Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
BASEketball

Starring Trey Parker, Matt Stone, Ernest Borgnine...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Kind of stupid, but compared to other comedies out there idiotic comedies, Something About Mary excluded, it's worth seeing. Any movie that can get Robert Stack to swear is a good one by me.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is funny. The humor is not as in your face as "Airplane" but it does hit the mark a majority of the time. It is worth seeing in the theaters but it would be equally as good on video.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
An excellent comedy. Most people wouldn't like this movie, but the jokes are plentiful and funny. The language is as bad as one would think.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
An incredibly stupid, immature, and crude movie. Yet, I found myself exhausted from laughter. Since that is what I was expecting, I managed to actually enjoy it. There is no particular reason to see this in the movie theatre, except for maybe sharing the laughs with a crowd.

P.S. It was nice to see Milwaukee as the center of attention for once, even if it isn't flattering.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you're looking for a great 1-2 punch of horrible comedy and bad acting, try MAFIA! and BASEKETBALL. These two films are sure to wind up together as a double feature at your local cineplex anyway, so there's no point in seeing them individually. Actually, there's no point to seeing them anyway. However, if you live in a part of the country that is suffering from a massive heat wave, like Texas, and are totally bored, I guess you might as well go see either of these movies. Of course, you'll surely enjoy the air conditioned theatre more than the movie itself, but sometimes summer break boredom can drive a person to such lengths.

RATING: (For both movies) *1/2 out of (*****)

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie was better than Mafia!, but not as good as something about Mary. If you have already seen Mary, I would recommended this is the next movie you see.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
'BASEketball' was boring at parts, but made up for it with the jokes. I expected a lot more from one of the makers of 'The Naked Gun'. 'BASEketball' is totally inferior to 'The Naked Gun', 'The Naked Gun 2 1/2', and 'The Naked Gun 33 1/3'. But, 'BASEketball is a very funny and mostly entertaining movie. Trey Parker and Matt Stone (The creaters of South Park, my 2nd favorite show) are good actors, but they should choose better movies to star in. Try to see 'BASEketball' on the big screen. If you can't, renting it wouldn't hurt.

Grade: B-

Stars out of four: **1/2

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
We like Naked gun. We were waiting for director David Zucker's new movie. But this stupid comedy makes us feel very sad. Wake up! David! (Two thumbs down!!!)

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Dude! If thereís to be a trend this year (which there is) of disgusting, no class, politically incorrect, gross-out humor movies, at least we should be thankful that theyíre this funny. South Parkís Matt Parker and Trey Stone are as wacky on screen as their animated creations, and their first feature film doesnít disappoint. There's actually a surprising amount of substance here: A biting criticism of some of the absurdities of professional sports, and an intriguingly original game (I suspect bored kids at the end of their summer vacation saw this movie and are actually PLAYING BASEketball, possibly even as you read this sentence. Now THAT's funny.). The laughs come fast and furious, and on the rare occasion that they attempt to milk a gag for more than itís worth, Iím satisfied to turn my head and forgive them. Humor, something I studied in depth in college, is difficult to pull off. BASEketball is a stupid, silly movie. But thatís what it sets out to be. And it doesn't hurt that Parker and Stone have a flare for the hilarious as well.

10-point scale rating: 8

May 20, 2003
"BASEketball" was viewed by me as I attended the Media Workshop in Los Angeles. It was one of the worst movies of the year. Trent Parker and Matt Stone played losers who invented the game which combined baseball and basketball. The object the game is have someone insult you while you put the ball in the basket. Thei film is ugly and mostly its unfunny.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for BASEketball.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook