Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Beach
A young American backpacker travelling through Thailand meets a French couple who together find out about a secluded island, a paradise on earth: the perfect beach, unsullied by tourists. But a...  View more >

Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Virginie Ledoyen, Guillaume Canet

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Feb 13, 2000
Definitely the worst movie I've seen this year. A cross between Appocolypse Now, Lord of the Flies and Gilligan's Island, "The Beach" even made the popcorn taste stale.
[--- Good ---]by  
Feb 14, 2000
Im so disappointed. The title and info they give for this movie is so wrong.
This is NO paradise adventure.

Its mostly violent and extremely bloody and hope young teens do not see this movie. It shows easy suicide, alot of gory bloody violence.

Not worth seeing young hunk Leo at all. I would change the title of this movie to "Bloody Beach". Save your money and time.
[--- Good ---]by  
Feb 21, 2000
If your a dicapio fan its a must. all though I didnt like the doping in the movie the rest was entertaining. The scenes were breath taking and the drama will make your heart beat a little bit faster than ever before.

love,adventure,hate,trust,betraile,and a little bit of crazy is all you need to think about this movie. what are you afraid of wouldnt you like to get away?
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Feb 26, 2000
If you didn't like it, it is because you didn't understand it. The scenery is gorgeous and the whole concept is very thought-provoking. Leonardo DiCaprio was totally amazing - if you want to see a great actor - go see him in The Beach.
[--- Good ---]by  
Feb 28, 2000
I found this movie not only interesting and intriging, but also hot and sexy.

Leonardo DiCaprio played the part of Richard, a man in search of paradise,
to near perfection. He steamed up the big screen with two love scenes as well as his new-found muscular body.

I must admit though, it takes a certain type of person to appreciate a movie like this. It definitely makes you think. "Is there such a thing as paradise?" "Are the insane people the ones who are really insane or is it just that we are so insane that we think that we are sane and they are insane when in fact, it's reversed?"

Just, see this movie, k?
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Mar 1, 2000
It seems to me that the creation of a utopian society would have to be the result of a need rather than an offhand idea. Something would have to drive a person to create a world where their own ideals could take front and center - some anger, some passion... something either physically or emotionally tangible would have to lead the way. The main problem I had with "The Beach" is that I never felt for a second that any of the inhabitants of this mystical island paradise have fought, suffered, sacrificed, or given up anything to create this world for themselves. I sensed that if these characters hadn't found this secluded island resort, they would be back in their own respective countries, out of work, living a Kato Kaelen-ish existence. Basically, there is no passion here. Only in a movie this lazy does a curious traveler trek literally across the globe to reach a secret island paradise, then plop down on a hammock and play a Nintendo Gameboy upon arrival.

The movie stars Leonardo DiCaprio as Richard, an apparently disillusioned youth (it's hard to tell because his background is kept a secret throughout the film) who, as the story opens, is walking the streets of Bangkok in search for something different. While attempting to get some sleep in a fleabag hotel, he encounters a goofy drifter named Daffy (Robert Carlyle) who tells him about this secret island paradise. He even gives him a map. Accompanied by two friends he recently met (Virginie Ledoyen and Guillaume Canet), Richard sets out for what he hopes will be a heavenly paradise unlike anything he has known before.

The "beach" is headed by a woman named Sal (Tilda Swinton), who explains to the travelers that the paradise only consists of half the island - the other half belonging to a drug lord. She tells them about the land agreement they struck long ago... the paradise may continue to exist, as long as no newcomers arrive on the island. (It is a threat the inhabitants apparently don't take seriously, because in the very same scene they welcome Richard and his friends with open arms.) They soon discover that a perfect society may not be all it's cracked up to be.

One of the fundamental concepts in screenwriting is a "back story." It refers to what events may have taken place before the start of the story being told. It's a technique used to help define the characters, define their current situation, and define their plight. "The Beach" is a movie without a back story. It is painfully clear that no thought whatsoever was given to who these people were, the real reason they relocated to an area cut off from the outside world, and why they ultimately do some of the things they do. I think the film wants to be like "Lord of the Flies" but doesn't succeed. Whereas "Flies" showed the line between having to survive and having to be aware of one's actions slowly disintegrate, the characters in "The Beach" are brain-dead idiots. When they ship one of their friends (having recently fallen victim to a shark attack) to the other side of the island so as not to hear his cries for help, it isn't developed enough to really be scary - it's just shows the islanders as being callous and stupid.

Director Danny Boyle is a gifted visual artist, but a good visual style must be at the service of a decent story. With regards to full-length feature films, a good visual style can't exist in a vacuum. His visual artistry here is similar to "Apocalypse Now", which serves only as a reminder of how much better a film that was. If Boyle and his collaborators really knew what statement they wanted to make, I really believe they could create something absolutely spectacular... they're that talented. Yet they seem more interested in creating cinematic window dressing. Only "Trainspotting" housed a decent storyline which his brilliant visual style could accent. Boyle and his crew did their very best to make the movie look good, but that's just not enough here. Make sense first - then go ahead and make it look any way you want.
[--- Good ---]by  
Mar 4, 2000
A dazzling and spectacular experience! The beautiful cinematography, and the fast pace storyline make this movie an all-around success.

As our society ever strives to overcome all types of suffering, inconvenience, and impatience, this movie reminds us that even if we eliminate many of the "outward" problems with society, inner corruption still exists. The members of the Beach have escaped many of the trials and tribulations of everyday life and replaced them with pleasure (i.e. sex and drugs), however, this fact remains: mankind can not rid itself of anger, passion, and pain.

Even thought the main character's transition from a happy-go-lucky, Nintendo playing, tourist to a crazy ramboesque assassin seems forced; this movie is definitely worth seeing! Don't listen to the mainstream movie critics; This movie is definitely worth seeing in a theater. The scenery is spell-binding.
Jun 15, 2003
an adult version of "The Lord of the Flies," "the Beach" stars Leonardo DeCapiro as a traveler who takes up an offer to visit a Island which is off limits to the outside world. A drama about a pleasure island which turns out to be anything but.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Beach.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook