The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 21st, 1997

Directed by Don Bluth

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Anastasia

G

Starring Meg Ryan, John Cusack, Kelsey Grammer...  View more >

Discover the Adventure Behind the Greatest Mystery of Our Time
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Anastasia.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Mrs. J's 2nd Grade Class Jan 25, 2000

We think Anastasia was a good movie.

I liked Bartok the third best. I liked it when Rasputin's head fell in his body.

I liked the part when the guy did the karate moves. I like Pooka the second best.

I liked the part where Bartok closed the shade at the ending.

by LB, NB, TB, LC, MS

 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberJan 25, 2000

<I>In the name of curiousity about this non-Disney animated film, I braved a Saturday afternoon matinee of a children's film to bring you this review! Actually, it wasn't as bad as I had expected. In spite of the fact that the attending audience had an average age of 8, the noise level was lower than when I've attended a movie with a room full of adults!</I>

Overall, Anastasia is a very good film. Due to the amount of critical analysis that has been showered on this film already, it took about 20 minutes to stop comparing it to other animated films, such as The Lion King and Aladdin. (I have not bothered with Disney's latest couple of animated films, as they did not appear to be worth even matinee prices...) Once I stopped worrying about the comparative quality of the animation (good, but not as good as in Aladdin or Beauty and the Beast), and the creative license they were taking with a historical event (how many pre-teens have studied Russian history anyway?), I really started to enjoy the film.

The voices used in this film were superb. I read once that a nice thing about some animated characters is when the person providing the voice "becomes" the character, and you stop hearing the actor/actress and enjoy the dialog of the character. This is the case with the voices of the characters of Anastasia. The animators did a good job of introducing some of Meg Ryan's mannerisms into Anya, while keeping the character intact. A very nice touch.

I would say that the story told in this movie is as good as Aladdin and The Lion King. The characters were interesting, the adventure that they experienced was entertaining and interesting. The kids in the audience, and the 4-year-old son of a friend of mine (when going to a kids' film, you <I>have</I> to bring a kid, right?) enjoyed the movie thoroughly. While the sound effects did not rival that of some of the Disney animated films I've seen, the sound was still very good, and provided the movie with a convincing backdrop.

While not original in its plot twists (what movie these days is?) and its use of stereotypical villian/accomplice and hero figures mirrors that of other animated features, Anastasia is a movie that should be seen by young and old. If you don't see it in a theater, be sure to rent it on video. I look forward to more animated films from Twentieth Century Fox, they did well on their first release.

<I>This review is the property of Scott Jentsch, Copyright 1997. This information cannot be reprinted without the permission of the author.</I>

 

[--- Good ---]by Sam/Andy Santoro Jan 25, 2000

Very good movie. Excellent graphics. Sometimes we forgot that we were watching a cartoon. Good story line. We're planning a trip to the library to see if there are books about the Romanoff Family & Anastasia. All of the charectors were delightful. We're definately going back to see it again! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dominic Schanen Jan 25, 2000

Anastasia takes you back into imperial Russia to the time period of Tsar Nicholas II and the mighty Rasputin. The movie starts out with a solid background so you know what is happening from the start. Rasputin plots to kill the Romanov family, but Anastasia was able to escape. She, however, got amnesia during the escape and through the movie she is trying to figure out who her family is.

The music was well conducted and the character's voices were well done. It was hard to tell what actors and actresses were doing the voices. The characters portrayed more of an adult characteristic and dry humor rather than a cartoonish attitude and humor. Anastasia is the best animated movie of the year, and I would suggest seeing this movie before wasting your money on a rerelease of a movie that you can buy(or already own) and can watch at home. Go out and watch this movie on the BigScreen, enjoy the scenery and music, and prepare to laugh hysterically at the Bat!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Karen Dare Jan 25, 2000

My gosh. What an excellent movie. This is one that really touched my heart, and added humor at the same time. It is simply well done. Besides the music and the story line being the best that I've witnessed in a long time from an animated movie (especially considering the ones Disney has put out in the past years), and for this being FOX's first full length animated movie, I am terribly, terribly, impressed. I can tell you this: I will be standing outside of K MART at 9:00am the day this comes out, ready to buy it. And I'm sure I'll go back a few times to the theater before then. This will be a timeless treasure that will be enjoyed by many. Take my advice: GO SEE IT NOW. Don't delay, becuase I'm sure you'll enjoy this movie, just as much as I did. I loved this movie.

 

[--- Good ---]by Paul Sheehan Jan 25, 2000

An excellent story and stunning visuals meet up with cut and paste.

I happen to love animated movies. I've seen most of them. And the storyline of Anastasia matches up with the best of them.

I even happen to love the newer computer generated scenes and fillers. Who can forgot the classic herd of wildebeasts in Disney's <I>The Lion King,</I> or the wonderfully delightful <I>Toy Story</I>.

However, in Anastasia, even with the wonderful songs and excellent voices, the overdramatized musical numbers look like a kid who has gone bezerk with a mouse. Most of the characters in the musical numbers were obviously created (design a single animation sequence), copied (right-click choose copy), and then pasted (click, click, click)a couple of hundred times. Click - change dress color. Click - change pants color. The big musical number set in Paris "Paris holds the key" has an animated sequence that was copied and then delayed by about 3 seconds. (Look for the two guys in the background whose gestures are identical but about 3 seconds apart.)

Please note, I also wasn't particularly excited about the animation during, "Be our Guest", in Disney's <I>Beauty and the Beast</I>.

On the whole, Anastasia works best, much like Bluth's <I>An American Tail</I>, when it focuses on the key characters and uses character development and dialogue. When there are only two or three characters on screen, Anastasia, is on par with the best of them. (I especially enjoy the scenes with Rasputin and Bartok.)

It's definitely worth seeing and I'll buy it when it comes out on video. I look forward to seeing what Fox comes up with next.

<I>Copyright 1997, Paul Sheehan. Feel free to reprint without permission.</I>

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jessica Jan 25, 2000

This movie was so good, I've saw it three times already! It may be a kids movie, but adults will like it just the same because of the humor, love, and heart-warming events. Meg Ryan's voice was just perfect as Anya, she brings out the best in her character. Not to mention, Dimitri isn't a bad looking character, and with John Cusack's voice it only adds. Go and see it now, whether with your kids or your boyfriend, you are sure to enjoy it, too!!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dan Jan 25, 2000

Anastasia was plain and simply a great movie! I would recommend it to anyone of any age. The cast of voices includes many stars like Kelsey Grammar, Bettte Midler, and many others that really do a great job as cartoon voices. Bartok the bat is hillarious delivering such great lines as "Yes Master" and "This can only end in tears." They don't show the russian royal family getting massacred by the Zahr, like what happened in real life, so it's safe for little children to watch. In an industry dominated by the ruthless titan Disney, Anastasia holds it's own and proves to viewers that you can't make an animated moive without royalty or talking animals.

 

[--- Good ---]by Rachel Newman Jan 25, 2000

This movie is great. It has very nice graphics, and is just as good as anything Disney has to offer, sometimes even better. It has funny scenes, and wonderful music. The songs have lyrics that might not rock any boats, but it is enough to be remembered long after you have seen the film. Adults don't really like the parts when Raputin kinda falls apart, but hey, kids love the comedy. This is a wonderful family film, especially for kids. I highly recommened for you to see it in the theaters, but if you can't get in, get it as soon as it comes out on video. My favorite character is Bartok, because he is like the comedian.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kristin Jan 25, 2000

This movie is about the search for Anastasia Romanov. A con man named Dimitri and his friend Vladimir are looking for an Anastasia look-alike, when they meet Anya, an orphaned girl since she was eight years old. This is a coincidence, because Anastasia Romanov was seperated from her grandmother when she was eight. Dimitri doesn't realize Anya really is Anastasia. Only two things stand in the way: Rasputin, the man who had put an end to the rest of the Romanov family, and Bartok, his comical bat. Later on in the movie, we find out Dimitri did know Anya a decade ago... but you'll have to see it to findout from where. This movie is so funny!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberOct 12, 2003

"Anastasia" is the a musical aminated remake of the 1956 film starring Ingid Bergman, who won an Oscar for her role. The aminated musical is more of the same but in a lighter mood. The film has plenty of memorable musical numbers and feature the voices of Meg Ryan, John Crusack, Kelsey Grammwer along others. This film is for everyone. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.