Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Blair Witch Project
In October of 1994, three student filmmakers disappeared in the woods near Burkittsville, Maryland while shooting a documentary on the legend of the Blair witch. A year later their footage was found.

Starring Heather Donahue, Michael Williams, Joshua Leonard...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is possibly one of the oddest I have seen in a long while. The movie seems to drag throughout the first half, however it really ends up effective in the end as a device to develop the character dynamic.

I finished watching this movie, stood up, went outside and had a cigarrete, and still could not believe what I had just seen. The Blair Witch Project is full of disturbing imagry, and will definitely have you on the edge of your seat through the 2nd half.

If you are looking for a horror movie, blood, gore, etc... Don't bother with The Blair Witch Project, however if you want to see a movie which will make you say a Keanu Reeves, 'Whoa...' after the credits this is the movie for you.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A unieque scare! One of the best Horrors of the summer. A must see! It will scare the hell out of you! Can you handle the scare?

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
To scare you in a way that you have never been scared before....

Hey everyone... last night I had the priveldge of watching this movie at midnight, and I can not get it out of my head this morning... This is one of the greatest films that has ever been created, and if you are even the slightest horror film fan, than this is obviously a must see.

What made this film great for me was the fact that I did not know too much about it walking in, I just knew the basics. These three College Filmmakers go out to these haunted woods to film a project entitled, "The Blair Witch..." This "documentary" would tells of an urban legend that has plagued a small community in Maryland for over 200 years.

We are introduced to these ambitious filmmakers as average ordinary kids looking to get a job done, and get the hell outta' there A.S.A.P.... They begin by interviewing locals of the community upon arriving there, and the "camp-fire" ghost stories begin to fill their heads, and ours.... And in reality that is the scariest thing in the world, our own imagination...

What the directors have done with this film is stimulate primitive feelings of pure fear wihtinthe audiences mind that we find ourselves drawn into the films mythology, and want so bad to believethat this is "just a movie"....

It has been years since I have seen a movie so original, and provacative that the entire crowdwitnessing this masterpiece can be heard weeping, and shuddering with fear in the final 15 minutes of the film, which are probably the scariest feelings ever caught on tape.

This is a must-see folks, but this is definitely not for the weak of heart. Whatever you do, do not let anyone spoil this film for you, do not read any of the published reviews, or watch any programs about this film untill you have seen it. Then come home and catch up on what thewebsite blairwitch.com has to tell you in regardsto the back story & aftermath, and you will definitely want to see this film many times over to fully absord its sheer power.

Hope this review helps.....
- The Godfather...

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is vastly different than any horror flick that I've seen. No scary music or bloody special effects. But genuinely scary.

The acting in this film is some of the best I've ever seen. Its very realistic, which is how the movie presents itself. The camerawork is intentionally bad, to make the movie appear like a home movie. Its a documentary-in-progress that the three teens are filming when things begin to go awry.

I found myself dreading nightfall in the film because inevitably thats when things go bad for the teens. Slowly the bond that held them together is pulled apart by the fear that they find while in the deep thicket of forest.

The movie builds momentum as it goes, and ends at the pinnacle of the horror. The final night is absolutely a terrifying thing to watch. I would recommend it while it's at the theater.

However, if you rent this when it comes out on video......
wait till well after dark.....
turn off all the lights in the house.....
and watch this, you'll most likely receive a genuine scare just the same.

**** out of *****.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Wow, this was one of the few movies that I ever talked about for an hour after the movie was over. This has to be one of the scariest movies I have ever ever seen. The movie begins slowly, and then about 15 minutes into the movie I was so alert. My heart was pounding so hard. At times I felt the fear, fright, and horror the three in the movie were feeling. You have to see the movie to appreciate what I mean, but imagine seeing a movie that was absolutely real. There is no way the three in the movie were acting, this was 100% true. The night scenes in this movie were so frighting that I was beginning to lose my mind. At times my stomach was getting cramps. I was truely frightened, and sick to my stomach. See the movie, and do not go alone!! Jeff Brand, Andy Brand, Kayla Schultz

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I was very excited to see this movie, and very disappointed after I had seen it. I happened to have seen the one hour special about it on the sci-fi channel and thought it was going to be an intense experience. However, the film made me feel ill. The shots we almost all shaky and really gave me motion sickness. As far as the plot goes, it was inconsistent with the sci-fi special preview and left a lot to be desired. I would offer this advice, if you saw the special on the sci-fi channel, be satisfied with that it was much better than the film itself. If you still think that you should see the film, wait for the rental so you can save a couple of bucks and so that you can pause the film when it begins to make you sick to your stomach from all the bad shaky shots.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I didn't know what to except of this movie. The whole movie is video taped by one of the main characters in the movie. Its similar to watching a home movie. I thought I was going to hate it when it started out this way but it the way they filmed it that made it extremely frightening. It made it seem like you were really there and it was happening to you. The acting done by the three actors was amazing, it was as though they didn't even have a script. This is a exellent movie and it makes the disappointing haunting look like a childs movie. See it now!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was the WORST movie I have ever seen. Not only was it bad, but I could not even watch the movie continously because of the "shakiness" of the cameras. I haven't had this much fun since the last time I got car-sick, or motion sickniss when flying through a storm in a small airplane. My girlfriend got so ill that she left the movie and was sick for over an hour afterwards. I wouldn't see this movie again if I were PAID. Yeah, it's a different kind of movie, and yeah, the artsy-fartsy crowd will give it good reviews just for the sake of breaking "new-ground", but it still doesn't make the movie any more watchable. On a scale of 1-4 stars, if possible, I would give it a NEGATIVE rating of -1 star. Avoid this one like the plague. Yuk!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I first heard about this movie over 4 months ago while trying to make my study hall interesting. Ever since, I've been eagerly anticipating this movie. Following the website, while reading just about anything I could on the movie. When the movie opened for limited release, me and 2 other friends made no hesitation driving down to Chicago to see it. I saw it July 16th and just last nite at the Downer Theater. After seeing it twice, I must say, I'm still scared and am still wearly about ever camping in the woods ever again. This movie does seem to drag slightly during the beginning of the film, but it almost seems necessary to illustrate the making of this whole documentary and how things started turning bad. However, if you do want to see a gorefest do not see this movie. If you want to see a movie that will mess with your mind, scare the hell out of you, and make you wonder way after the movie is finished, see this. I've seen lots of horror movies in my time, nothing that could mess with you as much as the Blair Witch Project did with me. Go see it today, plan a night showing, and don't go camping directly afterwards.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Firstly i went in to this movie after having listened to the hype for a couple of weeks so maybe my expectations were to high but still... Weve all heard that this was meant to be one of the scariest movies around but with very little gore, so i was expecting just that an edge of the seat chiller the kinda movie where what you DONT see is the scariest part....i didnt!!

