The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 18th, 2012

Directed by Peter Berg

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Battleship
An action-adventure that unfolds across the seas, in the skies and over land as our planet fights for survival against a superior force. Based on Hasbro's classic naval combat game.  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of violence, action and destruction, and for language

Starring Taylor Kitsch, Brooklyn Decker, Alexander Skarsgård...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Battleship.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by cp May 19, 2012
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberMay 22, 2012

"Battleship" is nothing more than a loud boring alien invasion movie based on a board game. are we going to have an alien invasion movie every three to six months? What's the point if we are going to have all alien movies all the time. "Battleship" doesn't say much, it's just open fire and you got your movie. I don't care much about the cast, the only exception is Rihanna who looks good in uniform. In the movie, we sent a message into outer space and the next thing we know, we inviting trouble. I saw this sort of movie before.  

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by wetback39906 May 23, 2012

Battleship turned out to be quite an enjoyable movie. It was not what you would call "Deep". However, I don't expect that sort of thing from movies like this. It was action and suspense and more action. The acting was good enough. The Veterans made it a great movie to watch. The special effects were great.

The idea was not new, but had a creative twist. It really kept you on the edge of your seat at some parts. It was just COOL! You have to see it on the big screen. Go see it, don't think too hard about it and just have fun! 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Sinamax May 25, 2012

Lots of action and good effects, a little far out with the battleship part. Where did they find shells and powder?

Taylor Kitsch was the worst of a bunch of bad acting. 

[--- See Now! ---]by zimmdogg May 25, 2012

Awesome! Well worth seeing. Lots of action. Good story line.

I loved that the bring back a retired Battleship to rock out the final scenes.

Definiately needs to be seen on the big screen. 

[--- Good ---]by dirk6665 May 30, 2012

This movie wasn't bad - starts out rather slow. Sometimes the graphics and special effects were too reminiscent of the "transformers" movies (which I think one of the directors/authors etc.) originated... the story line is predictable - Aliens come to Earth with bad intentions, Human population isn't impressed and goes up against a formidable force but prevail in the end and the guy gets the girl ... blah blah.

If you can accept the pretentious score, the movie isn't that bad and has some gripping moments. The main characters are easy on the eyes. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by flag24 Jun 1, 2012

Do yourself a favor wait. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Brian Jun 3, 2012

This is a great movie! I originally went to see it as Liam Neeson plays a roll and he's a great actor that can carry a film, but I soon found out that he's not a major player in this film and therefore I was somewhat disappointed...at first. But the film stands on it's own.

Action, story line, plot, writing, emotional involvement, are all part of this film. The special effects are great so you should see it in a theater. It is a sci-fi film so you have to give it some latitude and not "try not to errors", but to sit back and enjoy.

There are aliens, and you get to see the aliens, but the story is not about how the aliens look (e.g. Predator, Aliens) as some sci-fi films focus on. It's a good story line overall. It kind of starts out with a hokey beginning something like The Longest Yard, but this gives you some background and then it becomes action, strategy and intense.

The time flies by because your so involved in the film. Let's face it, the timing of the release of this film and all the doom and gloom reviews of it being a bad film is because The Avenger's film came out just before this which has been setting all types of records. Battleship came out and The Avengers still were #1, but Battleship was #2 in it's debut with 25 million which is really respectable going against The Avengers. If not for the Avengers, this film would have debut at #1, so don't let the critics who don't want to taint their reputation begrudge you from seeing a good film.

Hey, it's not great, but darn good and really not over the top as a lot of other sci-fi films are. I've told people that this film scratches an itch that you can't reach and you'll finally feel satisfied 'with a film like this. 

[--- Good ---]by catneo Aug 13, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.