Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me
Austin Powers is back, and Dr. Evil has travelled back in time to steal Austin's mojo, leaving him shagless.

Starring Mike Myers, Heather Graham, Kristen Johnson...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Approach sequels with caution, for they rarely live up to the original. Then, when you get a rarity like The Spy Who Shagged Me (SWSM) you’ll be delightfully surprised. While it would be almost impossible for this film to have surpassed International Man of Mystery (IMOM), a film that was an original parody of a popular genre, SWSM is actually a faster paced movie. The jokes fly at lightning speed, and on the rare occasion one misses, you barely notice as there’s no time to dwell on it.

Interestingly enough, SWSM seems more caught up in the world that the Austin Powers movies have created, complete with potty humor galore, than the parody angle that founded the series. I would have liked to have seen more gadgets and spy in-jokes instead of more rehashes of routines made popular in IMOM. This is a minor beef, however, as whatever is happening throughout TSWSM is at worst funny and at best hilarious. I think Mike Myers has grown more fond of Dr. Evil as a character than Austin. It’s interesting to watch Evil get most of the funny bits and even more screen time than Powers. The new characters are a hoot (especially Mini-Me) and there are cameos that I won’t spoil. The bottom line is that this is a (very funny) summer comedy and a movie not to be taken seriously. Mike Myers knows this, breaking down the wall between movie and audience (just as he did in IMOM). As soon as we start thinking too much about the time travel plot, Basil Exposition tells Austin (and us, the audience) not to worry about it and just sit back and enjoy. Good advice. Use it and you’ll have a blast.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Far better than the original. From time to time it gets old, but then it immediately perks up again. A laugh a minute.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged me is by no means better than the original. With an awful performance by Heather Graham, The original provides a "fresher" script than the sequel. This movie is primarily aimed at the guys, (hence the three skimpy outfits that Graham wears) but however there are scenes that are pretty hilarious. I laughed so hard during three parts of the movie, but the rest was just lines rechurned from the original movie. There was a lot of the same scenes in this one that were in the original. ( the Mustafa incident comes to mind for me.) Mini-Me is a delight to the movie, adding more comedy to it.

The pluses of this movie are: a few good new scenes, new characters, and an O.K. storyline. The cons of this movie for me were the repeated lines from the original, the acting from Graham, and overall the similarity to the original. This is a good movie, but I don't think that this sequel is better than it's original.

My rating: ** (2) out of **** (4)

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you liked the first one you'll like this one. It is very funny but also gross at parts. One additional note, Stay to the end of the credits or you'll miss something.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
There are many scenes in Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me that are completely hilarious, scenes far funnier that anything from the original Austin Powers. But then there are some scenes that are kind of painful to watch, including any scene that the new character Fat Bastard is in. This movie would have been a great movie if they would have left out some of these scenes, or better yet, if they had left out the Fat Bastard character altogether. Still, this is one of the funnier movies I've seen in a while. It was much funnier than the original, although I can't really say if it was better than the original or not. Heather Graham, although unbelievably beautiful in her role, does some of the worst acting I've seen, well, probably since I saw The Mummy. But, overall, this was a very good movie with tons of laughs and I would recommend that you check this one out.

