Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
The newest Indiana Jones adventure begins in the desert Southwest in 1957 – the height of the Cold War. Indy and his sidekick Mac (Ray Winstone) have barely escaped a close scrape with...  View more >

Starring Harrison Ford, Cate Blanchett, Ray Winstone...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

May 22, 2008
I still can't decide if I want to give this film a Stay Away or See Now. I think most critics are having a hard time determining whether they love or hate this new take on Indiana Jones.

What I can tell you is that this is unlike any of the Indiana Jones movies. You can definitly tell that Steven Speilberg had a hand in this one. I just don't know if it was for the better. This film is so strange, yet so well tied together that I am having trouble telling you to stay away. Just keep in mind that Indy 4 was made in the computer generation where just about ANYTHING is possible. I just hope that in years to come, we won't look back on this and think, "hmmm, the Crystal Skull, yeah the stinker that ruined the trilogy."

As of now, I cannot get over the hidden theme (that I won't give away) and how well it tied into the 50's and the ancient empires of South America. But have too many boundaries been crossed in this fourth installment? I'll leave that for you to decide. As for me, I thought the action was great, special effects cheesy, Harrison Ford great as always, and the unveiling of the storyline continues to blow me away! As of right now--in a good way!
May 22, 2008
Lots of fun! Great beginning and cool surprises along the way.
May 24, 2008
If you are a fan of the Indiana Jones movies, then you defiantly will want to see this one. At 66 years old, Harrison Ford is as good as ever. Make sure to see this one on the big screen.
May 24, 2008
A very good movie. Is it better then, or as good as Raiders of the Lost Ark, or Last Crusade? No, but few movies are. Raiders of the Lost Ark might be as close to a perfect movie as has been created, so no, this movie is not as good as those two movies. But it is still and Indiana Jones movie, and it is still a lot of fun.
May 24, 2008
The story line was too absurd to give it a See Now, but it still kept my attention. The special effects were perfect... no surprise... the acting was perfect... no surprise... but the story was just too far "out there" to really fit in with the rest of the series, in my opinion -- and the opinion of those I saw it with. There is one remarkable bit of special effects at the end, though, that makes it worth seeing in the theater.
May 28, 2008
It should be seen on the big screen to really enjoy. Not as good as the rest of the stories but it's still Indiana Jones and worth seeing.
May 28, 2008
Harrison Ford's old, but he's not slow. That helped "Dr. Jones' latest adventure "Indians Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull." Althgough this isn't the best of the series, but it still got enough energy to carry the movie. it was "Raiders of the Lost Ark," a film that I saw way back in 1981, that made me want becoming a film critic. In the fourth movie, there were plenty of surprises and it thrill me from begining to end. the last three movies, Dr. Jones battled Nazis, this time he's pitted against the Russian KGB. During this movie, Indy learned that he had a son and yes, Marion returns. I haven't seen Karen Allen in years. it's nice to see her back again. Cate Blanchett plays the evil agent, whop like Jones is pursuring a Skull that they must return. I can't say anymore, but I will say that you will enjoy this movie just as much as I had. My favorite moment: the big red ants. they're fun to watch. the latest Indy movie will have you cheering...again. Go Indy!
Jun 2, 2008
Why this was a "Good" instead of "See Now" rests soley on the poor decision to include Shia LaBeouf as "Mutt". Shia just couldn't provide the rebellious 50's persona that was sought by the producers.
Jun 4, 2008
Not as good as Raiders of the Lost Ark and The Last Crusade, and better than The Temple of Doom. It was a fun, action-packed movie with delightful references to the first three films.

See it now - on the big screen.
Jun 5, 2008
this movie is un-realistic, confusing, boring, and short. you would agree if you see the movie(xspecially as a teen)
Jun 11, 2008
This movie should have been called "National Treasure X: The Mummy".
Jun 14, 2008
I agree with a number of reviewers on this site, in that this falls somewhere in between See Now and Good.

At first it comes across as pretty average when compared to the previous 3 and reminded me too much of a computer game at times.

Then it picks up and I saw glimpses of what made the originals so compelling. Then it stuffs up again with some quite ridiculous moments.

By the end I felt it was just little too far fetched even for this series and the various chase scenes just seemed like a re-hash of similar scenes from the other movies.

At the end of the day it's probably worth seeing for the new generation of fans, but since 'Crusade' this has been done just as well in films like 'The Mummy', 'Tomb Raider' and even 'National Treasure'

6/10
Jun 15, 2008
Terrible!!!! 5 minutes into this movie I was already sick of the cutesy responses, the overblown CG effects (animated ground hogs) and the not so veiled references to the previous (and much better) Indiana Jones movies.

Predictable, poor acting, and the purpose seemed to be only to build off of the previous trilogy's successes.
Jun 17, 2008
I can not believe that there are people out in the world that can watch any of the three prior films and think this is remotely as good, let alone "better."

The prior three films all have the perfect blend of action, humor and story. With conclusions, humor and action that have you stomach hurting from laughter, your brain coursing with excitement of figuring out "what His next move is," cringing from being covered with nasty bugs, rats or snakes and almost exhausted from edge of your seat adventure and action!

This new Indy film doesn't even hold a candle to the others, the humor is flat, no real traps, a very fake looking CGI bug scene with no cringe factor, the actors look as if they are "going through the motion," the story goes no place (and I don't mind the alien scenario), the conclusions on how Indy deducts his answers are flimsy at best, his son is just plain annoying as well a pointless and the action is un-monumental.

Spielberg and Lucas strayed from the formula and now have ruined another legacy. The opening of the film was cool but then as the movie went on it's continued the path of a dying bird slowly fluttering it's way to an unavoidable death.

I Laugh because I think back to my Family Guy episodes when Peter and Chris are talking about how Star Wars was ruined and Chris states "at least we still have Indiana Jones!" Well guys I will watch "Revenge, Clones or the Phantom Menace" again long before I will watch this new Indy again. At least I get a cool Obi-Wan story with a small aspect of Star Wars...because the only thing Indy about this move is a whip and a hat.
Jun 20, 2008
Considering this is the fourth installment of the Indiana Jones series, it's better than it could have been. Considering that Steven Spielberg directed it, it's not as good as it should have been.

Much has been made of the attempts to make a fourth Indiana Jones movie. It took 19 years to bring the man in the hat back to the big screen, with many scripts being turned down before this one was given the go-ahead. It makes a person wonder what the other scripts were like if this was the best of the bunch...

Harrison Ford single-handedly saves this movie from being shunned by anyone familiar with the other installments. He slips back into his role very comfortably, but with the acknowledgement that he isn't the spry treasure hunter that ran from rolling boulders so many years ago.

Cate Blanchett's villain was so over the top that it was comical. I didn't like any scene she was in, as it brought to mind some bad Saturday Night Live skit were she would be lampooning some 50's B-Movie villain, all the while everyone on camera is trying to stifle their laughter.

The target of the movie's plot is a crystal skull, but no one knows exactly what it does. It has a magnetic pull, but not when it's covered by a burlap sack. It can control your mind, but only if you're strapped in a chair and forced to look at it for an extended period of time. The only guy in the story that has a clue to what it does is a couple cards short of a full deck. When the skull is returned to its rightful place, inexplicable things happen that do more to show off the CGI team than to advance the story.

So, what we have is a great lead character, an ineffective villain, a mostly uninteresting item of attention, and more plot holes than the viewer knows what to do with.

Was it fun? Yeah, it was great to see Indiana Jones on the big screen. That's the only reason I'm giving it a Good. It deserves to be seen on a big screen, because seeing it on a small TV isn't going to cut it.

I almost want to see it again to see if I've been too hard on it.
Jun 20, 2008
its totally amazing
Jun 22, 2008
The new 'Indiana Jones' movie is full of excitement and adventure, with a little bit of romance sprinkled in along with everything.

Even for being 60-years-old, Harrison Ford still kicks bad-guy-booty! The fight scenes and chase scenes were incredible, along with the fantastic acting the actors and actresses alike both showed throughout the movie.

Bottom line, if you liked any of the previous 'Indiana Jones' movies, then put KOTCS on your "To See" list. You won't be dissapointed!
Jun 22, 2008
Jun 27, 2008
This was a terrible movie, Indiana was still in character; it was just not enough mystery and unique action packed that we've come to expect from the other great works of art. The storyline was terrible. It would'nt be a movie i would buy for my collection. If you feel you want to see it for yourself; save the $9.00 theatre fee and rent at the Redbox for a buck. Believe me, you will only spend that because after you watch it, you'll grow no attachment and return it back on time. Not what we expected; stay away or make it a delay to watch!
Jun 30, 2008
Jul 15, 2008
Aug 5, 2008
i was not impress with this movie at all . but it is a movie for sure to wait to rent . it does have a lot of action and funny scene . his otheir movies are much better.
Sep 7, 2008

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook