Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Babe: Pig in the City
A sequel to the highly successful film about Babe, the talking pig. This time, he's off to the city to help the Hoggett's keep their farm.

Starring James Cromwell, Magda Szubanski, Mary Stein...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Whoa!!! What happened to reality??? The first movie had animals talking to each other. I know, I know, a little far from reality, but the second one might as well have take place in another universe. They kept the cute little pig, but moved the setting from the peaceful farm to a surrealistic city, filled with bizarre characters and unhappy animals. Lost is the cuteness that Babe had in the first movie while he "discovered" life and learned to fit in to the farm "society". The strangeness of the city is a bit like a scene from a batman movie. The thugs are the other animals and they have nothing to add to the scene. Only Ferdinand the Duck is his whiney self, along with Babe, who wanders around for 75 minutes, looking for a plot. Babe is trying to save the farm, but has no idea how to do that. I wish he would have tried to save the movie. He wanders around and encounters bad animals or pitiful animals (hungry). The scenes are streached out too long (considering that they had no substance to start with). Enough already....Don't see it.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Babe Pig in the city was a very bad movie for kids. It would be violent for young ones. It is more on the dark side. My little brother who is 5 cried because he was scared. In the movie there are brutial sceens, nearly drowing, almost dead, little animal getting shocked, person dead, dog being draged behind a car, dog having cancer, crippled, animal-knapping. I would encourage people to stay away from this movie, I know I would.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Eight of us went to see Babe:Pig in the City, 4 adults and 4 children (ages 5-9) It did not hold their interest. The adults found nothing uplifting. The cruelity is too much. The way the city is depicted is ridiculous. The first Babe was so good and they could have made another of its caliber but they sure didn't.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Frankly, you will not see a better family film all year. In fact, if you don't have kids, you will enjoy this film just as much as if you did. This is exactly what family films should be. Both Siskel and Ebert consider it to be one of 1998's best films, and I agree. Many people criticize the film's dark tone, and while it does have one, it's not overwhelming. Successful sequels tend to be darker anyway (Empire Strikes Back, Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, etc.). I am just angry that audiences are skipping this hilarious film to see that horribly unfunny Adam Sandler film, The Waterboy. What's this world coming to? See Babe: Pig in the City. See it now. I promise you... you will not be disappointed!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
We just returned from a birthday party that included a rare visit to the movie theater. I was very excited to be taking the three families to see Babe, as we do not rush out to see every children's movie. There were some very funny scenes, but these were usually reminiscent of the first movie, i.e. most scenes with Ferdinand the duck. However, it was much too violent and lacked a plot. When Mrs. Hoggett goes to the beach looking for the misplaced Pig, she encounters a purse snatching, earing-clad, tattoed motorcycle gang, as well as numerous hardly dressed girls. The farm is in jeopardy, but even the means discovered to produce income at the end is sleazy. Farmer Hoggett is absent from practically the entire movie, though Mrs. Hoggett is fun to watch and a character who garners sympathy and respect. The family of monkeys is enjoyable, and the chorus of cats provided some laughs, but Mickey Rooney, albeit accidentally, setting fire to the children's hospital was not humorous. This is only one scene out of many that continued to deflate the moments-before good feeling. The first Babe was not all happy either, but the context was different, not abberational. Our four year old was frightened and we were dissapointed by the majority of the movie. It could have been so much better. The ads in the paper say this movie is rated G, but the theater had it as PG, which I would say is more appropriate.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
PLEASE TAKE A LOOK AT THIS REVIEW!!! THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN!

I really hate those people who couldn't look underneath the surface of this GREAT movie. Surely it was dark, some "little" kids would cry during this movie, but can't you people see the meaning and messages of this GREAT movie??? I argee this is not a good "FAMILY FILM", G is a very bad rating, but there is nothing wrong with this GREAT movie! When I heard that George Miller was making a sequel of Babe, I thought it's gonna be bad because the first one was so good, then I read the reviews of Mr. Showbiz and this web site. People said it's dark and bad. I'm very angry that some people don't even understand the movie and just keep saying it's bad.

When I saw this GREAT movie I was shocked, director use dark and cruel ways to describe the story and showed us how cruel the world and some people are, but there are still some warm events happened between one person(or animal)and another.The movie was getting brighter and warmer. AFTER DARK, THE LIGHTS WILL BE THERE!!! NO MATTER HOW HOPELESS, THERE WILL BE A HAND! At the end, the farmer turned on the water machine. At first, some dirty water came out, but after the dirty water, the clean water came out and go on and on. It just told us the message of this GREAT movie-No matter how dark your life is, there will still be a hope. TWO BIGGEST THUMBS OF THE DECADE UP! I HOPE IT COULD NOMINATE AND WIN THE BEST PICTURE OF ACADEMY AWARD. IT'S A GREAT MOVIE!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A lot of people don't like this movie because they took their children to see it and they were scared or they expected to see another Babe part 1. My point is-What is that suppose to do with this movie??? It's dark doesn't mean it's bad, in fact, it's awesome! A pure pig met cruel people and animals in the city, but his manner changed everthing. This movie seems dark but the message is bright, kids cried because they are young and pure, parents should talk to them about this movie. Don't miss this movie just because it seems so dark, besides, a lot of great movies are dark. Don't think it's bad just because a "family film" seems dark.
ROGER EBERT:**** OUT OF ****. GENE SISKEL:**** OUT OF ****. E.S:****** out of ****. Open your mind and watch this movie! I would recommend this movie to everybody!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Okay, so George Miller co-wrote the wonderful 1996 Academy Award nominee for Best Picture of 1995, "Babe". But could he write AND direct a sequel (without the aid of Chris Noonan)? Thereís also the additional problem of finding a replacement voice for his protagonist (Christine Cavanaugh apparently demanded more money, believing herself to be irreplaceable). The answer is a resounding "YES!" on all counts. "Pig in the City" is almost as good as its predecessor, and on some levels surpasses it. The visual image is breathtaking, especially the cityscape and the gothic feel to "The City." The story is completely engrossing; Babe doesnít have much time to take a breath. And all the new friends he meets are captivating, my favorites being the dogs: Pitbull and Flealick are gems. Ferdinand the Duck, dogs Fly and Rex, and Farmer Hoggett return but take a backseat to Babeís urban antics. Please donít buy the occasional criticism you will hear about PITC on the grounds that it is "dark." Hogwash, I say (pardon the pun)! PITC has something to say and it says it well. It will grab you like few other films care to try and under the guise of a "kids" movie this is special indeed.

10-point scale rating: 8

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is definitely the most underrated movie of the year.

I loved every single aspect of it. The astonishing visual detail left me amazed at how they pulled it off so seamlessly. I was extremely impressed by the first Babe movie, but this one is on a much larger scale with a delightful increase in animal characters, and the animal characters are very, VERY convincing.

Technically, I would say the complexity involved in its production would have to rank right up there with Titanic, although artistically this movie is far more creative. I enjoyed the pig at his innocent best, and Ferdinand the duck is hilarious -- especially during the sequence when he's chasing the plane. But the neatest character I've seen lately has to be the little doggy on wheels. Whoever thought that one up deserves a medal!

Most of my friends, family, and associates laughed at me when I told them I went to see this movie, and did not believe me when I said it was one of the better movies I've seen. It's definitely not your average "kiddie" flick, and anyone with a taste for truly off-the-wall cinema will appreciate the great lengths the producers went to on their behalf.

I thought it was appropriate that the teaser-trailer for Star Wars Episode preceded the showing I attended. It sure set the appropriate mood, as it is precisely such flims that have set the current standard for movie magic. I must say, though, that the makers of Titanic may as well enjoy their moment in history as the top money-producer of all time -- because it sure won't be after the end of next summer, once the next Star Wars movie makes its record run!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
What a great Horror movie for younger kids to see. Kids will get scare and wet their pants. This movie got no killing and blood/gore, all the stuff you parents don't want your little kids to see are not in this movie. This movie will not scare any grow up person. If you want to get scare watch the movie 'Scream'. This movie is a kid horror movie, not a adult or a teenage horror film okay.

The most scariest Horror movie (For kids) you will ever seen!

Rating: ****

Jul 28, 2002
"Babe: Pig in the City" is just as brilliant as the original 1995 film. This is the story of a talking pig named Babe who saved the family farm. In the second film, he goes to the city and befriends the animals as well as save the family farm again.

Both kids and adults will love this film.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Babe: Pig in the City.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook