The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© Twentieth Century Fox
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 18th, 2009

Directed by James Cameron
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:40

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Avatar: An IMAX 3D Experience
Academy Award® Winner
An ex-Marine finds himself thrust into hostilities on an alien planet filled with exotic life forms. As an Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, he finds himself torn between two worlds, in a...  View more >

PG-13
intense epic battle sequences and warfare, sensuality, language and some smoking

Starring Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Sigourney Weaver...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Art Direction
* Cinematography
* Visual Effects

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Art...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  21 88 See Now! Percent
Good  3 13 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
24 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 21, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 22, 2009
This movie is beautiful. It just floors me how far this technology has come from Beowulf, last year. I walked out that one thinking that it wasn't ready yet, but Avatar convinced me. It was so life like and realistic, and everything had a sense of weight that can be lacking with CGI creations. Everything felt like it was on screen, that it was there on a set, not created on a computer. The movements were extremely realistic, down to subtle facial expressions.

The preformances by the actors were all solid, but Zoe Saldana deserves the most credit. An outstanding performance it what could be a very demanding role. She was strong, powerful, emotional and sexy. She, more then any other actor, made me forget that they were almost pure CGI.

The story. Yes, there are elements that have been done before, yes it was a bit cliched, but none the less, it drew me in. I was invested in characters and the outcome. I was never bored, and more importantly, never drawn out of the world.

I think that's the biggest accomplishment of this movie. There were never any moments were the CGI, or the acting, or the story telling knocked me out of the story. Which is difficult for a movie like this. But I was totally immersed in the world and the movie from start to finish. Outstanding movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 26, 2009
A truly wonderful movie.

Believe ALL the hype and go see this in 3D. James Cameron really does deliver yet again with a good story, characters you care about, plenty of action and a world you will never forget.

I will be seeing this again before it finishes it's cinematic run and I'll be watching it in 3D again. At the IMAX next time though.

Go see it!

5/5
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 27, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Dec 31, 2009
I went into this movie with pretty high expectations. Even ignoring the pre-release hype that 20th Century Fox was generating, it was hard not to have elevated expectations based on the positive reviews I had been hearing from friends and even those in the industry. That's usually a mistake, as most movies do not live up to their hype.

This is the first fully 3D movie that I have seen using Digital Cinema projection as the source, and I was concerned not only about the story being good, but also how I would feel about wearing 3D glasses for almost 3 hours. Would 3D be a nearly useless gimmick, like I have seen in the past?

While not holding up to level of comments like "it changed my life" it definitely was a very good movie. The 3D effects were subtle most of the time, with a few "wow" instances that mainly involved particles or animals floating in mid-air between the viewer and the main character in a scene. I found the characters very engrossing and your sympathies definitely rested with the native people whose world was being turned upside down.

Avatar is very similar to Dances with Wolves, in that you have a soldier that immerses himself into the culture of the native people, and ends up fighting for them when the military brings its force down upon them.

While the movie is two hours and 40 minutes long, it never dragged. Perhaps there were a few scenes that could have been excised for time considerations, there weren't any that were obviously getting in the way of the flow of the story.

I'm not one to repeat viewings in the movie theater, but I think I'll go back and see this one again. I'm curious to see it in the IMAX (mini-MAX is the only choice in Milwaukee), and I would also like to see at least a little bit of it in 2D to see if the visuals are still appealing when not leaning on the wizardry of 3D.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Jan 6, 2010
Director/Write James Cameron has taken the science fiction gerne to a whole new level. the film "Avatar" is more than just a science fiction movie or a 3D event. it's a movie that will have people talking for years to come. I saw the movie in 3D and I was blown away by the experience. I love the plants and the animals that live on that planet. I also love the planet structure and how the Na'vi tribe had lived. The conflict with the people of Pandora lives within the planet the rare mental what cost thousand of dollars on the market. so solders are sent there to get rid of the tribes and the mine the mental. One soldier in a wheelchair was given the experience of walking again as his body exchange with a Na'vi warrior and learn their ways. that part of the movie I love. Of the cast in the movie, the one that i like is Michelle Rodriguez. It's nice to see her on the big screen again. I saw the movie in 3D and if you saw the movie in 2D, that's fine too. I urged you to see 'Avatar" twice, once in 3D and the other in 2D. Something to do during the winter.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 7, 2010
WOW!!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 8, 2010
You have to see this on the big screen, the effects are wild.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 8, 2010
This movie is beautiful. It just floors me how far this technology has come from Beowulf, last year. I walked out that one thinking that it wasn't ready yet, but Avatar convinced me. It was so life like and realistic, and everything had a sense of weight that can be lacking with CGI creations. Everything felt like it was on screen, that it was there on a set, not created on a computer. The movements were extremely realistic, down to subtle facial expressions.