To me it came over as a WAY overstated low budget 'B' movie that had no place costing me 7 Bucks!!

If you looking for a movie thats different and a little unusual the by all means catch this one on video but DONT pay big bucks to see it!

If youre looking for a really scary movie then look else where this isnt it!

P.S. if you get nauseous easily then stay away, the camera work is all over the place and can get to you in a big way!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A story about three hyperglycemic teenaged film students, suffering terminal nicotine withdrawal, while lost in grandma's garden, (without a tripod.)

Their fate is sealed by their limited vocabulary.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
One of the scariest movies that I've seen in a long time. If you plan on going on a camping trip anytime soon, I wouldn't recommend this movie.

What makes blair witch so impressive is that it doesn't show blood, guts, or gore. It just leaves everything up to the audience's imagination. The documentary style makes the movie much more believable, but the camcorder jerks and bounce can leave some people sick and woozy. Do not sit in the front row for the film. A great film and a definite see for anyone in the mood for a horror flick.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I don't really see what the big deal about the movie is. I heard such things as, "Scarier than hell" and "Great Psychological Horror". Hearing this, I was expecting something that would be a great cross between Seven and the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Instead, I got 87 minutes of useless banter that broke down as the following.

10 minutes of interviews
74 minutes of wandering, b----ing, and moaning
4 minutes of something actually happening

They could have done much more than what they did. You wait, wait, and wait for something to back up the hype and IT NEVER HAPPENS. I think the real Blair Witch Project is to take a low-b high school grade movie that only cost a couple thousand dollars to make, hype to death, and see how many people take the bait. Honestly, I've seen some bad movies in the theatre in my time, Mo Money and Street Fighter included, but this has to be, in all honesty, one of the worst movies I've seen on a big screen. I suppose it would have a bigger, deeper appeal to me if I were able to watch it many times at home, but as is, I score it as a "Stay Away"

Agree? Disagree? E-mail me at cowie@spa.att.ne.jp

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"In October of 1994, three student filmmakers disappeared in the woods near Burkittsville, Maryland while shooting a documentary. A year later their footage was found." So begins the most frightening horror movie I have seen in decades. It doesn’t feature any computer generated effects, it doesn’t overpay "stars" like Neve Campbell or Jennifer Love Hewitt, and it doesn’t feature any of the horror film cliches that you have seen overused to death. It cost less to make than it made at my local AMC on July 31, 1999. That’s right: One theatre in one day. Proof that budget and quality do not go hand in hand. Throwing FX to audiences is wearing thin and the discriminating viewer is now demanding substance from movies. Example: The Blair Witch Project. An original concept is realized in the format of the movie. Armed with hand held cameras, Heather Donahue, Michael Williams, and Josh Leonard pull off the demanding task of making all this seem real. No things jumping out and saying "boo," as in the idiotic The Haunting. Dialogue is ad-libbed and the trio was left out in the woods to further intensify their motivation. It’s an impressive role-playing experiment which makes for engrossing viewing. There’s another facet to the movie that I didn’t anticipate but got a great deal out of, that being the psychological aspect. Just as the cast realizes their world is tumbling around them, the audience watches and feels their pain. The Blair Witch Project drew me in to become part of this world. I credit the filmmakers with creating such realism as well as the excellent performances by the cast. Kudos!

10-point scale rating: 9

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Quite honestly, one of the most truly terrifying movies I have seen in a long time! This is the kind of movie that gets under your skin, its real effectiveness not until 2 hours after the credits roll, when you are alone at home...

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Blair Witch is hands down one of the best movie ever made. It is a thriller like no other. Step aside Wes Craven, there is a new genre' of film about to take over. Blair Witch does not engrosse the audience in blood and killers hiding in closets, it plays on the most basic of human emotions, helplessness. Not once do you see the 'killer' but you feel as hunted and as lost as Heather, Josh and Mike. Some may say that it starts off somewhat slow, but it is essential to make you get involved with the characters and the story of the Blair Witch. You find yourself wanting the movie to 'get moving' but once it starts rolling with fear and anxiety, you find yourself wishing it would stop. And the ending, as gripping and freaky as any I have ever seen. This movie will make even the bravest of men and women wonder, was that real? I would not recommend seeing this movie if you are planning a camping trip in the next few weeks because I guarantee that it will stick with you that long. Jaws made people fear the water, The Blair Witch Project will make people fear the woods and the night. I recommend you visit the web page: <www.blairwitch.com> before you see the movie, the more you get into the story, the better the movie is. A+

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Rarely does a movie really affect me more than an hour after its over, but this one sure did. I walked out of the theater, said a simple "wow" to my friend (we were both speechless), had shivers thinking about it and could not get to sleep hours later. The best way I can describe it is 'creepy'. When the credits rolled, I was surprised that it ended that way, but after thinking about it, it really couldnt have ended any other way. I would have liked to find out about the search for these people, who found the video tape, etc. Two things that are important about this movie - one is that if you get motion sickness you might want to take some Dramamine first. Since the entire movie is filmed on home video, there is a lot of movement with the camera. Second, to really understand the ending, you have to pay close attention to the interviews in the beginning of the movie. I can see how some people could be disappointed with this film, but for me, it had an effect. I still get goosebumps when I think about it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was the best I've ever seen!! The actors were exellent!! If you like movies like Silence of the Lambs and Dolores Claiborne( movies that seem so real and could really happen) then you'll love this one. I won't go camping again!!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Do young people really talk like this? The "f---" word with its verb, noun and meaningless adjectival use, occurs >100 times, the "s---" word in its forms only somewhat less. The camera work, admittedly handheld, was annoyingly jerky.

The characters were not developed, the dialog had few insightful moments. I deplored the characters so much that my involvement in their plight was only perfunctory. I was not truly "scared".

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Though I will give it credit as having a good plot and storyline, I have to say that it is a movie that one could easily wait and see on the home screen... It was made for T.V. anyway since it doesn't make full use of the theater screen... The only other thing I can say is be prepared... Bring a bottle of Dramamine or some other Motion sickness medicine because most of the movie is like some amateur home video where the camera is always bouncing/moving. This is why I don't watch home videos...

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was an original idea and a very scary premise. However, If you tend to get nauseated in a car, beware. The moving video camera shots taken by the amatuer film makers are so repititious that at least 30 minutes of unnecessary footage of the leafy ground could have been eliminated and my stomach and that of my husband would have rested easier. Their camera could have benefited a lot from a stabilizer. If you wait for the rental, you can fast-forward through the shots that make you queazy, and I am not referring to gore.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was an awful movie. The best parts of the movie were when the video was off and just the audio was playing- it gave me time to recoup from the motion sickness I was getting from the camera constantly moving & shaking. I have seen better work with home movies! The critics that gave this movie a good rating are desperate for something different and are confusing "different" for GOOD. Given the premise of the movie, it could have been done significantly better by virtually any "big time" producer. This was the worst movie I have ever seen. Bottom line is that this movie is the evuivalent to BAD abstract art.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A truly scarey movie. No blood...but pure horror. I left the movie in shock of the thingsI had seen and can only imagine the fear these three must have felt. Chilling. Still wondering if it was true or not. Even if a non-fiction movie but just to realize that horrible things have probably happenned to someone somewhere. I certainly am not excited to spend any amount of time in the woods, especially at night, or to invest any amount of time researching horrible things.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
5 of my friends recommended that I don't by any means see "The Blair Witch Project", me being the rebel that I am went ahead and saw it, and MAN!!!! it was excellent. Definitely the most uniquely scary film I have ever seen...oh no, by scary i don't mean things popping up out of nowhere, or an already identified killer stalking victims with a hook, by scary I mean "Oh my god, I'd s**t my pants if I was there scary". Instead of using excessive gore, and large budgets to scare, it uses the human mind. Just like a novel, it gives you enough detail to let your imagination wander. This film also only took an estimate of $30,000 to make, that alone is an accomplishment, giving that it topped the box office this weekend. If you like horror movies, you may or may not like this, but if you like movies period, see this, its definitely a film that will be remembered and discussed long after its over. Oh and the ending is worth about 4/5 of admission price alone.

Rated R- for scarin the s**t outta me, and language

**** out of ****

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is a great movie, and if you think about it for a while, and pay attention during the movie, you will get the ending. Great movie, one of the best movies this summer, and one of the best horror movies. And I have to add that the acting was great.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I was really disappointed when I left the movie theater yesterday- this was not the scariest movie I've ever seen, as we were led to believe by all the hype. However, for a first-time group of indie filmmakers, it's a pretty decent effort, that does a good job of conveying the primal fears of being lost, cold, and scared in the woods..quite frankly, though, FRIDAY THE 13th put me off camping more than this movie did. As someone else put it, and quite well, I thought, unless twigs and rocks frighten you, BWP just isn't scary.

It would probably play better on rental video, alone in the house at night than it did in a packed theater at 1:30 pm. Worth a look, as long as you don't expect too much, but wait for the video.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Months ago, I heard about this movie, and it sounded like one that would be worth seeing. And recently, the hype for it has escalated to the point that I was almost afraid my expectations were too high. But the hype was right on, this movie kicked my a**. I'll be simple and to the point. Best acting I've seen in a long, long time. The movie wasn't exactly jump-out-your-seat scary, the kind of movie that has a few moments of fright, this movie was pure, drawn-out horror. Three people, running out of food, lost in the woods, filming themselves as they go insane. So here's my advice, stop reading these stinking reviews and go see the best movie this summer.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is the scariest movie i've ever seen. It's really disturbing. This is a movie. The directors know how to scare someone and make you belive. If you get queezy, take your drugs and deal with it. The way to make this movie great is to pay attention. I was so frightened after this movie that i stayed up until the next morning so that i could fall asleep during the day. Truly scary. The website for the movie dosen't ruin anything. it makes the movie a lot better if you like backstory. My only advice, don't theorize and analyze the movie. the beauty of it is it's simplicity. it's clean cut and everything you see, is what your supposed to see. don't try to figure out what happens in the movie. see it. enjoy it.

-Dan The Pan

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I saw this movie knowing very little about the process used to make the movie. I also allowed myself to "buy" the part of the Blair Witch legend and to remember going on ill-planned adventures when I was young. By doing that, this movie was intense and "believable?". Now that I know how the movie was made, I don't know what effect the movie would have on me.

Getting truly lost is a frighful experience that can really test a person's inner resolve. If you've never been lost in the woods, you will need to try to get a feeling for that sort of powerlessness.

(Watching the movie reminded me of "Full Metal Jacket" when the squad gets lost trying to link up with a tank unit and all command is lost from that point on.)

So, allow yourself to "believe" this happened and you will enjoy the time and money spent on this movie.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was a very freaky movie. In order to get the full effect it should be seen in a theater. The premise of this movie is that a group of film students disappear while making a documentary about the Blair Witch. And the entire movie is from footage they filmed during the documentary. This give an almost home video quality and makes it feel all the more eerie. It is also a character study of how different people react when put in an unknown environment and things don't go as planned. I found that the most intersting part of the movie. I'm glad I got a chance to see this film.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is best left for the TV. It doesn't scare, it doesn't do anything. If I hadn't read the review before I went to see it I wouldn't have know it had a plot.

Wait for the video, please.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The scariest thing about this movie was the $14.50 I paid for me and a friend to see it!! As all the "dislikers" say, the shakiness is bothersome, if not sickening. The plot is a good idea, but takes too long to develop any excitement whatsoever. The terror is minimal. I laugh at ads that say it's the scariest movie ever. Let's not forget Alien, Aliens, Silence of The Lambs. Those movies earned the right to be called "frightening", not the Blair Witch Project. The ending is disappointing, too. See any other movie besides this one. The worst part will be the 38 sequels and "copy-cat" films that this generates!!! What's worse, they had the girl from it on LENO last night!! UUgghhhhh!!!!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
After much anticipation to see this motion picture, the outcome was very disappointing. Most of the movie is a documentary of 3 people arguing near trees and plants. Overall is still a mediocre at best film.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'm glad I went to an early show and got the cheap tickets. I'd have felt ripped off if I'd paid full price and, frankly, was sorry I went to see it at all. I hadn't read any of the reviews beforehand, but my daughter asked if I'd like to see it with her. Okay, I'll go. Through the first hour, I kept waiting for something to happen, some tension to start building, and ... nada. The dialogue was insipid and use of the noun/adjective/verb f*** made me wonder if I'm totally disconnected from reality. Is this common dialogue among reasonably educated late-teen-to-twenty-somethings? While the jerky, hand-held shots gave the film a cinema verite look, it was equally effective eliciting motion sickness from many people. In fact, I've never seen so many people get up and walk around in the middle of what was supposed to be a riveting, incredibly suspenseful movie. Save your money and wait for the video. Better yet, don't bother with it at all and rent a good Hitchcock film. Now, there's real terror and suspense without high tech gimmicks.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie has been described as the scariest movie ever and comes with a hype that almost measures up to that of 'The Phantom Menace'. But just as in the case of the new Star Wars movie, The Blair Witch Project does not deliver.

The entire movie is shot using hand-held cameras, which is supposed to give the viewer the impression that it is indeed a documentary. Those who are well versed in the history of horror cinema recognize this twist from Ruggero Deodatto's masterpiece 'Cannibal Holocaust'.

The beginning of the movie actually sets up the situation quite well. The mock interviews, which are essential, contain some interesting clues about what is to come. There is, in fact, a real potential for a good second part. However, this opportunity is sadly missed by the filmmakers. The second part instead turns into a mediocre psychological drama featuring three desperate people lost in the woods. However, there is nothing scary whatsoever about it. The movie picks up somewhat in the last five minutes but that is not enough to save it.

I just keep wondering what this movie could have been if a talented director had been involved.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is the best of the year. I never get scared at movies. Lets just say I checked my back more than a few time on the walk back. Ive never had an experience like that at a movie ever before. See it soon

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Excessive hype usually makes me less likely to spend money on a movie ticket. But since this flick didn't have the usual corporate product tie-ins/soundtrack album/crossover crap associated with it, and the basic premise appealed to me, I checked it out. I'm telling you, kids, it's one of the best and scariest horror films you're ever gonna see. No computer-generated graphics, no F/X, (for that matter, no soundtrack!)--and it works! It seems totally real. I was completely absorbed in it and genuinely frightened, and I'm not the sort of person who can easily "suspend disbelief." Go and see this film right now, and buy the video when it comes out.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Dear Harsh Critics of the Blair-Witch Project:

It sickens me to think of all the ignorant people out there complaining about the quality of the BWP video or the annoyance of the characters, because that is in essence what I like about the movie. The movie makes no effort to be thrills OR chills. . . it just attempts to show you what would REALLY happen if gen-Xers went into the woods and experience what before was ONLY a legend firsthand. Supernaturality changes all dimensions of reality and this is what one has to expect. So what if the characters broke down and cussed and were annoying--thats reality. Don't you realize that your cushy little suburban houses and apartments will give you nothing but reason to make fun of a camping venture? I went out into the woods less than a week before seeing the movie, and I realize firsthand that all one needs to be scared is his or her own mind. I went into the theatre to enjoy the movie, whereas most people went in to disprove a "hyped movie." This sickens me. If you are determined to break apart a movie before you go in, then you will hate the movie. But what really needs to happen lately is an awakening in the entertainment industry to challenge its viewers to think rather than be thought for, as the way it is these days. If we disobey the norms of this "Dawson's Creek/MTV" era, then maybe we'll be a little bit more individualistic and real to ourselves rather than be just another name on a BIG MOVIE BOX OFFICE ticketholder. Also, does anyone realize how bad the Titantic sucked but how good it became because of its hype? It won best picture... err... bought best picture, when it had no business even being nominated! It showed no real ingenuity other than the best special effects James Cameron's money can buy and yet everyone loved it, just because they were supposed to. Its supposed to be amateur. Its supposed to be annoying. But most importantly, its supposed to be real. So enjoy this fact, this innovation rather than shoot it to the ground because it doesn't fit the norm of what Hollywood has conditioned us to think.

Sincerely,

Brian S. Maurer

PS. Feel free to Respond

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I really do not understand all the hype this movie is getting. I sat in the theater waiting and waiting for something to happen and nothing ever happened! And when you sense something happening you can't see or hear what is going on anyways. Most of the time I was trying to concentrate so much on what was going on that I didn't have time to be scared, and I doubt if I would have been scared if I knew what was going on anyways. Basically this movie is around an hour and a half of people running around in the woods, hearing things that the audience can't hear, and finally a few decent minutes at the very end. But by then I was bored and my eyes hurt from the shakiness of the camera and I really didn't care anymore. I like what someone up above said about critics mistaking different for good, I totally agree. This movie is different, but it isn't very good.

My rating: * 1/2 out of *****

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Great acting! Great film! See it soon, on the big screen. The less you know going in the better.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The Blair Witch Project" is a type of movie that I've never seen before. It is an important movie to hit the horror genre. this hour and a half movie shows the breakdown of the three characters involved (heather, Josh, and Mike.) But although, there is one problem I had with my personal viewing of it. I wished i hadn't known that it was fiction. The reason why I liked this movie so much was because all of the performances from the trio were real. they weren't faking that screaming or running in the night. One thing that is important to figuring out the ending is paying attention in the beginning. Retain the interview materials. Don't just think that this is a movie about three kids getting lost in the woods, because it isn't.

I've heard dome people say that they didn't like this movie because they couldn't see what it was that was scaring them. And that is the point. This is about the noises you hear outside that you can't explain, and the strange occurances that have no reason. If you are looking for blood and guts, you won't find it here. The key to knowing the characters fright, is to put yourself in their shoes. Pretend it's you camping in the woods while filming, (of all things) a documentary about a local witch.

I enjoyed this movie thorougly and look forward to it on video.

My rating: ***1/2 out of ****

Jan 25, 2000
A victim of all the hype, it was hard not to expect a lot from The Blair Witch Project. I was anticipating this film for many weeks before its release. The buzz about this movie was hard to ignore.

While displaying more originality than many movies before, it was not a good "ghost" story, which was what I was expecting. It was not the "scariest movie ever," but it did have some scenes which were downright spooky.

The most talked about aspect of The Blair Witch Project was the method in which it was filmed. Using handheld cameras, ad-libbed dialog, and a documentary within a documentary perspective, it was an interesting film to watch, but not overly frightening. It scores points alone for its originality.

While the first-person, documentary approach worked well in the fact that it was a different way to shoot a film, I feel that it limited the movie's ability to draw me in and make me part of the story. I would have preferred an out-of-the-scene perspective, where the camera would be following the turmoil of the three film students, and perhaps interjected with "actual" footage. In this way, the surround sound in the theater could have been used to heighten the tension in some of the scenes. Without that you-are-there immersive experience, you are forced to feel as though you are watching someone's home movie of a camping trip gone very, very bad.

The good news is that this movie will make an excellent rental. This will show just as well at home as it does in the theater, and should be perfect for a teenage sleep-over, as a good scary film to make them sleep a little lighter than usual! Although the film is rated "R" there is nothing that should stop the average teenager from seeing this film. No outright violence is shown, and the profanity isn't any more severe than what can be heard in most high schools anyway. PG-13 would have been a more appropriate rating, in my opinion.

If you're looking for the scariest movie ever, keep looking. If you're looking for an imaginitive film that will spook you out for a while, this is a good choice. When the DVD is released, it will probably have some behind-the-scenes material that will make it even more interesting as a rental or purchase.

This review is the property of Scott Jentsch, Copyright © 1999. This information cannot be reprinted without the permission of the author.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Having just seen the Blair Witch Project and being completely knocked out by how great it was, I was absolutely shocked to discover that there are actual people out there who didn't care for this movie, or worse yet, thought it was terrible! I thought it was probably the most fantastic movie I have seen in a very long time, and believe me, I am extremely hard to impress. The only logical conclusion I can come to is that anyone who didn't like it lacks imagination, intellegence and an attention span. (probably too much MTV!) See this film and open yourself up to a brilliant and creative piece of film-making.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The Blair Witch Project"

One word "Chilling"!

Although I was a few minutes late for the opening credits, but what I did see scared me to the bone.

The storyline is quite simply fantastic.

Although going in I knew how it would end(I have several friends who have seen in during the past week or so) this movie will stay with me for a long time.

There are quite a few humerous moments between the characters in the begining, but when they hit the woods, everything goes out the window.

See this movie, and see it now!

You will not be sorry.

All you have to take with you is an active imagination and the ability to read between the lines.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is the worst movie I can remember seeing.

It is very scary in one way -- that so many artsy critics raved about it! (very scary. I must be living in a parallel universe. It is hard to believe I am of the same species as these critics. and I bet they all vote Democrat.)

Two champion things about it, though: (1) good concept to start with; and (2) great marketing.

For one thing, you can't give away the story or ending because there isn't one. Nothing really happens. I couldn't believe the ending, or non-ending.

The awful things about the movie include: constant jerky closeups; I don't recall one long shot (probably because it was made in someone's backyard)..........the forest did not seem particularly threatening. Looked like a nice walk in the woods: plenty of bare forest floor to walk on amongst the trees..........the less said about the actors, the better........the dialogue was banal, unimaginative and vulgar, the vocabulary of an eight-year-old..........no interest in the characters, no character development.

I'd like your opinion. My e-mail is chipe@ix.netcom.com.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is the scary of scary movies! No blood & guts, which I liked. The whole movie makes you think of where you are, where you could be & what could happen! I saw it last night & am still freaked out! I can't get it out of my head, it was way more than I expected. I thought it would no matter what be "movie-like" NO WAY! This was real!! If you don't like to be scared in public, definitely rent it, but make sure someone is there with you.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was an excellent movie. I heard about it only a week or two before it came out, and I missed the Sci Fi channel special. It really got me drawn in from the beginning and made me want to see what happened to the three people. I read some other reviews and some people nock it cause they got motion sickness, or because it was like the Sci Fi special.. Wake up people!!!! Grab your parents camcorder and get 2 of your friends. Then go to the woods and turn on the camera and run through the woods and see how good your camera holding skills are. It was a fresh idea and it made you feel like you were holding the camera with the first person perspectives. From what I heard the Sci Fi special told you pretty much what the web site did and it only made me anticipate this film more the added history makes you think about what really happened to them... So stop belly aching about the damn motion sickness and just enjoy the film for what it is supposed to be AN ORIGINAL IDEA for a psycological horror film. Give them there props, it only took 25,000 to make it made over 80 million so far!!

I give it 10 out of 10......

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
We thought the movie was a bit lame, not like all the hipe we heard.When the movie was over you could here by what the other people said,they felt the same. Save your money , just rent it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Blair Witch Project is the best movie of 1999.

Now the justification for such a grand title. First the directors chose three highly gifted actors in Heather Donahue, Michael Williams, and Joshua Leonhard. Secondly the use of the now highly critized handheld cameras allow us insight that could not be gained by the use of traditional filmmaking. The use of these personal cameras allow the viewer to be the silent partner in the terror thatdevelops.

Most movies being released require the viewer to shutdown their mind for the plot to make sense. With The Blair Witch Project you as the viewer want your mind to shutdown to avoid the images the imagination can conjure up. Following in the Hitchcock tradition The Blair Witch Project shows you nothing more than necessary to allow your imagination to take over. The last ten minutes of chilling to the point where exhaustion sets in when the film ends.

The Blair Witch Project seperates film from movies. No CGI or other special effects can create the absolute fear that imagination can. And The Blair Witch Project capitolizes on this psychological fact.

If you want to be involved in a film. If you want to be afraid of the dark. If you want to see what is right with modern filmmaking go see The Blair Witch Project.

If you want to stare stupified at the pretty moving pictures go see something else!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Photography was horrible, it seems to me they spent most of their money on hotel rooms and fancy meals than on this movie. Story line was good at first, but went absolutly no where. Fighting between characters was boring and very irritating aspect of this movie. And as far as being scarry, I have been more scared by a ghost story told around our campfire by a ten year old!! I left the theater feeling ill to my stomache and extremely disappointed. Don't waste your money, see something else, anything else.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie was excellent. It was well worth my money. I plan on seeing it again very soon. The movie was so scary that I had to hide my eyes in some parts because I was afraid of what might happened. I need to go back and watch the parts that I missed. This movie was the scariest thing that I have ever seen. I like horror movies, but this just tops them all!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Blair Witch project.....I've read a lot about it, how scary it was and everything. I decided that I'd get it in my head that this could be the ultimate horror movie. To my dismay, I was let down. Don't get me wrong, it was definitely original and I'm not complaining about the motion. For those that are, this is a video camera, it's supposed to move around. Just because you get motion sickness doesn't mean it was a horrible movie. Well, I thought it was alright. I didn't feel any suspense. I'm not against swearing, but the girl could've said f*** a little less. Personally, I'd recommend renting this. I understand that there are many people out there that rave about it. Hell, give me a few hundred bucks, I'll go buy a video camera and some really good mics. There you go. Make your own blair witch. I'm awaiting the dvd special edition to come out. Another 3 hours added. Either they will join the rest of the movie in being not scary and kind of boring, or they will make the movie better. Either way, I didn't hate it, but unfrotunately, I can't say that I liked it either....sorry.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Speaking from an artsy point of view... I wouldn't see this movie. Speaking from any other point of view... I wouldn't see this movie. The only thing I got from this movie was a huge headache and motion sickness. The story line of this movie didn't exsist, and it wasn't even scary. For getting reviews that this was a must see makes me wonder what the critics really look for. A few words for those of you who still want to see this movie... pay real close attention to the begining of the movie or the ending will go right over your head. All in all I wouldn't waste time, money, or energy to go to this movie... it was quite a dissapointment.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Very original! See it now before you hear too much more about it!! The less you know the better. I'm not sure if the shaky camera work was done intentionally to add to the mood of film, but it works. The nauseous stomach and the suspense of not knowing what's out there made the ending that much more disturbing. I had the "pleasure" of seeing this completely alone. 11am on a hot summer day and all alone in very large, very dark theater. I was actually scared to get up and walk through the dark room to the exit as the credits rolled. If you are a horror film fan, well worth the price of admission. If you don't like being scared and are one who can't handle motion sickness, go elsewhere and don't ruin the movie for the rest of us because you couldn't handle it.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is in my top ten all time worst movies of all time.The plot(if there is one) is idiotic.The students making the film act as if they have never been in the woods before.I think a hoot owl would have scared the characters.All I'll add is with all the hype I thought i was going to see a real thriller and what I got was a complete dud from beginning to end.Go to your local video store and rent The texas chainsaw massacre or the exorcist.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was BAD.....I personally wanted to jump up and kill the main characters in the movie for being so stupid.I kept saying follow the river or listen for traffic.I guess intelligent people would have easily gotten out of a Maryland woods.My god they were not in Alaska or Maine.....Stay away ,the only scary thing was that I actually paid money for a herky jerky stupid (not scary) movie......Why did I go see this?

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
you have to see this movie now, it is such a thriller, I was so scared during this movie I had to look away for a minute, it gives you a very realistic sense. SEE THIS MOVIE RIGHT NOW!!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This wasn't a bad movie, I think it is worth seeing, but anyone who gets the least bit motion sick should not see it in the theater unless they are near a door! I missed a good deal of the, I assume, best part of the movie because I had to periodically close my eyes until my stomach settled down.

But if you can pause it for a few minutes when you feel ill, it may be a better movie. All I know is that someone should have warned people who tend to get motion sick that it may affect them that way!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was the worst movie I have ever seen. All it is, is that 3 kids get lost in the woods and hear noises, _really scary_ For all you people who liked it and seen it more than once I think that you all have no real life. For all you people who think this is a true story, its not. One the characters appeared on the Fox Teen Choice Awards.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I can't believe people found this movie scary. I hate scary movies. I get scared pretty easily. But I was sooooo Bored at this movie. If you want a cure for insomnia, go see Blair Witch. Its pretty sick that people thought this was real. I'm sorry. If a maniac is trying to kill me, I wouldn't be filming every second. She films her friends bloodied shirt, she films herself crying, snot coming out of her nose? Pu-leez. Unrealistic. It was obvious the creators of the film left what to say up to the actors themselves cause there was no real script. The scary thing was how they could say the F word so many times in one sentence. F you, F this, F everything, F you back, F, whats this, F whats that, FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF. That was pretty much the script. It got extremely annoying after the 15th F's in a period of 10 minutes.

And I didn't see a scary thing. The only thing I could think of was how I wished the Blair Witch would get the girl to save us from her annoying screaming for no reason. "WHAT WAS THAT? WHAT THE F WAS THAT?" Was pretty much all she said through the movie, and I was thinking the same thing. What was that? I Didn't hear or see a damn thing!! 15 people got up and walked out half way through the movie. I would've too if I were sitting at the end of the row rather than in the middle where I had to crawl over people. The guy next to me fell asleep and his girlfriend had to elbow him, and they left. as I waited early in line to see the movie, almost everyone leaving told me to get my money back. I got a few "It was ok"s and even fewer "I love it!"'s.

And everyone is saying "Sad thing is this movie will be ripped off 80 times." Hello? This movie is a rip off of a movie called the Hunt for the Jersey Devil where four boys go out into the woods in the search for the infamous jersey devil, three dissapear without a trace, but one returns to tell the horrific story with the footage they shot on their journey. It was copywrited, way way before the making of Blair Witch, and if you play footage side by side, they are almost identical. So don't cry about rip offs. The only difference between this and the other film, this one made it big because they tried to convince people it was real, and people were dumb enough to buy it. No offense, but if you thought it was real at first, then there are a lot of sick people who would actually go see three young kids get murdered in the woods, video taping every moment. So don't whine if there are rip offs because they aren't rip offs of Blair Witch, they are inadvertant rip offs of the Hunt for the Jersey Devil.

Like movies? Don't see this. Go see the Haunting or Sixth Sense. Both weren't given as good of reviews as this...both were much better!! the Sixth sense is a MUST SEE!! You'll never see the twist coming at the end!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
All the negative comments I've been hearing from people on this movie can be summed up as due to one thing: conditioning. To them, this movie is not doing what movies are supposed to do. That's their whole criticism.

Look, this movie is SUPPOSED TO LOOK LIKE IT WAS MADE BY HIGH SCHOOL AMATEURS. In that regard, it does exactly what it was supposed to do. This alone does not make it good, but what does is that it creates a chilling sense in spite of this, and that it LEAVES MANY THINGS TO THE IMAGINATION. (In some respects, it's like the effect old radio horror shows had). This last is an art which recent filmmakers have lost due to all of the technology and a sense that the viewer must be told everything.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Overhyped? A bit. Scary? Not really. Good? Yes. There are only two genuinely creepy parts in this film; The "What the f**k is that?!!" chase through woods, and the final 5 minutes, which ends with a scene that is just chilling to the bone. The makers of this film did an impressive job with the footage, making it as raw as possible, creating that harrowingly realistic style that is a radical change from the everyday blood-and-guts material that has been used over and over again. I don't know why, but I was completely engrossed by this movie, from the light-hearted beginning to the nerve-racking end, I just couldn't get enough of the story. I was also intrigued with the way the creators transformed the woods into a place dread, they made it seem like a sinister, menacing place. The performances given by the three actors are outstanding, and even though they spend a good portion of the movie screaming hysterically, there wasn't a single moment where we could tell that they were just acting. People kept on complaining that there was too much swearing, but isn't it normal for the characters to be so frantic considering the nightmare they're going through? "The Blair Witch Project" may not be the next "Psycho" or "The Exorcist", but it is still a innovative, and often effective movie that is definitely worth seeing.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Wierd!! Something that's cool to see, however, I wouldn't put out any cash for it on video or dvd... download from the web and watch at your own leisure!

On a scale of one to five, I'd rate this a 2.75 for the initiative and initial journalistic enthusiasm that these kids took on. But I'll tell ya...this was a wierd flick!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Is there such a thing as a "C" movie? If not, they should start one for this junk! My three-year old nephew could hold the camera steadier, and if I want to sit and listen to three immature morons who can't read a compass I can go hang out at the local high school.

We left sick, disappointed, and upset that we contributed money to this farce.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I followed this movie on the web prior to it's release and really looked foreward to seeing it. Major disapointment!!!! It seems the film maker's creativity was fully spent by the developement of a clever, bright and masterful marketing effort. Perhaps they should give up the idea of film making alltogether and go into advertising, a game designed to most always promising more than it delivers.Our group, two gals, two guys, agreed this is one of the worst films ever made, ranking right up there with Fellini's "Cassanova" and Russ Meyer's "Faster Pussycat, Kill Kill". Basically the film was boring, badly acted, totally lacking in sympathetic characters, clueless when it came to dialog,(polysylabic vocabulary apparently no longer taught our students) and utterly predictable. What it was not was FRIGHTENING. The scariest part about this movie is that so many people, including film critics above age ten, found it so. Wait! scarier yet is the thought these guys might make another film. To bring balance to this review, I will admit the closing scene was powerful and only wish I could say that about the whole movie.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you want to go to the stupidest movie you will ever see in your lifetime this is the one.I think you would be hard pressed to find anyone over 21 years of age(or a slight amount of common sense) who would actually say that the movie was scary.I can't find one thing good about it. If I took my camera out in my back yard I could produce something scarier.BEST ADVISE ----Go see the Sixth Sense .It actually saved us from all the stupid Blair Witch Hype.Final analysis----No scare,no witch,no fun,no refund....best thing was my popcorn,drink and end of the picture so that I could get out.Being trapped and forced to watch this movie again would be the real Horror

