it. so I'm glad that a portion of the movie is dealing with dating. The plot of the movie is Harry must know the true identity of the Half-blood prince. I won't give away the ending, but you will be shocked, just like me. I saw it on opening day, so I can tell you how much I love the movie. I only give it a "Good" rating. I'm a tough grader. I can live with that. Only two more Harry Potter movies to go. I'll be sad to see the series end.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 16, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 19, 2009
it is a good movie to see
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 19, 2009
Parts of the book are not followed, but still a great movie to see
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 21, 2009
You're never going to be able to completely film the book. Its just not something that;s possible for books as long as the Harry Potter books are. The best you can do is translate the material to a movie format, and this movie does that very well. These movie keep getting better. Excellent movie, and very worth seeing.
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 27, 2009
Love the series and the book...let me start off saying that.

The movie was good,but disappointing.

Cant put my finger on was a little wrong...was defiantly much darker this time.
Acting was so so...some people looked as if they were just walking through their lines.

Is worth seeing...will probably see again just to be sure,but was very disappointed....could have been much better...enjoyed the previous movies 100% better.

My opinion.
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 27, 2009
What a great series, this film was so different from the previous films but still excellent, it adds depth to the series and to the characters. The music didn't reach the same caliber as the other soundtracks, the melodies, whatever they were, just don't stick in your mind like the others have in mine. Lots of excitement, lots of action, it's fun to see the kids growing up, poor Harry gets stretched past his limts again,... The death of an important character was depressing, especially ending on such a somber and depressing note the way it did,... With that said, it will be hard to wait a year to see the next installment. It was hard to decide if I should rate this a "See Now!" or a "Good", if it didn't end on such a depressing note, it would have a "See Now!".
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 29, 2009
Almost a see now but I thought the acting was so so by some of the characters. I loved all the movies in this series and will get it on disc when it comes out.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Aug 8, 2009
the movie was so far from the book it wasnt even funny
[--- See Now! ---]by   Aug 9, 2009
great movie, there's a lot of romance, adventure, i didn't like the ending because is unfair, but no one live forever, not even a great wizard.
[--- Good ---]by   Aug 16, 2009
I liked the movie, as I've liked all the movies of this series. I enjoyed the way the kids are shown to be maturing and making some hard choices. And I didn't mind the few things they had to cut from the book. But, I do wish they would have shown the funeral. To me, that was a pivotal part of the book - it gave a finality to the death and made Harry's decision more understandable.
[--- Good ---]by   Aug 27, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 7, 2009
Very good!
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Jan 12, 2010
I went into this movie primarily with the expectations set by the previous movies. I've only read the first book, preferring to watch and enjoy the movie versions of the story instead. I enjoyed the previous movies, with perhaps "The Goblet of Fire" being the best of the bunch (#1 was good in its own right because everything was fresh).

The students at Hogwarts are getting older, and their issues are changing along with them. Gone is the wide-eyed wonder of the first installment, and front-and-center is the darkness that has been building ever since. The teen issues that were first covered in "Goblet of Fire" are very prevalent here, where one could make a drinking game from each time "snogging" is mentioned or undertaken!

Since it had been some time since I had seen "Order of the Phoenix" it took me some time to recall what happened at the end of that movie, and the implications those events had on everyone involved.

More than any of the other installments, "The Half Blood Prince" has the feel of an "in-between" movie. Many of the storylines seem intended primarily to move characters and plotlines between the previous installments and those that follow.

While I knew of the "surprise" ending, I was not aware of the other characters involved in the event, so it left me with all kinds of questions about the motivations of the various characters involved, and what's going to happen next, etc. I can't help but think that's exactly what the filmmakers intended, so that the next installment can't come quickly enough!

If you're not a huge Harry Potter fan, this one is a rental not a purchase.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2015, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook