The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 12th, 2008

Directed by Clint Eastwood
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 1:55

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Gran Torino
Retired auto worker and Korean War veteran Walt Kowalski resents the changes happening in the world around him. His neighbors have either moved away or died, replaced by Hmong immigrants he...  View more >

R
language throughout, and some violence

Starring Clint Eastwood, Geraldine Hughes, Christopher Carley...  View more >

12/12/2008 and 12/17/2008 - Limited, 01/16/2009 - Nationwide
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  11 69 See Now! Percent
Good  5 31 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
16 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Gran Torino.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 9, 2009
Clint Eastwood is at his all time best! The audience reaction was positive as well. I walked away with a better understanding of another culture.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 10, 2009
Clint Eastwood has wowed me once again. With a simple plot and strong character development, Eastwood brings us to a world where the areas of race and crime are divided by one man's unexpected compassion. Amongst his racist comments and grumpy demeanor, main character, Walt (Clint Eastwood) discovers himself immersed in a Hmong community whose traditions are bizzare to him. As a grumpy, old war veteran, Walt continues to show compassion to these people in unsuspecting ways. Are his methods out of selfishness or for the good of others? You can only find this out if you discover this heartfelt and poignant drama while it is still in theaters. And try not to smirk at the ending song because it is a little misplaced... Gran torino--my pick for best picture of the year...if it wasn't for the dark knight.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 11, 2009
Just gotta love this old guy. He sure knows how to act. A great part for him and the viewer. Go see it now it is a great movie certainly one of the best of the year.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 16, 2009
A great acting job and a great movie. Must see!!
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 16, 2009
Clint Eastwood made another worthwhile movie, only a few months after "The Changling." "Grand Toro" is a drama that takes place in Detroit. the film's about a Korean War vet who is bitter over his wife's death and his dislike for his own family. His car "The Gran Torino" is the only thing he loves. Then one day a Korean family moved in next door and right there trouble follows. A asian gang is trying to recult a Korean kid from next door without success. When the violence went on Eastwood's lawn, he grab his shotgun and told them to get off his lawn. the main core of this movie is the relationship between Eastwood and the Korean kid. Another thing I love about the movie is the performance of Ahney Her as the korean girl who broke tension between Eastwood and the family. I didn't give this film a "See Now!" and I would rather rate it as "good!" for a good reason. this is not the best Eastwood movie and one scene where the barber pull a shot gun on the Korean kid, that should be on the cutting room floor. I like the movie, if not love the movie. This is Clint Eastwood's final movie appearance on the big screen. there is something about him that we're going to miss. Thanks Clint for making my day at the movies again.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 27, 2009
Great story!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 3, 2009
Clint Eastwood did an awesome job in this movie. The whole theater seemed to enjoy it.
[--- Good ---]by  Feb 5, 2009
[--- Good ---]by  Feb 13, 2009
The story was very good, terrific acting, but I did not like the foul language!!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 14, 2009
Clint has definitely 'mellowed' in his old age...great, but fitting, ending.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 19, 2009
This is Eastwood's best!! A "must see" - especially for 60ish viewers.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 20, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 5, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 26, 2009
almost missed this one and then we went and loved it. Wow did not expect this one.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJun 11, 2009
I had a hard time getting into this movie at first, because all Clint Eastwood does for quite some time is scowl and grunt. However, once he starts to warm up and we get to know his neighbors a little more, I was immersed into the story and followed him on his arc of growth.

One of the things I was most impressed with is how good the locations felt. You got the impression that you were seeing a neighborhood that once held a large number of blue collar families just like the Kowalski's, and now the homes and the neighborhood itself are in disrepair.

I was very surprised by the ending, but in retrospect, it was the right way to go with it. Leave it to Eastwood to take this route!

This movie is definitely worth seeing, and if you don't get a chance to see it in the theater, the home video experience shouldn't take away too much from the movie, even on a smaller screen.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 19, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.