The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© 2008 Warner Bros Entertainment Inc

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 20th, 2008

Directed by Peter Segal

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Get Smart
Secret agent Maxwell Smart (Steve Carell) is on his most dangerous and important mission: to thwart the latest plot for world domination by the evil crime syndicate known as KAOS. It also happens...  View more >

PG-13
some rude humor, action violence and language

Starring Steve Carell, Anne Hathaway, The Rock...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Get Smart.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Sinamax Jun 20, 2008

Very well done, lots of laughs and moves along a a good pace. 

[--- Good ---]by E.T. Jun 21, 2008
[--- Good ---]by Wolferiver Jun 22, 2008

I went to this movie thinking it would be mildly humorous in a bumbling kind of way, and instead I found myself laughing my ass off. It was full of solid laughs, and it wasn't in anyway a goof on the old TV series.

To put it another way, Agent Maxwell Smart is far from being an Inspector Clouseau. If you're old enough to remember the old TV series, you will recognize some of its trademark elements, but they don't overwhelm the audience with them, and the movie stands on its own without having to use them as a crutch.

The two stars, Steve Carell and Ann Hathaway are very good, but the real revelation is Dwayne Johnson (aka The Rock) who, it turns out, has some pretty solid comedy chops.

If you're looking for a comedy that will make you laugh, judging by what I saw in the upcoming previews, I suspect this will be the only movie this summer that will provide them. See it and have fun. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJun 24, 2008

This isn't the first time that "Get Smart," a big-screen adaption of the 60's comedy series spoofing James bond movies, made it to the big screen. In 1980, Don Adams reprise his role in the film "The Nude Bomb." I didn't see the movioe, but I heard it was terrible. Steve Carell made use of his humor by playing Maxwell smart, or Agent 86. there are some scenes that are funny, some scenes aren't. But the final reel of the movie in witch Agent 86 and 99 (anne hathaway) prevent the bombing of the Disney Hall. (when I saw Disney hall on the big screen, I was knocked for a loop. it's a wonderful place to hear music.What I like best about "Get smart?" No, not the action. No, no the thrills, but anne hathway and her one-woman fashion show. Every time I see her on the big screen, it's hard for me to take my eyes off the screen. Part of the fun of watching this mlovie. I like "Get Smart." Not only it's funny, but it's daring at the same time.  

[--- Good ---]by DrewM09 Jun 24, 2008

Steve Carell definitley never dissapoints!

"Get Smart" is full of action, romance, and laughs. Mostly laughs. For the entire legnth of this movie, there wasn't a single joke that I didn't laugh at. It was so well put together, and the cast seemed to really have a fun time being a part of it, as well.

If this movie had a more 'theatric' feel to it, then I'd definietly rank this as a 'See Now!'. All I can say is that if you're feeling like seeing a comedic, entertaining flick, then "Get Smart" should be at the top of your list! 

[--- Good ---]by Trapper Jun 25, 2008

I enjoyed the bits of nostalgia nodding to the original series and that it wasnít done to the point of interfering with the story line. Good jokes but didnít make the movie silly. I liked the chemistry between 86 and 99. 

[--- See Now! ---]by gamerdork Jun 25, 2008

Very Funny! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K Jun 27, 2008

I laughed a lot. I think they balanced the competency and bumbling of Smart quite well. 

[--- Good ---]by Laura Jul 19, 2008

pretty funny! 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Josh Sep 14, 2008



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.