The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 9th, 2007

Directed by Ethan Coen
Joel Coen

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
No Country for Old Men
Academy Award® Winner
A man finds a pickup truck surrounded by a sentry of dead men, with a load of heroin and two million dollars in cash. When he takes the money, he sets off a chain reaction of catastrophic violence...  View more >

R
strong graphic violence and some language

Starring Tommy Lee Jones, Javier Bardem, Josh Brolin...  View more >

Academy AwardŽ Winner
- Best Motion Picture of the Year
- Achievement in Directing
- Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
- Adapted...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for No Country for Old Men.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberNov 29, 2007

A powerful movie that was made by the Ethan and Joel Coen in their best movie since "Fargo." A killer is on a killing spree over a bad drug deal and another person is on the run with stolen money fromn the botched drug deal. Tommy Lee Jones is the cop who is out to find the killer. this is no ordinary movie. The writing is excellent and the directing is first-rate. One of the best movies of 2007. 

[--- See Now! ---]by WALTER Dec 1, 2007

Absolute thriller - deep hidden meaning, especially the ending - will there be a 'No Country for Old Men Part Two'? 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by rotomike Dec 22, 2007

First 3/4 of movie was ok, then suddenly the entire plot changed and it went off in another direction. I came to see an action movie and it ended in hacked up scenes that didn't belong. Very disappointing. 

[--- See Now! ---]by BAMFRA Dec 25, 2007

Outstanding movie, one of the best of the year. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K Dec 31, 2007

I debated where to rate this. I think if you go in expecting a freaky movie, you won't be disappointed. If you go in expecting one of the best films of the year, you may hate it. (Kind of like a David Lynch flim.) 

[--- See Now! ---]by artier75 Jan 26, 2008

strange and gripping movie leaves you with choices as to what happened at the end very entertaining.You will be talking about this movie for a long time 

[--- See Now! ---]by JonTasha Jan 27, 2008

This was a great movie - drew me in - loved the story line. See it now!!! 

[--- Good ---]by The Reviewer Feb 23, 2008

I went into this movie expecting something similar to Fargo. I was disappointed to find that No Country for Old Men had very little comedy. However, I really enjoyed the scenes of action/suspense. The main problem with this film is that it does not have any closure. I understand why the film ended so abruptly- as it was supposed to be based on character rather than plot. But in reality, the film should have had more meaning if this was it's true intent. I didn't feel like I really got close to the characters throughout the film and Tommy Lee Jones' character seemed kind of pointless in retrospect to the film's plot. I was disappointed in the ending/main theme but I did like the action and suspense as well as some of the one-liners. Go see this movie if you want something similar to an action-western, but don't expect the best movie of the year. I really don't understand why it's up for so many awards. I think it's because the coen brothers directed it and everyone wants to praise them for who they are instead of what they make. Fargo, Raising Arizona, and O brother where art thou are much better films. For me, the best films of this year are Sweeney Todd and Juno! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Michael Mazzoni Feb 28, 2008
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Sinamax Feb 29, 2008

I don't understand the awards. The movie is slow paced and the acting so so at best. Watch it at home, you'll miss nothing and the popcorn is cheaper. 

[--- See Now! ---]by TIM Mar 5, 2008
[--- Good ---]by Michael Aug 13, 2009



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.