Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Behind Enemy Lines
An admiral breaks the rules when he decides to launch a rescue effort to retrieve a hotshot Navy pilot shot down behind enemy lines during a reconnaissance mission.

Starring Gene Hackman, Owen Wilson, Gabriel Macht...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Dec 5, 2001
I felt that this was a good action movie, well worth seeing if you have the time. It had plenty of action and kept the story moving along.
Dec 5, 2001
"Behind Enemy Lines" is a film that is based on the real exploits of a flyer who was shot down over Bosina.

The film had a few good moments, but the film had all the emotions of a "Top Gun" sequel. We need another movie which captures the horrors of the civil war in Serbia, but "Behind Enemy Lines" is too much of a action picture.
Dec 25, 2001
This was an exciting movie that kep me on the edge of my seat though whole time. I really wish they would've picked a different lead actor though. He didn't fit the part and was hard to take seriously after seeing him in Meet the Parents.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 22, 2002
I really enjoyed this movie. I served in the Navy and worked on FA-18 Hornets so it was enjoyable to see the plane in action.

I was overly critical during the the chase seen involving the jet fighter and the SAM missile, particularly when Owen Wilson decides to eject the fuel tanks minutes into the chase. A real pilot would have done that sooner.

Owen Wilsons job portraying a Navy pilot was great. After serving plenty of sea time unboard the U.S.S. Kitty Hawk, I have seen my share of "interesting" officers. Owen Wilson fit that role perfectly.

This movie is so good that in order to be fully enjoyed, it should be seen at a theatre in which a viewer gets a full sound and vision experience.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 22, 2002
I honestly believe that this movie shows the horrors of the Bosnian people and the UN's failure to help in this situation. The bosnians plight was covered up with lie's by the Serbs which was how most of the real war played out.

Behind Enemy Lines is an awesome action movie, with enough truth to make it shocking. Owen Wilson and Gene Hackman show their excellent acting capabilities.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2002
Please see this movie at the theatre. Some of the action scenes are mind blowing, but to appreciate them fully you need the giant screen, state of the art sound etc.

Congratulations to the scripwriters for giving us a movie without the usual barrage of verbal obscenities. The storyline was compeling and pitched at the right level for a mass audience.
Jan 31, 2002
A very good movie with some realistic action, with the exception perhaps of a SAM missile attack on a jet fighter. How long can those missiles fly with such a small feul load?

Anyhow, the production does a great job of showing what it must have been like in Yugoslavia during the conflict there (Though anyone wanting a movie with more 'Realism' should watch Dennis Quaid in 'Savior')

I thought Owen Wilson was great as the pilot and he is fast becoming one of those stars that you go to see no matter what movie he's in.

The only thing that spoilt this movie for me was the Hollywood/American mutual back slapping (Makes me cringe at the end of a lot of action films) and the portrail of how the American military can just go in, out numbered 100:1, kill everything and everyone and get away without a scratch.

Well worth watching at the cinema.

7/10
(If you have any comments about my reviews, you can contact me at fdperth@wiredcity.com.au )
Nov 10, 2003
Everything worked in this movie, except for the bad performance by Owen Wilson. Put anyone else in that role, and this would have come close to a See Now!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Behind Enemy Lines.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook