The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

TM & © 2009 Warner Bros Entertainment Inc All rights reserved
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 25th, 2009

Directed by Guy Ritchie
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:14

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Sherlock Holmes
Academy Award® Nominee
In a dynamic new portrayal of Arthur Conan Doyle's most famous characters, "Sherlock Holmes" sends Holmes and his stalwart partner Watson on their latest challenge. Revealing fighting skills as...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of violence and action, some startling images and a scene of suggestive material

Starring Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, Rachel McAdams...  View more >

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Art Direction
* Music (Original Score)
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  3 33 See Now! Percent
Good  4 44 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 22 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Dec 26, 2009
This is for my Christian, Jewish friends, people of faith. If you are not one of these, then disregard the following review. Note: there is not any spoiler of the plot in the following review.

I should have been alerted by the opening scene. It is of a human sacrifice. This whole film is steeped in Ocultism. I am ashamed that I sat through the movie, but the characters are blockbuster favorites, so I stayed hoping that there was this only sceen in it with Occult elements. But beware, this is not a family film. The Sherlock Holmes guise is deceptive, I thought it was going to be about solving some fun mystery. But this was not the case. Scene after scene had elements of occultism. Even pictures of what looked like an Ark of the Covenant, But the Angels were turned away from the Mercy Seat, wings pointed away from it. Which is a deliberate message of the rejection of God's laws and commandments.

Save your money, if you go, afterwards you will be left with a feeling that you need to repent, as it is a spiritually filthy movie.

Guy Ritchie is the director. That should have been a clue for me to stay away. As he was married to a woman steeped in mysticims and occult. All you have to do is watch her video's to see that she has no redeeming qualities, no good fruit.

Hope this helps. There weren't any reviews for me to read before I went, bringing attention to the occult activity in this movie.

Don't be seduced by the big stars.

Any one else reading this-The movie was pretty boring in content anyway. One of my companions even fell asleep.

Thanks for reading!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 29, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 31, 2009
A great flick with good Doyle content. The story, contrary to one reviewer, is not about the occult (that viewer must have watched a totally different movie) but rather an interesting mystery to solve! Fun stuff, but 2 issues, nevertheless: the script is mumbled at the beginning of the flick, thus difficult to follow. Also, volume is too loud, and thus there is some distortion. Beyond this, a great story, and I hope the first in a series.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 2, 2010
This is not how I see Sherlock Holmes. Holmes was a gentleman not a fighter.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 6, 2010
Basil Rathbone may be the greatest Sherlock Holmes actor ever, but Robert Downey Jr. can tackle to famous British detective. Robert Downey Jr. with help from Jude Law battle a cult group who kills for control of the world. Not if Mr. Holmes has anything to say about it.I love the special effects. Rachael McAdams is very beautiful in her turn of the century costumes. I love what she wore. Robert Downey Jr. isn't as good as Homes as Rathbone, but he gets the job done.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 7, 2010
It is a good movie with lots of action, but if you are looking for the Sherlock Holmes you grew up with or read about, this isn't him. Still,I enjoyed the movie and Downey was great in his role as a "detective" ( not Holmes).
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 12, 2010
This movie is good in its own right, but if you're an ardent Sherlock Holmes fan, you may not like it.

If taken by itself, it has a duo of investigators that have a good friendship and share witty dialog. They clearly care about each other and have a history of friendship. Irene Adler's character is a match for Sherlock Holmes. The villain isn't bad, as most villains go in movies like this.

There is a good mix of comedy, action, and even a little romance/sexual tension thrown in for good measure. I found myself laughing at many of the gags (the mismatched hammer fight is a great example) and I enjoyed the dialog between Holmes and Watson, and Holmes and Adler. Even the supporting characters of Inspector Lestrade and Mary Morstan get their chance to contribute to the movie in an effective manner.

If this movie were not named Sherlock Holmes, but it featured the same types of characters in the same setting played by the same actors, this would still be an enjoyable movie.

Don't let any pre-conceptions about what Sherlock Holmes should be (or has been in the past) deter you from enjoying it, and you'll be fine.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 2, 2010
If you can stomach Holmes as an action hero, this is an excellent film.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 10, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Sherlock Holmes.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.