The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, December 22nd, 2010

Directed by Ethan Coen
Joel Coen
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 1:50

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
True Grit
Academy Award® Nominee
Fourteen-year-old Mattie Ross' father has been shot in cold blood by the coward Tom Chaney, and she is determined to bring him to justice. Enlisting the help of a trigger-happy, drunken U.S. Marshal,...  View more >

PG-13
some intense sequences of western violence including disturbing images

Starring Jeff Bridges, Hailee Steinfeld, Josh Brolin...  View more >

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Performance by an actor in a leading role - Jeff Bridges
* Performance by an actress in a supporting role -...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  2 25 See Now! Percent
Good  6 75 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
8 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 1, 2011
This is definitely worth seeing. A 14- year old, Mattie Ross, hires Jeff Bridges to track down her father's murderer. Her spunk and tenaciousness match any "grit" that a guy can produce. Matt Damon as a Texas Ranger is a secondary character, but shows how good he is as an actor. (He's different here than in other films) Jeff Bridges nails this role. He's great...as is Hailee Steinfeld (Mattie).
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 3, 2011
The 2010 version of "True Grit" is far better than the 1969 version. I know because I saw the 1969 movie on Turner Classic Movies. This version is close to the author's vision and Director Joel and Ethan Coan makes the film more real. Jeff Bridges is more in character than John Wayne. Hailee Steinfeld makes a impressive debut. The movie is beautiful to look at and sometimes remakes can make a difference.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 4, 2011
Get real, you could not run a horse at that pace, for over 10 minutes. Otherwise, it was pretty close to the original with John Wayne.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 10, 2011
A very well done remake, not as good as the original that I seen on the big screen in 69, but close to it.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 22, 2011
I am not a western fan, but my husband is a huge fan. I was expecting a looooong movie, but that was not the case.

Mattie, the 14 year old character, did a great job! I was entertained...
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 27, 2011
I thought this was a fitting tribute to John Wayne and it captured the book and it's characters.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2012
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 19, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for True Grit.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.