The preformances by the actors were all solid, but Zoe Saldana deserves the most credit. An outstanding performance it what could be a very demanding role. She was strong, powerful, emotional and sexy. She, more then any other actor, made me forget that they were almost pure CGI.

The story. Yes, there are elements that have been done before, yes it was a bit cliched, but none the less, it drew me in. I was invested in characters and the outcome. I was never bored, and more importantly, never drawn out of the world.

I think that's the biggest accomplishment of this movie. There were never any moments were the CGI, or the acting, or the story telling knocked me out of the story. Which is difficult for a movie like this. But I was totally immersed in the world and the movie from start to finish. Outstanding movie.

I will say that I actually preferred the 2D to the 3D. Some of the images in 3D were blurred slightly, and the images didn't seem as vibrant. The 3D was good, but I preferred the 2D image quality.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 9, 2010
Avatar 3D has to be the best movie I've seen in my life. All I can say is WOW! The 3D effects and Graphics were stunning to say the least.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 14, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 15, 2010
This is a must see movie on three counts. Artistically it is stunning. Technically I've seen it 4 times in 3D IMAX and still duck at the same spot when something flies at me. As a message for humanity, it is perfect. The story is set in 2157 and the message is: we didn't get it, but guess what, we still can here in the second decade of the 21st Century!
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Jan 16, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 22, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 29, 2010
Excellent movie, best for 2009. Phenominal 3-D and IMAX!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Feb 2, 2010
Awesome, totally awesome.
[--- Good ---]by   Feb 4, 2010
Graphics are beautiful. Story is predictable from the very beginning. Still probably best viewed on the big screen.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Feb 5, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by   Feb 6, 2010
can you say Oscars? Forget the politics and enjoy the special effects. WOW
[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 2, 2010
Very expansive move...incredible graphics.
Very enjoyable...is a move you can watch a few times.
must see.
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Mar 2, 2010
After seeing this in 3D, I wanted to see it in IMAX 3D as well to compare the two experiences. My only choice was a local mini-MAX theater, with digital 3D projection.

While the sound in the IMAX theater trumped my previous experience, I found the 3D effects to be less effective. There were many times when the separation of the two images wasn't clean, like you could tell that you were supposed to be seeing something as seamless 3D, but instead you got a shadow of what it should have been.

We weren't dead-center in the auditorium, but we were in the center section, maybe 8-9 seats from center, about half-way back in the theater. Perhaps that had something to do with it?

When those issues weren't present, however, Avatar continues to be a visual stunner. This is the standard by which all other 3D movies for quite some time will be judged, and my guess is that many will pale in comparison.

I'm glad that I saw this movie in 3D, as it was intended to be viewed by director James Cameron. He put a lot of work into making it the experience it was, and it showed. I have no idea how this movie will be received when it comes to home video, because the visual impact will be much less on the typical home display, and the lack of 3D will also stunt its impact.

If you have the chance to see this movie in 3D in a theater, you should do so!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 4, 2010
awesome...
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 1, 2010
I didn't want to see this movie but all my friends kept saying how good it was. I loved it! One of my favorite movies!!!! I NEVER buy movies but I am buying this one!!
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 19, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Avatar: An IMAX 3D Experience.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.