Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service

Share This Page

The Help
Academy Award® Winner
Set in Mississippi during the 1960s, Emma Stone is Skeeter, a southern society girl who returns from college determined to become a writer, but turns her friends' lives—and a small Mississippi...  View more >

Starring Viola Davis, Bryce Dallas Howard, Octavia Spencer...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 13, 2011
Aug 14, 2011
Finally a movie with a story line. The acting was also wonderful. This movie made me feel like I was right there in Mississippi in the 60's.
Aug 18, 2011
"The Help" is an inspring movie based on the best-seeling novel by bKathryn Stockett and the rerlationship between African-ameerican maids and the house owners who are white. Emma Sone has come a long way since "The Rocker.," playing her first dramatic role as a reporter who wrote the book on the maids and their relationship with their bosses. Some parts are funny, but other parts are power and inspiring. A lot of women will go and see the movie. How about a few men. This film will entertain men just as well as women. "The Help" got plenty of help from a large cast.
Aug 19, 2011
Aug 20, 2011
best movie I've seen in a very long time!
Aug 20, 2011
This was a very good movie. It was well rounded. It had happy moments, funny moments, and sad moments. I cried twice. I really want to read the book now!!
Aug 28, 2011
This is an excellent film. You have to be a stone not to be moved by how well this film captures the maids' travails in Jackson, Mississippi in 1963. Emma Stone's portrayal of the young caucasian writer who goes against her racist Southern belle friends to show the world their cruel behavior inspires. The acting, script, pacing get a solid "A." Even if you think you don't like "message" films, I bet there's going to be some tears of joy at the end of the film. And one of the maid's payback is going to double you over.:)
Aug 29, 2011
Funny and powerful. You will be moved to tears of laughter as well as empathy. Although a few things were changed from the book version, it stays true to the original story in the things that matter.
Aug 30, 2011
This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.
Aug 31, 2011
Excellent movie, thought provoking
Sep 1, 2011
Very well done.
Sep 22, 2011
Oct 20, 2011
one of the best movies of the year, great for everyone. from new to old for any age. you will laugh smile and cry all in one movie.

if you have not seen this movie yet, dont wait, you will not be SORRY that you went and watched this movie. GREAT GREAT FUNNY FUNNY MOVIE. BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Help.

New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search

Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2016, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook