The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 29th, 2009

Directed by Pete Docter
Genre: Animation
Running Time: 1:36

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Up
Academy Award® Winner
Carl Fredricksen spent his entire life dreaming of exploring the globe and experiencing life to its fullest. But at age 78, life seems to have passed him by, until a twist of fate (and a persistent...  View more >

PG
some peril and action

Starring Ed Asner, Christopher Plummer, John Ratzenberger...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Animated Feature Film
* Music (Original Score)

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Animated...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  9 75 See Now! Percent
Good  2 17 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 8 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
12 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Up.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  May 30, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJun 3, 2009
'Up" is an uplifting fun adventure, which is both funny and tender. It comes from Pixar who did some of the best computer aminated movies in the last ten years. No other computer animated movie studio has ever come close to what Pixar's doing. they crank one memorable movie after another and "Up" is no execptition. The film's about an old man and a kid who are unwilling travelers to South America to find adventure. Carl Fredrickson is a guy who someday dream of going to South America to see a huge waterfalls. But after his wife dies he lost his faith in himself until a boy scott comes along and change his life. There is also the battle of the South American jungle between the villain who looks like Kirk Dougles and the hero, which is Fredrickson, who looks like Spencer Tracy in his latter years. In addition, the film's got a dog who can speak English and a colorable huge bird who befriend Fredrickson and the boy scott.I hope that you will love this movie just as much as I. I saw this movie in 2D, because it's too special to get 3D. If you want to see it in 3D, just go ahead. If you got extra money to spend on glasses. "Up" goes up and doesn't look back.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 5, 2009
Another pixar hit, fun and a lot of tender moments to make you think too.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 8, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 15, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 20, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 20, 2009
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 13, 2009
really cool movie
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 18, 2009
Everybody I ahve talked to you has said it is a wonderful movie and I love good movies . I just saw a dvd of Mama Mia and whata great movie I loved it! I hope there are m ore like this to come in the future. I love movies. Thank you so much. I am a Grandma who love cartoons and musicals and comedies . Thank you for listening to my letter. Have a wonderful day and may God bless you. Pat.Disviscour
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 5, 2009
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberJan 12, 2010
I think I was a victim of unrealistic expectations with this movie. I bought the Blu-ray disc without having seen it in theaters because of an attractive price and Pixar's history of making great movies. I have thoroughly enjoyed many of their previous movies, but I didn't care for WALL-E all that much. Perhaps that should have been an indicator for my reception to Up...

The initial flashback sequence of Carl's life with Ellie is sweet and heartbreaking, and it's this sequence that the rest of the movie could not live up to. Carl's trip with Russell was also pretty good, but once they ran into "Kevin," the movie hit the brakes and never got back up to speed. The villain is just odd, and all of the events involving Kevin and/or Muntz are not very enjoyable.

It's very possible that subsequent viewings will improve my impression, but it may be quite some time before it comes to the top of my "to watch" list.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 26, 2013
Excellent movie. Good visual animation but great messages for young and old alike. Ed asner has a great voice fit perfectly for the old man. A life-inspiring movie.



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.