The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, June 24th, 2009

Directed by Michael Bay
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:30

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
Academy Award® Nominee
Two years have passed since Sam Witwicky and the Autobots saved the human race from the invading Decepticons. Now he's preparing for the biggest challenge of his life: leaving home for college....  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of sci-fi action violence, language, some crude and sexual material, and brief drug use

Starring Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox, John Turturro...  View more >

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Sound Mixing

Also available in IMAX Theaters. For more information, see View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 38 See Now! Percent
Good  2 15 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  3 23 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  3 23 Stay Away! Percent
13 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 24, 2009
If you didn't like the first movie, please, don't even bother. You won't like this movie. I loved the first movie, and I liked this one just as much, maybe even more. I'll be able to decide that for sure after I see it for a second time. And I will see it a second time.
[--- Good ---]by   Jun 24, 2009
Ok- we all know the story, we all know its based on a mediocre kids cartoon, so let us let that be our guiding perspective:

The 2nd installment is practically identical in formula to the 1st but amplified to the point of boredom. The jokes are more plentiful (especially from Sam's mom),more cute pets, the girls are more sexy, the explosions are er uh.. more explosive, more Autobots, more story-telling based on the Autobot's history, more chase and battle scenes, improved audio FX.

With all of this we get less character involvement, drawn out battles that play out way too long, and a rushed epilog. Not a bad movie in any sense but numbing to the point of boredom due to relentless and protracted action. Some clever writing and story telling from a film of this genre, it carefully avoids cliches and sappiness, and posing is kept to a safe minimum, but a good 20 minute trim would have helped enormously.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 28, 2009
Wow, what a sequel!!! You have to see Transformers 1 first to appreciate Transformers 2 to the fullest. Lots of humor, creativity, and a few jibs and jabs. The audience broke out into spontaneous laughter several times. The story line and the action, lots of action, is taken to a whole new level. The movie was 2 hours and 30 min, maybe another 30 minutes could have been added to slow the movie down a bit and add a little more character depth but the movie was great none the less.

After the film ended, the audience clapped, something I rarely see, but they clapped for the recent Star Trek film too. This was a great film, one of the best of the year. Go see Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen on the big screen with the big sounds before it leaves the theater. I can't wait for Transformers 3,...
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 30, 2009
Unless you don't like action, I think you'll like this better then the first.

I think it's better then the first, with more action.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP Member Jul 1, 2009
"Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen," is nothing less of what I saw a year ago. Only this time, fans of the first movie will be shaking their heads at the second. a robot humps the leg of a woman, two robots talk like African-American sterotypes. Even the robots are a major disapointment, except for Bumblebee. It was so bad I had to stare at Megan Fox. She's better off doing adult movie roles, rather in appearing in a two and a half hour toy commerical. She may be the real reason why this movie didn't sink down to "Stay Away" level. Even Shai LaBeouf is a disapoinment, His college friends may comes off the set of those National Lapoon's Van Wilder series. Even his mother is so doped up, she becomes crazy. LaBeouf's character is nothing more than a bouncing ball being thrown around by the Deceapticons.. this film is crawling with roberts, big and little. So, many that I can't tell them apart without a scordcard. This movie is loud and stupid and nothing to like, except Fox who I stare at the entire movie. I watch television for the past month and I may have seen more than a dozen "Transformers" commerical, including the one from Burger King. When I enter the movie theater to see it, I have already saw 20 per cent of the movie.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jul 2, 2009
George Jobson sais it all. Read his review.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP Member Jul 11, 2009
This movie very well illustrates Micheal Bay's plot allergy. He clearly just wanted a toy to play with, so he threw together even more special effects and threw in childish humor in a chaotic film I actually would have walked out of if I wasn't there with friends. It is as if Bay is trying to distract you from the fact that he is a lousy film-maker with flashing lights and what amounts to fart jokes. If that is your thing, you'll love it.
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 12, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 17, 2009
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Jul 17, 2009
About half way through the film, I just stopped caring altogether. The action was sooooo drawn out, the comedic remarks are so cheesy (as well as the love story), the African American stereotype robots who couldn't read "alien language" were annoying, and then, there was Megan Fox bent over a motorcycle.

Honestly, this film is so blatantly obvious in its marketing techniques- It was as if Michael Bay thought to himself- how can I cater to the widest audience? People who grew up in the 80's and love transformers. Teenage boys who like cars and hot women. African Americans who can relate to three African American actors in the film (including the robots). And any teenager who likes terrible music.

This is the formula for a film with nothing but shiny Hasbro toys fighting in sync with a Greenday album purchased by McDonalds, brought to you by Chevy!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 28, 2009
This movie was very good and I enjoyed it very much. I liked this movie better than the first one. I hope there will be a third Transformers movie in the works!
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Aug 13, 2009
I can not believe the rating on this movie. I took my 7 year old grandson and I am very upset that children would be allowed to go to this movie. Had I known the nasty terrible talk that was in this movie. My grandson would never had walked through the door. He will not be going to another Transformer movie. I am telling everyone do not take your child or grandchild. Unreal these people should be ashamed. I was ashamed to be seen in the movie myself. I though it was a movie for family and children. WRONG, STAY AWAY DON`T SUPPORT SUCH TRASH Mema
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP Member Oct 27, 2009
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen was everything I expected it to be.

However, I expected it to be bad. If there's anything good to say about the movie is that it met my expectations.

The only other redeeming feature of the movie was seeing the Camaro (Bumblebee) in some limited scenes. Maybe if I was in high school, I'd enjoy leering with the camera and its lingering shots of Megan Fox straddling a motorcycle in her short-shorts, but I'm not, so I didn't.

Every time the movie veered too close to character development, the editor made sure to cut away and head into some incomprehensible action scene where you can't tell the good robots from the bad robots, much less what's happening in any particular scene.

Even though I didn't have Transformers toys when I was a kid (missed it by a few years), I can see myself enjoying a movie that had such characters in it. But in this movie, we never get to know any of the characters to care anything about them, much less recognize them when they're in a fight with a half-dozen other transforming robots.

Perhaps in more skilled hands, this franchise has a chance. Given that Michael Bay seems to have a tight grip on it, and he's gotten worse with each of the two installments so far, it doesn't bode well for the third one coming in 2011.

Don't even get me started on how you walk out of the Smithsonian in Washington, D.C. and into a big field of decommissioned aircraft. Has Bay ever been to Washington?

About half way through the movie, I felt myself getting impatient for it all just to end. Enough with the robot fights already. Yeah, we get it. No, we still can't tell them apart or even tell who's winning. Get on with it already.

Giving this movie a "Wait for Rental" is a gift. If I think about it much longer, it's going to get a "Stay Away" because of the incomprehensible mess that it is.



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.