Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
© Twentieth Century Fox
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Day the Earth Stood Still
A contemporary reinvention of the 1951 classic. Keanu Reeves portrays Klaatu, an alien whose arrival on our planet triggers a global upheaval. As governments and scientists race to unravel the...  View more >

Starring Keanu Reeves, Jennifer Connolly, Kathy Bates...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Dec 13, 2008
Not as good as the original, but still an entertaining movie.
Dec 15, 2008
The movie is the coolest thing that I have ever seen. Surfer dude, cool man, one hand up, producer man you rock !
Dec 17, 2008
Dec 18, 2008
"The Day the Earth Stood Still" is a weak version of the much better 1951 version of the film. Keanu Reeves didn't add anything to his role,execpt he reminds me of the character in "the Matrix." the 2008 version is more like the 1951 version, except with better special effects. Like the 1951 version, it deliver an anti-war message, but this version isn't clear at all. I didn't care much for the movie, it could've been made for the Sci-fi channel for all I care.
Dec 20, 2008
Plot holes notwithstanding, this is a decent film.
Dec 26, 2008
Dec 26, 2008
I enjoyed the original much more although, I liked some of the newer special effects in this version. I didn't care for how this movie ended though. Left too much unanswered. I'd give this one a 5 on a scale of 10.
Dec 27, 2008
Not a bad movie, but nothing special. Nearly the same message as the original, but this new one was more a "clean up the planet" message, than an anti-war message, I thought. Keanu Reeves acting style was perfect for the emotionless, robotic Klaatu.
Jan 11, 2009
When the original movie came out I went to see it and was scared to death. Other than the special effects which you know would be better then 40 or 50 years ago still no reason to see the movie. If you haven't seen the original I would give it a shot on a rental.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Day the Earth Stood Still.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook