The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, October 29th, 1999

Directed by Spike Jonze
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:52

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Being John Malkovich
Academy Award® Nominee
What would you do if you suddenly found yourself able to control the actions of John Malkovich? Street puppeteer John Cusack gets that chance when he finds a mysterious door that leads into the...  View more >

R
profanity, sexual situations

Starring John Cusack, Cameron Diaz, Catherine Keener...  View more >

Oscar® Nominated for Best Director (Spike Jonze), Best Supporting Actress (Catherine Keener), and Original Screenplay.
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  6 60 See Now! Percent
Good  0 0 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  4 40 Stay Away! Percent
10 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Cusack was good, but Diaz was almost unnoticable. This was a concept movie that did not sell me on the concept. Some subplots connected, but the main plot was a huge miss.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
What an extremely unusual story premise. It was refreshing to see this type of quirky film get screen time at "mainstream" movie houses instead of only being available at the "art houses". The cast is great and Malkovich looks like he had a great time making some of the scenes. This film may not be for everyone but if you enjoy odd little films, give this one a try.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Please go NOW and see this movie. A one-of-a kind masterpiece...do not wait for it to be on video! I have been 14 times: its so full of information, surprises and fun. Hurry!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This was the second worst movie I've seen this year. The first was Blair Witch.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I really enjoy movies that take me where other movies have not gone, and this movie more than fits the bill. It was an exhilerating experience that is seldom found at the movies. I laughed so hard I thought I was John Malkovich for a moment. If you want a new experience, try being John Malkovich for a couple of hours.

Performances by all were right on target. I really enjoyed Cameron Diaz and her performance in a part I thought I would never see her in, you sold me, good acting. Cuzack was also right on with his character, I got into his skin and I thank him for the trip. Keener, you kill me but I want you to bear my children. Malkovich, is the consummate actor and it shows.

A must see, and have fun!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
"Being John Malkovich" is a chaotic mess. It's also a coherent, logical progression of events, which may be discovered upon reflection. Yet it's illogical and surreal. There is no way to guess *what* will happen next, but you'll never be disappointed *when* it happens. Just sit back and hang on for the ride through the portal to Malkovich's mind. Cusack is good, as is Diaz, but John Malkovich and Catherine Keener (Maxine) were the (my) stars.

If you liked "Brazil", you'll love BJM. If you've been left slack-jawed and befuddled by "Eraserhead", you'll depart thinking you understood, but.??....., and checkout the video, when it's released, to "run it by just one more time (or two)".

BJM is truly a "must see" treat. I saw Green Mile 2 days before BJM. Never gave it another thought after getting home. Saw BJM last night; can't let go of it. The seemingly random, often hilarious and bizarre scenes keep running around in my head. I'll be there, in line, when the video is released for rental!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Feb 14, 2000
I felt soiled after leaving this movie. I wanted to walk out but I kept waiting for the plot to redeem itself. It never happened. People will say this is artistic and/or fun. I call it a vulgar mess.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Apr 21, 2000
The movie began with some humor and creativity, but declined into confusion and some very unsavory situations. By the end of the film, I was disgusted with the mixed-up issues of sexuality. In fact, I couldn't wait for the film to be over.


Maybe there was some psychological statement to be made, but the people were self-centered misfits. Also, I was suprised when it was mentioned as a great film, even up for some Academy Awards.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJun 26, 2002
A turly funny and original film that makes you both laugh and think. The film is about John Malkovich, but not in the way you expected. John Cusack plays a puppeteer who after a puppet ended with a fat lip. he takes a job in the office where he noticed a small door in the corner of the office. That doorway leads to the head of John Malkovich who is being control by people who occuppied his head for a short time.

Castherine Keener who played the his love intrest who is also the love intrest of Cameron Diaz who experienced her relationship with another woman while being inside John's head.

There are a lot opf twist and turns, but the writing is strong, the acting is first-rate, and best of all is John Malkovich himself who plays himself with perfect comic timing. My favorite line came from John himself when he said,"They're all in my head!" there are many comedies out there, but few are as original or daring or different as a turly original classic. It's a stand out among comic films. Can I say that again? The film is "Being John Malkovich."
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Being John Malkovich.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.