My rating: *** 1/2 out of *****

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This second installment of the "Austin Powers" series was very funny. The cameos are clever, the editing great, and the many characters that Mike Meyers play all work well. Clever, especially, is the banter between Dr. Evil and his adolescent son, Scott. Even maniacal world-conquerers have a teen-ager to answer to!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was better than the first which as most know is rare in a sequel. Some will say that they used the same gags and that it was old. In my opinion Meyers took what made the first movie a success and magnified it ten fold which worked very well. I was a little dissapointed in Heather Graham's performance. In a way the overacting and just plain bad acting fit into to the spoof but it got very annoying at times. Putting that aside the movie was great and I cannot wait for another one to come out. Here is a hint: do not leave during the credits no matter what kind of hints the ushers are giving you. You never know what you'll miss.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Wanna Laugh? Go see this movie, I enjoyed it more than the first one. With the exception of a few parts, the general theme and story line gripped my funny-bone and kept it going. Seeing this movie now rather than at home on video, scored extra points. I have seen it twice and still laugh!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The Spy Who Shagged Me" is probably a good movie for 13-17 year old boys who are into Jerry Springer. I went with my wife and 17-year old son. I found a few parts to laugh at, but the jokes really weren't that funny. I was surprised by the box office dollars for this movie. It's definitely a "wait for the video" if you really want to see it at all. My son thought it was funny (he also likes Jerry Springer). My wife thought it was obnoxious and a waste of money.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
While this movie had it's funny parts, I thought the original was a lot better. I think they really over did it with this movie. They tried too hard and some parts that could have been funny, they just kind of killed and made it more annoying then anything. I laughed a lot more during the first one then this one. The fact that it was on the big screen really added nothing and it definitely is not a movie to run out and go see. The only character that I really seemed to have liked was Dr. Evil's son. Had some of the better lines and just made me laugh more then any other character. Mini-me just got annoying and Austin himself didn't really do much for me. The only other character that made me laugh was Dr. Evil. Hell, they could base a movie around the whole "Evil" family and just drop Austin, and I think it would be a better film.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
well, what can i say, i watched it twice. the first time was sometimes so boring, austin isn't funny anymore. I think austin powers is a character that had all his possible scenes done in the first one, so the second movie was just a repeat. so if you go see it, really, just don't expect a lot from austin.

then why did i rate the movie good? it's because of dr. evil of course, he stole the movie i guess, he lit up the screen. everyone remembers dr.evil after seeing that movie, because he had scenes we never saw in the first one, the attention i guess was on him, he had a bigger crew than austin, i can't spoil the movie so i can't talk much about his funny parts but what's important is that i think you must focus your attention on dr.evil, he makes the movie funny and worth seeing.

heather graham is obviously there just to be cute, she doesn't quite meet what i liked about elisabeth hurley, heather graham was too horny i guess, and that took out the beauty of how austin is an idiot.

minime was an idiot i can say, i dont like him, i didn't like fat bastard either. i liked scott though, because he is funny, how to explain. At a point, dr.evil was even more sympathetic than austin, he had a sense of humor i can say in this one more than austin. go see it to have your own opinion but don't expect too much from austin.email me at akaspeak@hotmail.com for your comments.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Austin Powers, a great movie to take the children to. I would recommend this movie for anybody above the age of 10. Some sexual content is strong but only understood by a mature mind. This movie will be on my "to see twice" list. The midget added to the flicks humor as did Dr. Evil. This sequel has improved from the last by far.

My rating: ******* out of ****

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Just Another Sequel Re-Hash

Very disappointing movie.

1)The plot device to get Elizabeth Hurley out of the way to make room for Heather Graham makes Austin Powers look shallow and uncaring. The audience (and myself) rooted for the bad guys-- they seemed warmer and more caring than the heroes.

2)Dr. Evil is given more screen time, funnier jokes and more warmth. Austin Powers is more like a foil for Dr. Evil than a true character in his own right. Oh, well-- Dr. Evil was a funnier character anyway.

3) Product placement in the movie was blatant and annoying. America Online, Heineken and Volkswagen all obviously paid Austin Powers for endorsements. For God's sake, AP makes a point of showing his Heineken to the audience like some cheap beer commercial.

4) The "hook" of the story-- Austin losing his mojo-- is never developed to its potential. The way it is used is pointless and adds nothing to the movie.

I'd say catch this one on DVD, not even video. The outtakes on the DVD will probably be funnier than the movie.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A followup to the cult classic "Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery" was pretty much expected of New Line Cinema. We all knew this movie would be coming, we allknew that this movie would be completely off the wall, unlike the first film, whichjust seemed to be testing the waters (so THEY say, I find the film to be one ofthe best comedies of the 90's).

So how does the followup, groovily titled "The Spy Who Shagged Me", work two yearsafter the original? Pretty damn well, despite the fact it lacks the magic andthe audacity of the original. However, it does introdude the funniest characterin a movie so far this year, Fat Bastard. As well, this movie sure entertainsfor its 95 minutes.

Like the James Bond movies, its the same situation. The bad guy wants to hold the world ransom, and a certain spy must bring him down. This time, Dr. Evil (Mike Myers) wants to go back in time to 1969, steal Austin Powers' mojo (his reason for being the "GARRRR IN SWINGER BABY, YEAH!!!!") and hold the world ransom for an unbelieveable amount of money. One would wonder what would happen if Dr. Evil actually got his money, if he would build bigger buildings, buy a lot of stuff, or buy every single government. Also, how much would he give to Mini-Me, (Verne Troyer) his midget size counterpart?

Anyway, Austin (Myers again) follows in pursuit back in time to save the world AND his Mojo, and encounters a sexy female agent named Felicity Shagwell (played by the sexy HeatherGraham), who will no doubt fall for Austin. And so on.

I still don't think this movie is better than the first. The first was audacious because it showed what a 60's swinger, a photographer by day/crime fighter at night would act when thawed out in the 1990's; the beauty of the original shows what it is like to have a crazyman from the past live in the 90's world, here the movie puts Austin right back into the 60's, thus making it rather redundant. We don't want to see this man be a hero in his own time. We want to see him out of place.

Yet, this movie is favorably nuts. It constantly throws gags, one-liners, and crazy character antics at you. A lot of it is funny, especially the scenes where we watch a silouhette of what two people may or may not be doing in a camper, and a group of intercutting scenes of people discovering a giant "object" in the sky.

For me, the movie was the most successful because of Fat Bastard, a character played so perfectly by Mike Myers it deserves an Oscar. Fat Bastard is a 500 pound individual from Scotland who just seems to BE in the movie for comic relief, but as soon as he says something in that flawless Scot accent, its priceless. There is even a surprisingly effective "truth" scene with Fat Bastard. My dad and I agreed that we would pay to see Myers do this act on standup.

Rating: *** out of ****

Technical Review

Picture: 3.5 Is it just me, or do all New Line prints look all musky and smokey? They look nothing like they do on DVD. Whereas a New Line DVD would look vivid, colorful and clear, this print has rather washed out colors and lots of film grain.

Sound: 2.5 The DTS 5.1 soundtrack is mostly front channel stuff, with little split surround capability and low surrounds.

Photography: 3 Filmed in Super 35.

Length: 95 minutes. Rated PG-13 for some sick gags, language and cartoon violence. New Line Cinema. SDDS/DTS/Dolby Digital EX

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I loved the first movie only after seeing it numerous times. This one let me down when I left the theater. Unlike one of the previous critiques, I thought it was funny how they took Liz Hurley out of the film (although I wished she would have stayed in the movie: Heather Graham is hot, but Liz is hotter!) and then they basically told the audience not to worry about such plot devices! It was actually kind of comical!

I thought the scenes with Dr. Evil and his mute midget went pretty slow. Although I liked the character of Dr. Evil, I think we could have seen a lot more Austin.

Also, what WAS the deal with the mojo? There really was no point to it except to give Austin a reason to travel back to the 1960's (which seems like a really groovy decade I would have loved to grow up in, by the way).

All in all, it was a decent movie that I wouldn't have paid money to go see again. Wait for the rental. (Maybe I'll like this one after numerous viewings, also)

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'll just say it really whips the lava's a**!!!(it's lama's but I like lava's)

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
OK, for starters I am sick of all my friends runnin around sayin "Do I make you horny baby?!" And other various quotes from the latest Austin Power flick. Yet this surprised me because the movie is extremely funny. Theres chock full of fun in this sequel. New characters are Fat Bastard(Myers) and Mini me, Dr. Evils clone. Some of the scenes in this film are just so hilarious...and some don't work as well, but more often than not, they do.

Rated PG13- for language, and innuendo

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Ok, I was toying between Good and Wait For Rental. I chose wait for rental, because there are no major special FX to warrent it to be seen on the big screen. It'll be great for video, because it's literally ready for vhs conversion. Its a good movie, with some laughs, I only laughed really hard during one part, but the rest was chuckles. see it if its in a budget theater.

Aug 31, 2006
Not as funny or amusing as the first movie. Mike Myers tried his best, but plenty of gross-out jokes got in the why of a recommendition. Elizabeth Hurley's character dies and was replaced by Heather Graham. I admired Graham, but her performance didn't help much.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook