The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, July 1st, 1998

Directed by Michael Bay

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Armageddon
The year's second Earth-meets-doom movie, this time from Michael Bay and Jerry Bruckheimer. Bruce Willis leads Ben Affleck, Billy Bob Thornton, and Steve Buscemi in an effort to save the planet.  View more >

PG-13
sci-fi disaster action, sensuality and brief language

Starring Bruce Willis, Billy Bob Thornton, Liv Tyler...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Armageddon.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Kevin K. Jan 25, 2000

I think it was a great movie. it keeps you on edge for the whole movie but Steve Beshem plays the loveable physco like in every movie he does, so he keeps the move funny even in tear jearking parts. It is a great move for everyone to see.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by cindy Jan 25, 2000

This is defenitely one of the best movies I ever saw. It's got everything, action, drama, humor and love. It's about a rocket the size of Texas, that is on its way to earth. A bunch of oildrillers are going to save the earth! Really go see this movie, you won't be disapointed. The acting is good, the camerawork is amazing and the storyline will blow your mind. The ending was really original and not what you would expect.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Peggy Jan 25, 2000

I thought the movie was GREAT!! The special effects were TERRIFIC!! & the acting was SUPERB!! I especially liked Willis, Buscemi & Affleck. With acting & special effects like these, this movie should be one of the top 5 of 1998.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Randy Culp Jan 25, 2000

Brace yourself for this one. From the opening credits to the close of the movie you will scarcely be given time to breathe. Armageddon starts fast and then picks up speed with each scene. For safety considerations, the theaters really should be equipped with airbags.

Despite the critic's trash-talk to the contrary, the story is reasonably consistent, particularly for this type of slam-bang action sci-fi thriller. At the same time, the director (Michael Bay) is not so tied up in scientific accuracy that he forgets he's telling a story. The announcement of the asteroid's arrival is plausible, at the same time it's really just a good excuse to tear up New York City in exhuberant high style. The asteroid is portrayed as a dangerously ragged, shaking, shifting, alien terrain of steaming fissures capable of eruption at any moment. Not at all inconsistent with modern astronomy's view of asteroids, yet the geological features come together to form the asteroid into a conscious character of malicious intent.

It is an achievement that the human characters come through with some depth despite the strobing pace of the scenes. The head of NASA is quick, intellegent, perceptive, blunt and heroic. Bruce Willis as a massive, seasoned oil driller is positively extraordinary - his character is rough & tough and yet vulnerable, single-minded and stubborn yet capable of change, reprehensible but with sterling integrity, and Bruce is fully up to the task. He is a worthy pivot point for the film. Liv Tyler is a bit passive but serves as perfect counterpoint and provides heart for the story. In the end, you'll be surprised how much you care for all of them.

Armageddon is a summer movie, starring its special effects. In this film, though, the main star shares the stage gracefully with its human costars, and even with the plot. Miss this film and you've missed THE summer rocket-ride of 1998.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dave S. Jan 25, 2000

First of all, PLEASE DON"T LISTEN TO THE PROFESSIONAL REVIEWERS ON THIS ONE, including the critic on this web site.

The movie is very humerous, exciting, has its sad moments, and its happy moments. Pretty decent special effects. Better than Deep Impact and way better than Godzilla...probably the best movie this year.

Everyone I talked to thought it was great, a blockbuster. For a very ENTERTAINING evening, go to Armageddon.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jenna Gleason Jan 25, 2000

This movie was REALLY REALLY REALLY good! Anyone who has not seen it yet you should go right away!! For some people it is a real tear jerker and other a comedy it was both for me!

 

[--- Good ---]by Allie Jan 25, 2000

I liked this movie a lot. I cried my eyes out too. I thought All characters were played very well and looked the right age. They were very believeable.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Erik Carollo Jan 25, 2000

Jerry Bruckheimer, producer of "The Rock", "Con Air", "Top Gun" etc, his latest "Armageddon" is a very entertaining film. The movie begins with a scene showing a spaceship in outer space which gets blasted by a meteor shower, later on New York is badly damaged from another meteor shower. Which leads Billy Bob Thornton's character to contact a very popular oil driller(Willis) to convince him to go on a shuttle mission to land on an asteroid(The size of Texas), drill an 800ft hole and plant a nuke. Willis demands that his whole oil team go along. So, from then on, they train, go into outer space, and run into many problems. While not as refreshing as "Deep Impact"(probably because Deep Impact wuz released earlier) "Armageddon" is darker but doesn't follow standard disaster movie procedure. Buscemi provides the comic relief while the rest of the cast fares well. While not the best Bruckheimer film, but a good summer flick all around.

 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Antone Jenkins Jan 25, 2000

Movie had some good special effects; too many dead zones with nothing revelant happening.

 

[--- Good ---]by Shelly O Jan 25, 2000

This movie is very action packed however in my opinion dose not compare to Deep Impact. Had I seen this one first my opinion may be different. Bruce Willis does a wonderful job playing a single, hard core father who runs an oil rig out in the middle of the ocean. His daugter, who works for him is an adult and is in love with one of the workers. Bruce has a hard time with this. This movie is action packed yet a romance. :)

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Mikey R Jan 25, 2000

This summer has contained an uncharacteristic number of blockbuster hopefuls which have fallen on their faces due to 1) Low fun/entertainment value (X-Files, Deep Impact), or 2) Horrid acting (Gozilla, Deep Impact). This pattern left me disgruntled and wondering when a fun, roller coaster ride of an action movie would come along. I just saw the movie I was looking for in Armageddon (please excuse the typo, if applicable). THIS IS THE THRILL RIDE OF THE SUMMER. It is the movie Deep Impact wanted to be, a explosive mix of strong performances, edge-of-your-seat suspense, and great humor. Of course, we've come to expect as much from blockbuster producer Jerry Bruckheimer (maker of other great movies like Con Air and The Rock). You know the story already, but what is surprising is how much you will care for the characters. Among the most engaging of the cast members are, of course, Bruce Willis (who drew audience cheers upon his first appearence), Ben Affleck, and Billy Bob Thornton. However, Steve Buscemi steals the show by taking full advantage of the sharp and witty screenplay and delivers a masterpiece of comic acting. By the way, you may as well just hand over the Best Visual Effects Oscar- the FX put Deep Impact's tidal wave to shame. But look at me, I'm rambling on while you should be seeing this movie. Don't hesitate. Go tonight. GO NOW IF POSSIBLE. Ditch work and treat yourself to the most entertaining film since ID4!!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by John Jan 25, 2000

If you feel like leaving your problems behind (for a few hours, anyway) and being treated to pure entertainment, SEE ARMAGEDDON NOW! If you have been longing for a summer movie with a superb ensemble cast, SEE ARMAGEDDON NOW! If you thought Godzilla looked lame, were unimpressed by the Deep Impact tidal wave, and wanted to see truly breathtaking special effects, SEE ARMAGEDDON NOW! If none of the aformentioned statements apply to you, SEE ARMAGEDDON ANYWAY!

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Ryan Little Jan 25, 2000

This movie is one of the most unoriginal pieces of garbage I have ever seen. It's nothing you haven't seen before in "Deep Impact", in fact, Impact is the smarter of the two. At least in that movie the people of earth had a back-up plan instead of running under the house for cover. Stupidity keeps rearing its ugly head everywhere in this movie. For example: why are machine guns needed in space? why doestn't a bomb specialist know what wire to cut? why are helicopters in every scene? The only watchable part of Armageddon is when the roughneck crew is trained. Every other part is nausiating, literally. As soon as the crew reaches space it's problem after problem after problem, etc. until the very predictable end. Whatever others may say, do not, I repeat, do not see this movie.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Travis Else Jan 25, 2000

WOW! What an adreneline rush! The most action packed movie this year. This movie does what "Deep Impact" doesn't, have fun. The director (Michael Bay) is probably one of the best action directors of the 90's with his first box-office smash, "The Rock." The producer of "The Rock" (Jerry Bruckheimer) is also involved in this movie. These two guys are an explosive combination, willing to do any thing to make sure their movies are above and beyond all others.The first half of the movie goes in a flash; a meteor shower destroys New York in a very cool way, then we find out a giant meteor (the size of Texas) is headed our way. NASA hires a bunch of oil drillers to drill into the meteor and blow it up. So far, no signs of scientific accuracy, but who cares when you're having so much fun. This half is funny, exciting, and over all extremely entertaining, but the second half slows down a little.

The scenes in space aren't as entertaining as the scenes on land, but the movie stills passes. They land on a space station only to have it blow up in there faces moments later, this scene was not needed, the movie would have been just as good without it, but the writers wanted to cram as much action as they could into it. Michael Bay is a great director, but this is only his third major motion picture, and his first one that takes place in space, so this is a learning expirence for him still: lesson one, meteors don't have gravity, Mike. The scenes on the meteor are the least effective, but everyone tries hard to keep it going to the predictible, but still effective, ending.

I agree with Dave S. that professional reviewers don't like this movie for stupid reasons that nobody cares about, please don't listen to them. For a good, entertaining movie, this is your ticket folks. ***1/2 out of ****

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Valerie Terrell Jan 25, 2000

This movie blew me away! To the people who said the editing was too fast, I wonder what they thought of Godzilla? I personally thought the editing was beautiful, every scene sketched out quickly and completely, before moving on. I cared about these characters, every single one. I started crying about 30 minutes before the end of the movie, and was unable to read the ending credits, due to my glasses fogging up due to crying. This movie made me believe in God and mankind. Oh, and the asteroid, shuttles, NASA, etc. were COOL!! I've already read the emails saying that the science in this movie was completely unbelievable, but you know what? I'm not a rocket scientist, so I don't care! For me, it was on the edge of your seat excitement from beginning to end. Can anyone tell I really, really liked this movie? This is what blockbuster summer movies should be all about, action, adventure, heart. Run, do not walk to your nearest theatre to see this movie!!

 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Ryan Hagen Jan 25, 2000

Apolllo 13 it ain't.

I came to see Armageddon expecting a mindless movie. I was not dissapointed.

From the opening seconds you see that any relation to science has been thrown out the window. I sat with my jaw open as I saw Earth "65 million years ago", as the narrator told me, with the continents conveniently lined up in present day positions. I know it's picky, but it's one of the things I noticed... Even though this film violated every law of physics more times than I can count on my fingers and toes, the story stayed fairly intact. As has been said before, Deep Impact was the smarter of the two films, but don't let Armageddon pass you by.

Steve Buscemi is brilliant in this movie. Overall, the acting is good, and the dialogue is well written. Armageddon is funny, witty, and tear jerking. I wish there was a "Go see it at the budget cinema" rating, because renting Armageddon on video would make it unwatchable, you'd lose the cool special effects. Armageddon is definately not worth paying $6 to go see.

I would almost have rather gone and watched Disney make a mockery of 3,000 years of Chinese history, and culture in Mulan. Almost.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Doug Bertrand Jan 25, 2000

This movie rocked! I mean seriously rocked!! Right from the begining you get sucked into this wild roller coaster of action, comedy, and drama. The cool thing is that the love story aspect of it is so insignificant, that you just blow it off and keep on rolling with the rest of the story. The characters are a lot of fun to get involved with. I'm sure you'll recognize a lot of familiar faces from around Hollywood. The special effect are probably the best since the re-release of the Star Wars movies last year. Go see this... I really mean it. If you liked Deep Impact, You will freaking love this movie. It is seriously worth the seven bucks. And another recommendation- See it with digital sound, and see in a stadium seating theater. That is all from this spectrum of the world.

See ya at the movies

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Seymore Skagnetti Jan 25, 2000

ARMAGEDDON is the most entertaining movie since STAR WARS!* Forget what the critics wrote- they haven't the slightest idea how to have a good time at the movies. Everyone in the theatre LOVED the movie. Honestly, how many movies have audience members APPLAUDING DURING THE MOVIE?! If you're normal, you'll dig this flick!

* - Don't take this statement lightly! Consider some of the movies to come out since STAR WARS (i.e. INDEPENDENCE DAY, THE ROCK, MEN IN BLACK, TERMINATOR 2, TITANIC, TRUE LIES, ET, FORREST GUMP, JURASSIC PARK, BATMAN, APOLLO 13, TRUE LIES, BEVERLY HILLS COP, & The INDIANA JONES TRILOGY, just to name a few other crowd pleasers that aren't as enjoyable as ARMAGEDDON.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Trisha Jan 25, 2000

This is one of the best movies of the summer. Don't wait until it comes out on video to see it. You really need to see it on the big screen. Everything about this movie is great. The cast, the story, the music, the directing, it was all brilliantly done. You absolutely MUST see this movie! All of the cast gave thier best effort and it was very noticeable on the screen. Ben Affleck and Bruce Willis both looked mighty fine as they acted even better. Liv Tyler was amazing as always playing the daughter, Grace, of Harry Stamper (Willis). While she and A.J. (Affleck) were in love on the oil rig without Harry knowing so. Haryy gets along with A.J. but he definetly doesn't want them to be together. After finding them in bed together he goes a little crazy. And speaking of Crazy, Steve Buscemi who has so many times played a crazy man did so in this movie. He was crazy about women and just plain crazy in general. The rest of the people who were picked to save the world included and baby at heart muscle man, a big mamas boy with the tattoo to prove it, a man who left his son and wife but regretted it, a true cowboy at heart and so on. While A.J., Harry and the rest of the gang get sent into space to drill a hole in the asteroid and insert a bomb into it, Grace must stay on earth while watching the man she is in love with, and her father, on large TV's and coomunicating only by radio. You must see the movie to find out. Along with at great movie must come a great soundtrack and it is. With Liv's real life dad's, Aerosmith's "Don't Wanna Miss A Thing" on it, it has to be. Go and see this movie before it's too late.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Roland King Jan 25, 2000

What a disappointing mess this movie was, and that's a shame because, with a little more thought, a lot more script and a huge gob of common sense it could have been great.

Why didn't I like it? It started ok, then it was amusing and then, they got on the shuttle. Everything after that had lots of fast paced cuts and no actual suspense. The asteroid wasn't well done at all, looked like a load of people in a very rocky car lot. Then they added every single cliche they could think of and did most of them badly. Finally there was no thought given to the most basic continuity of the science, from guns in space to which way gravity ought to go on space stations and asteroids.

There was a good film in there trying to get out, but it wasn't trying very hard, and if it had emerged, someone would have hit it over the head with a cliche.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jason Whyte Jan 25, 2000

WOW! In a year where blockbuster movies have really gotten at yours truly, along comes "Armageddon", a rare surprise. The movie is WILD six ways from Wednesday, a spectacular entertainment that has striking visuals, kick-a** editing and a skilled direction. Make no mistake, I am a fan of Micheal Bay, who thrilled yours truly in 1996 with the action masterpiece "The Rock" (and satisfied by the 1995 Will Smith-Martin Lawrence actioner "Bad Boys"). What I couldn't possibly do as a director he does with energy to spare.

Sure, the movie is along the plot edges of "Deep Impact", but seriously folks, that is an entirely different movie. First things first, in "Impact", a comet is heading for earth. The government tries to put a bunch of people into a cave. There were "On Earth" subplots. The President of the United States was a primary character, whose emotions were shown on the screen.

OK, so I am not reviewing "Deep Impact" here, I already have, but Armageddon, which is a vastly superior movie to "Impact", has an asteroid that is heading for earth. Two space ships must be deployed into space, drill into the asteroid, and nuke it.

The film's principal character is Harry, played by Bruce Willis, as the world's best (or at least what they could find) oil driller. He is hired to lead the crew into space for the drilling mission. Instead of having all the nerdy, can't drill space team go up into the rock, Harry gets his own team.

The little conflict this movie has is Harry's relationship to A.J. (Ben Affleck), who is sleeping with Harry's daughter Grace (Liv Tyler). In the film's most unbelievable sequence, Harry catches A.J. and Grace together, which causes Harry to chase A.J. around the oil rig with a shotgun. Soon after that, A.J. is on the drilling team for space.

The whole movie is like that, just big, unbeliveably wild. Bay pulls no stops in this movie, thrills and hearty visuals just keep on coming. The most surprising element about "Armageddon" is the 'Heart Pounding Factor', which is the same heavy breathing feeling I got while watching films like "Speed" and "Breakdown": you're pushed down in your seat, gasping heavily at the events unfolding. It's a rare feeling you get, and with Armageddon it is there as well.

While "Deep Impact" had the wave, Armageddon also has one of the most amazing special effects shots ever put down on film, the shot where a chunk of the asteroid hits Paris and, in a super wide shot, we see the earth shooting up into the sky, a little bit at a time. I was reminded of the sheer horror of the wave in "The Abyss Special Edition", a wave that was standing a mile in the air.

I'm sad that critics did not get this film, that they did not get Bay's style. Sure, there are 7000 or so shots in this whole movie, but we are looking at the world through Bay's eyes. "Armageddon" is all in good fun, but yet it is even more than that. It's the kind of entertainment that should be made with a huge budget, not ones like "Godzilla". Now only if those chunks of rocks could hit that lizard.....

Grade: A

Tech Review

Picture: 5+ The picture ranks up there with "Alien 4" in terms of clairty, color, contrast and black level. You will not believe your eyes at every shot in this movie to see how much detail there is. Long live film.

Sound: 5+ The most powerful soundtrack of the year, full of powerful split surrounds, thunderous bass, a clear music score and crystal clear dialogue, which seems very natural, no ADR stuff.

Photography: 5 This is Bay's first Panavision film, after "The Rock" being shot at Super 35 and "Bad Boys" getting the lame-o 1.85:1 picture. The photography is excellent, every shot is filled or is very creative, I am frightened to see how the pan and scan version of the film will turn out.

Length: 151 minutes. Touchstone/Jerry Bruckheimer/Valhalia. jwhyte2@hotmail.com ICQ-4339199. Rated PG-13 for some violence.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by dick smukus Jan 25, 2000

Stay Away!

This movie is so bad, the reviewer regrets having had to pay to see it. Put this movie on when you want your guests to leave!

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Terence Higden Jan 25, 2000

Armageddon was a very good movie until the end. Characters were fun and likable action exciting special effects were believable. But in this kind of movie I don't want to cry I want to be thrilled and get excited and cheer but I and by the sound of it, others were crying at the end. So for the same basic reasons I will never watch Turner and Hooch(If you've seen it you'll know what I mean) I will not watch Armageddon again and unfortunately can not recommend it. I have been hearing that the box office is dwindling quickly and it's not because this is a so called "big dumb action movie"

 

[--- Good ---]by Gary Aranovich Jan 25, 2000

Decent movie, above average acting, keeps you on the edge. Nothing brilliant or extraordinary though. Go see it for a fun evening!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Gustaf Molin Jan 25, 2000

First of all: I loved it!

Every single year there must be at least 2 Blockbusters from the dreamfactory a.k.a Hollywood.And every single year Jerry Bruckheimer produces at least one of them (Con Air, The Rock, Crimson tide, Bad boys...)

This mega-hype-blockbuster is truly the greatest actionmovie of them all.

Bruce Willis does a great job and so does Ben Affleck, Will Patton, Steve Buscemi and Peter Stormare!

Did i mention that iīm Swedish? So is Peter Stormare and iīm proud, he is really great!

Armageddon is loud, lot's of action and about 100 one-liners from Steve Buscemi!

See it!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jackie Jan 25, 2000

I thought that Armageddon was a great movie. I enjoyed it very much. Don't ever think twice about seeing this one...you will be glad that you did. I know that most people say is was like Deep Impact, but really it had it's own story, and was action packed. It was a bit suspenceful towards the end, yes, I do admit that they could've gotten to the point quicker, but all in all, it was good. I also have to give credit to the Actors and Actresses, they did great! I have been waiting for a good movie like this one to come out. It's one for the whole family to enjoy.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Brad Kasbohm Jan 25, 2000

YES! Finally the huge action movie of the summer (and year) came out. I saw it and I loved it. I've liked every Jerry Bruckheimer produced movie I've seen (Con Air, Crimson Tide, The Rock), and Armageddon is no different. The story line is almost the same as the good, but not as good, film Deep Impact. There is an asteroid the size of Texas that is headed for Earth which will cause total annhilation. So after deciding to send up some guys to drill 800 feet deep and set a nuclear bomb inside to destroy it, the people at NASA send for expert oil driller Bruce Willis (Pulp Fiction, Die Hard movies). He agrees to go to space with his team of guys, which includes Ben Affleck (Good Will Hunting, Chasing Amy), Steve Buscemi (Con Air, Reservoir Dogs), and Will Patton (Spitfire Grill, Fled). The first half of the movie is introducing the plot and characters, which includes their training for outer-space. The second half has to do with them going to and being on the asteroid. There is a sub-plot that isn't as good as the main part, involving Bruce's daughter, played by Liv Tyler (Empire Records, That Thing You Do) and Ben Affleck getting together. The action is well-done and exciting. What this film did better than Deep Impact was getting you to care about the characters. Bruce Willis, who I have never disliked in a film, is great here. Billy Bob Thornton (Sling Blade, The Apostle) does an excellent job as NASA's top guy. Liv Tyler is great looking, but not given much to do. Ben Affleck gives a respectable action guy performance. Will Patton also isn't given much to do, but in a scene where he goes back home before the mission, the look on his face describes exactly what he's feeling. The always good Steve Buscemi is great here as the fun-loving guy. William Fichtner (Switch-Back, Contact), who gave two performances in Contact and Albino Alligator that I really enjoyed, is good as one of the actual astronauts. This is an awesome movie that I recommend seeing at once.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Karly Jan 25, 2000

I loved the movie Armageddon. I thought the special effects were awesome and the actors played their parts very well. It's an action movie, so I wasn't expecting to be crying at the end!! But overall, it was a very good movie. If I were you, I'd go and see it as soon as you can. I'm going to see it for the 3rd time!! I hope you enjoy the movie.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Bruno Sanmartino Jan 25, 2000

It seems that Jerry Bruckheimer keeps going from bad, to worse, to excruciating. "Top Gun" was okay, "Beverly Hills Cop" was mostly lame, "Crimson Tide" was bad, "The Rock" really sucked, and "Con Air" was an insult to filmaking.

ARMAGEDDON belongs on the AFI's bottom 100 list. Horrid acting, bad script, boring special effects round out this crappy movie.

 

[--- Good ---]by Dan Jan 25, 2000

This movie is a typical Jerry Bruckheimer -- filled with action, problems, action, some more problems, and more action. Along the same vein as "Con Air", the level that Bruckheimer takes the movie are above and beyond the average action films. Unfortunately, like "Con Air", the action can be a bit overwhelming for anybody but the most die-hard action lovers. See it on the big screen for the special effects, which are more than exceptional.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Shaun Jan 25, 2000

When it comes to films there are three type of people, one who likes movies that are all the way without a doubt highly logical (The Last Days Of Disco), and they will not accept the fact that a giant lizard can produce A sexually, then there are the people who like disaster movies, don't really care about the logic just show me the special effects (Independance Day), and there are people whom like both (very rare though).

I am one of those people whom enjoy both.

I liked Godzilla, Independance Day, Twister, and i sure as heck loved Armageddon. I love all Jerry Brockheimer films, all of them get you so involved in the movie so much that you want to jump in and join the action. Armageddon was on a much higher level, it strung out all emotions possible and had what Deep Impact didn't have, color, emotions, i could go on and on.

I'm also happy to see Bruce Willis back in a good movie again. So go see Armageddon it's an action packed thrill ride.

GRADE:A

 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by jacspac Jan 25, 2000

If you like cartoons, this movie is for you. An absolutely unbelievable bunch of redneck misfits led by the poor misunderstood Bruce Willis are simply going to leave the arduous task of running an oil derrick behind, slip into some overalls, jet off into outerspace, land on a rock, blow it up, and get back in time to see all the idiots lined up to see how easy it can be. This movie is rated NFTEM, meaning- not for the educated mind.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Rob Segrin Jan 25, 2000

"Armageddon" is your typical and forgettable summer movie but at that it is one heck of a summer movie. It has great humor, some drama and action. This is definately a movie to see in a theatre with a kick butt surround sound system, the only way to get the full jolt of this high energy action movie! The plot is simple, an astroid the size of Texas is hurling towards the Earth. Our only hope is for NASA to launch up a group of astronauts to blow up the asteriod from the inside, the only way to do this is to drill inside and plant a nuclear bomb. To do the drilling they call on Harry Stamper(Bruce Willis) who is the best driller there is, he's also found out his daughter(played by Liv Tyler) is sleeping with and dating AJ(Ben Affleck) Harry takes the mission and recruits the rest of his drillers, most notably Steve Buscemi as another one who provides a lot of humor. What follows is pretty damn funny as the drillers prepare for their trip to the asteriod by going through all the astronaut training. Then them, along with some astronauts launch into space and dock with a space station, which runs into a little bit of trouble(enough said) From there they blast off to the asteriod and crash land, from there on they attempt to drill through the asteriod and run into a lot of trouble trying to do so. My only complaints are the rapid fast cutting that happens mainly on the asteriod, its like one big 150 minute movie trailer. Another one is the movie runs at 2 and a half hours which seems a little long, I hear the movie was three hours before they did all that cutting. Another complaint is the fact that the movie starts off so light, and ends up so dark, as in the setting of the asteroid. However these complaints are minimal and this is definately a summer movie you won't want to miss.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Kelly Schneider Jan 25, 2000

i didn't like this movie. It was too loud and the acting was really bad. The music they played was also dumb. i guess they figured that if they had a lot of things blown up, people would like this movie. i also don't understand why people cryed during this movie. it was really boring and stupid.

 

[--- Good ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberJan 25, 2000

Eye Candy? Maybe. Brain Candy? Not a chance.

Everyone says, "leave your brain at the door, and just enjoy the ride". I attempted to do just that, and something just didn't click for me. There was plenty of suspense and action, but as a whole, I felt that the movie just didn't click.

Billed as the Summer 1998 blockbuster, this film brings together a huge number of stars.

Bruce Willis plays Harry Stamper, probably the worlds best deep sea oil drilling specialist. His daughter, Grace, is played by Liv Tyler.

Harry's oil drilling team is made up of Ben Affleck, Steve Buscemi, and a cast of others that seem thrown together just for the comedic element.

Billy Bob Thorton plays a NASA executive in charge of putting together a shuttle mission that will save the Earth.

Save the Earth from what? Haven't you heard? There is a rock, the size of the state of Texas, on a collision course with Earth! How do we know? Well the little signs, like fragments of this huge rock reaching Earth before-hand and destroying everything in it's path....like New York city.

So, the problem. There are 18 days left until all living beings on Earth are destroyed by the impact of this enormous rock.

Every conceivable solution to the problem of how to destroy the rock are explored and it is decided that the best course of action is to drill a hole 800 feet deep into the rock, drop a nuclear bomb in the hole, and blow it apart.

Harry Stamper designed some of the most sophisticated drilling equipment known to exist. The problem is that the engineers at NASA can't seem to get it right. So, they call in Harry for help.

The decision is quickly reached that if there is any chance at all of saving Earth, Harry and his crack team of oil drillers have to go up there and do it themselves.

The music is loud, the visuals are sometimes stunning (Paris sequence), and the characters aren't worth squat.

Overall I'd have to say that Deep Impact was a better movie. To get the full impact (no pun intended) of this movie, you should really see it in a theater equipped with, and showing it in SDDS (Sony Dynamic Digital Sound).

Copyright 1998 - Ron Higgins No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by maile cook Jan 25, 2000

An action packed movie from the start, and true to form Bruce Willis has done it again. belivable, and full of the true meaning of life, love, and loss. A must see! best seen the way movies where intended, on the big screen, at an outdoor.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Don Wozniak Jan 25, 2000

This is a great sci-fi movie. Lots of great special effects and I think it has a pretty good story to it. Bruce Willis is very good in this lead role. Maybe not up to "Die Hard" standards but well worth seeing. Steve Buscemi continues to sparkle in supporting roles. He does a great job again in Armageddon.

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Brian O'Grady Jan 25, 2000

Tooooo muuuccchhhh slooooowwwww moooootioooon ......

This is the first time I felt like I was watching a movie on fast forward... and then suddenly it stops to showseriousness by making everyone move in slow motion.

They didn't leave out one cliche... the red wire or blue wire scenario... the "I'm gonna punch out the other guy and finish this myself bit"... Why didn't they just pick a few plotlines and do them well.

The movie was OK up to the moon-slingshot and then I just got bored. Too many cut scenes to the girl pacing around the NASA HQ, too many frantic scenes on that fake looking asteroid and too many of those Coca-Cola ad-like scenes of people around the world.

Some of the one-liners made it somewhat bearable but it still left me feeling like someone had taken a dump inside my head.

-Brian

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Austin 3:16 Jan 25, 2000

OH HELL YEAH! This movie is almost as great as a six pack of Steveweisers! Bruce Willis is one tough SOB. See this movie 'cause Stone Cold said so!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Yvonne Fetherston Jan 25, 2000

This has got to be the best summer flick since ID4. I was almost never off the wild ride for more than a minute. The pace was fast, fun and out of control. In a nut shell, this movie beat the pants off Deep Impact. The acting was so much better, too( the one weak link is Liv Tyler, but she is still young and learning). I absolutly loved this movie about a rock the size of Texas hurtling towards Earth. A NASA team, led by the wonderful Billy Bob Thorton, come to one conclusion that putting a nuclear weapon deep inside the asteroid is the only answer. He asks the worlds best deep core driller(Bruce Willis) to aid in this venture. Along with his daughter(Liv Tyler), they choose 7 of the best workers(amongst them Steve Buscemi and Will Patton) to go. The process of trying to train these guys to interact with real astronauts and to prepare them for space in down right funny to the bone. This is Bruce Willis finest hour. He really has progressed to one of the finest actors to date. Ben Affleck(as the young love interest of Tyler and one of the best drillers on Willis team) is both funny and original. Steve out shines Ben though. You almost never stop laughing when he is on the screen. The same can be said of his fellow driller, played by near newcomer, Owen Wilson. He was not only funny, but charming in his gungho style. Other outstanding actors are Peter Stormare as a Russian cosmonaut, William Fichtner and Jessica Steen as NASA astronauts and Keith David as an Air Force commander. All I have to say is that director Michael Bay(The Rock and Bad Boyz) has really outdone himself. Trevor Rabins score chills you to the core. Run, dont walk, to see this movie now!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Emperess of Entertainment Jan 25, 2000

I am the type that rarely dislikes any movie, so saying that I liked Armageddon would be quite pointless, but I am also the type that never cries at movie, actually I never cry at anything, yet I was most definitly in tears during this one. With disaster, romance, comedy and suspence all rolled into one movie how could you go wrong. There is a little someting in it for everyone of every age. It crawls into your heart before you notice it and never leaves. I personally am not a big fan of Liv Tyler's, but I think she was great for the roll of Grace (Harry's daughter). Bruce Willis (Harry) was amazing as usual, Ben Affleck (A.J.) was as gorgeous as ever, and Steve Buscemi was the source of great comedy. All in all this is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time and I see around five movies a week (not all in the theater), so if you haven't gone to this movie yet I advise you to catch on the big screen.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jasmin Jan 25, 2000

Wonderful movie! If you are something of a "daddy's girl", this is a great movie to see with dad. Wonderful acting by the gorgeous Ben Affleck!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Terry Crouse Jan 25, 2000

This is the stupidest movie I would ever recommend!

Leave your brain at the door before you enter the theater, sit back, and enjoy all the expensive noise and special effects. Oh yeah, there was some acting going on too, but don't let that spoil anything.

The whole tone of this movie was so incredibly goofy, how could anyone actually believe for a second that there was even a CHANCE civilization could end, on such a light note? I would have loved to have seen it, though, and they could have done it "Dr. Strangelove" style, with Bruce Willis riding high atop the asteroid, arms outstretched, screaming "Yeeeehaaaw!!!" as he smashes into the Earth and pulverizes all living things! It would have been fitting.

All in all, this is quite an amazing 2-hour and something music video. It ought to win an Oscar for Best Entertainment, if only there were such a thing (and there really should be!).

 

[--- Good ---]by Linda Lee Jan 25, 2000

Our whole family went and we all really enjoyed it. Bruce Willis was great. I would recommend it.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Sugar & Spice Jan 25, 2000

Ben Affleck is so HOT!!! Seeing him in a astronaut suit is way sexy!! The movie is very cool. Ben works on an oil rig and is a total babe. He is also very sweet because he cries when he doesn't think he is coming home to his fiance. What a sweetheart!!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Ram Jan 25, 2000

I had to hold my nose through this film - what a stinker! I propose a class action to sue the makers of this film.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Lindsay Jan 25, 2000

This movie was the best I have ever seen in a long time! It was kick butt fun. GO out and see it right away

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kim Jan 25, 2000

The movie "Amarageddon" was extremely sad and action packed. You will be biting your nails you are so scared but wiping tears away at the same time. A definite must see!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Chris Jan 25, 2000

Armageddon is an excellent movie filmed by one of the top action movie producers of the 90's, Jerry Bruckheimer. He has made such movies as Con-Air, and The Rock and Bad Boys with the late Don Simpson. And this time he has teamed up again with The Rock's director, Michael Bay. If you watch The Rock and Armageddon back to back you would be able to see Bay's unique style of non-stop action camera movements. In Armageddon, Billy Bob Thornton and NASA have found an asteroid the size of Texas, (which completely wipes out Deep Impact's Manhattan-size comet), and has to find the best group of oil drillers to drill holes to put in nuclear explosives to break the asteroid in two. This group includes Bruse Willis (The Fifth Element), Ben Affleck (Good Will Hunting), Will Patton (The Postman), Owen Wilson (The Cable Guy), and Steve Buscemi (Fargo). Meanwhile Affleck has fallen for Willis's daughter, played by Liv Tyler (Empire Records). It is a great action film that is well over 2 1/2 hours, yet seems it is much less. I originally thought this would be a drab action movie with no real drama like Deep Impact had, but I was wrong. It was very powerful, especially towards the end, but has Buscemi keeping the laughs alive.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Chris Jan 25, 2000

Hi my name is Chris. I'm nine years old. I'm telling you about the movie Armageddon. It's an action-packed movie with sadness, and scariness and very good acting. It also is pretty funny. It's a movie you really need to see!!!

 

[--- Good ---]by Mark Welch Jan 25, 2000

The best of the recent "disaster" movies that was spawned by the unfortunate Twister, not that thatís saying much. The key is good casting: Bruce Willis is a great protagonist and feeds off of Ben Affleckís energy. Billy Bob Thronton is a great improvement on the Morgan Freeman type character from Deep Impact. Iíve been yawning at many of the FX in recent big budget mayhem movies (see Godzilla and Deep Impact) so it was great to see effects that really are special. Armageddon could use some tightening up (the 2:25 running time is long) and there are some cliched moments that could have been better accomplished. But itís still worth the first run bucks. That in itself is an accomplishment these days.

10-point scale rating: 6

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Angela :) Jan 25, 2000

This is the best movie I have seen all summer. I actually saw it 3 times! It is worth at least 4 stars out of 4. And for those of you who love Ben Affleck, well, words can even explain, if you know what I mean!! Go see it now, and then maybe again!! This is totally worth your $

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Richard LaFreniere Jan 25, 2000

Bruce Willis and Ben Affleck star in this "earth shattering" film *chuckles*. The story line is simple enough - a dangerous space object known as a meteor is on a direct collision course with Earth. Scientists at NASA refer to this as an Extinction Level Event which, sufficive to say, is not good. The meteor, upon impact will very effectively destroy all life rendering our home plannet as lifeless as mercury. The Director of NASA enlists the help of oil drillers Bruce Willis and Ben Affleck to take two space shuttles, land on it, plant a nuke, get off and blow it up. With brilliant special effects and acting by the entire cast, this movie delivers a "high impact" performance. a Definate to see on my list.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Amanda Jan 25, 2000

I went out and saw the movie four times! Talking about a good movie! The guys in the movie are totally goofy and they are really good actors. Nasa gets a bunch of oil riggers to fly up in space to try and save the planet. Who would actually think that the world would come to an end?!? All I know is, don't wait for the rental to come out, go see it now! And the video to the movie kicks BUTT!!:)

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Joe Jan 25, 2000

Best Movie I've Ever seen

 

[--- Good ---]by Emilio Tostado Jan 25, 2000

ARMAGEDDON PG-13 1998 My Rating: 7-10

During the repair of a satellite, a strange chunk of rocks sabotage the crew of the docked repair ship. Seconds later, pieces start to hit New York City by the dozens, destroying everything in it's path. NASA's director Truman (Billy Bob Thorton), finds the exact time the Earth had until the asteriod would hit and would very likely destroy it completly. He calls in the top oil driller Harry Stamper (Bruce Willis) and his gang to drill a hole in the asteroid, drop in a nuke, and let it destroy the rock.

This second thriller about an asteroid destined to hit earth film is the worst, but not by too much. This film was very fun-filled with non-stop action, a bunch of suspense, and some drama. But the bad part about that was that the dramatic scenes were somewhat fake, and Bruce Willis isn't the guy to add drama to his character. Deep Impact had some touchy moments, and ones that seemed more realistic than Armageddon's scenes. Armageddon did have a lot of humor. It not only attracted a large audience, but it didn't stick to being so cool and serious all the time. The other reason for me agreeing that Deep Impact was better was for the totally unrealistic approach Armageddon had. It was absolutly fake to not see an asteroid coming sooner than 18 days before it hits earth, and organizing a shuttle crew, getting them prepared, and creating the shuttle, and still have a day off for a rest is outrageous. Still, if you're looking for a slick, cool, action-packed mission to save the world with Bruce Willis,this movie will still satisfy you. It's the kind of movie that is for pure entertainment seekers, not knit-pickers.

Emilio Tostado

 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Chris Amundson Jan 25, 2000

Armageddon is basically a brainless summer movie with total action, but with little plot. I don't think it's horrible, it's somewhat entertaining. But it's not a good, clever movie filled with good dialogue and interesting characters and acting, it's just a fair, plotless one with standard movie cliches.

My rating: * * 1/2

 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberMay 21, 2003

Don't go for the science, go for the action. It delivers. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJul 2, 2003

Only months after "Deep Impact" from Dreamworks/Paramount Pictures, it's Disney's (Touchstone Pictures) turn with the film "Armageddon." Like "Deep Impact" it too covers the end of the worls when a large astroid is heading for earth. It's up to Bruce Willis and company to put nuclear bombs on the astroid to blow it up. The film's funny, but it also touching. I like both films, but "Armageddon" is a tiny bit better because I saw the film twice. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.