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
this movie is the best movie i have seen this year besides saving private ryan. it is different from any other film i have seen, even rocky horror picture show. it was so scary too. i could not stop thinking about what i am going to do next time i go into the woods. it did give me a little bit of motion sickness at first but it was so good that i forgot about it. all of my friends that saw it said it was one of their favorites too. i the last 15 minutes really had me off the edge of my seat. i was biting my nails, which is something i haven't done since i was 4 yrs. old. there was a lot of swearing to the point where i was laughing, which takes a lot of it to make me do that. there were also some funny parts so the film wouldn't be all scary. this movie definitely not a gorefest. only one scene portrays a small part of gore but won't make you vomit or anything. if you like scary movies with a slight twist added to it you will love this movie!! DO NOT GO IF YOU GET MOTION SICKNESS EASILY!!! This movie is**** out of****!! SEE IT!! NOW!!!

Jan 25, 2000
If you're looking for a scary movie, this isn't it.

Two guys and a girl get the idea to make a documentary about the "Blair Witch". They interview some of the locals, and then set off into the woods to explore and make a movie.

What they see are twigs in certain shapes and rocks in little piles. Exciting huh?

The only way to enjoy this movie is to see it with a group of friends that have been camping before and to see it in a completely blackened room.

Otherwise, you'll just be laughing at what you see.

Copyright 1999 - Ron Higgins
No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I saw this movie and walked away thinking that this is the worst 15.00 I have ever spent. It had the worst ending I have have ever seen on film. Don't go see it; don't even waste your time telling people how bad it is...it's not worth it!!!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is a very scary film, it isn't the typical horror film like Halloween or The Exorcist. This is different, this is homemade and the scary thing about this movie is how you have to make up your own mind what happens, the actors are very realistic and it is one of these movies that have two sorts of endings but you have to choose for yourself. The beginning is abit boring but i suppose they are just trying to hype the audience up. I wasn't that scared in the cinema but the more and more I thought about it, the scarier it got. I thought it was a superb film, very pyscological.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'm not a person to be drawn in by the hype surrounding a movie (well, except for Star Wars... I must admit, George Lucas can show 2 1/2 hours of him taking a dump on Tatooine and I'd go watch!)

However, I felt the Blair Witch Project was an excellent movie. The plot and idea behind the story were interesting and captivating to me. I didn't want to go to the bathroom and miss anything! However, I wouldn't quite describe this movie as scary, but more anxious. You can feel the tension felt by the three main characters as the plot develops and more strange occurrences start taking place. All things considered, I truly appreciated this movie.

And, just FYI to some of those wondering about the language of most "educated" collegiate and post-collegiate young people: I'm a 20~something college grad. Many of my peers (whether it sounds crude or not) commonly use the 'F' and 'S' words. You can here them in abundance wherever a large gathering of young people are. To be completely honest, I didn't even notice the three students from this film using them all that much, and in this particular situation (being lost in a haunted woods) I didn't see their usage as being out of place. I'm sure my mother would have to wash my mouth out with soap if I were in the same scenario!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I can't believe I paid to see this movie. Another victim of hype. I must say this was one of the worst movie I have ever seen. And I can't believe all those people who thinks it is the best scary movie ever. HELLO? Where have you been? If anybody has seen "Event Horizon," that was scary and thought provoking even though the movie as a whole sucked too. At least it was more interesting to watch than BWP. This movie was very excruciating to sit through with the nonsense and babbling of the three characters in the woods. Even compounding it worse was the shaky-jerky camera shooting. What? Did they intentionally shake the camera up, down and side to side even when they are standing in one place? Jeez...ess. I was so dazed during the movie that I wasn't even scared at all not that the movie was. So if anyone wants to watch a scary movie see something else, unless you're an IDIOT or a MORON who is easily scared by your own shadow or a spider or even a mouse then by all means sink your money to the greatest hyped up movie ever!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Reviewed by: Steve Losie

From the opening shot in until the last heart-pounding scene, "The Blair Witch Project" is breathtaking. Its style, is easiness, its truth permeates every shot, every inch of this movie. Simply, it is a masterpiece—perhaps the best horror movie ever made. The plot is fairly simple: Josh, Heather, and Mike are film students making a documentary on the Blair Witch, a local legend in Burkittsville, Maryland. They begin by interviewing several locals, asking them their opinion of the Blair Witch. Before long, they are in the woods where the Blair Witch legend has it that the witch haunts. They shoot a few scenes and then head to a cemetery. Days pass, they don’t find the cemetery, and realize that they are lost. Meanwhile, every night they are being scared to death by different odd instances: it starts out with eerie rock poundings and escalates to screaming children…and then worse. The ending does not provide any twist, but is exhilarating none the less. The writers and directors took an old rehashed idea ("Witches are scary!"), but turned it into an experience. By using handheld cameras, the movie takes you in as a participant. Along with Josh, Heather, and Mike, you too are lost. You become confused, frightened, and weary. One of the most amazing aspects of the movie is its character development. Most of the dialogue was ad-libbed, but the characters transform throughout the movie as the haunting Blair Witch experience eats away at them. From the start, Heather is who we identify most with. She narrates: every thing she sees, we see, and what she hears, we hear. Josh seems to be the laid-back dude who will keep his cool no matter what happens. Mike is the most flappable. He is skeptical and jittery the moment they walk into the forest. As the Blair Witch begins haunting, there are many role reversals. Their very first scare, Mike won’t even leave the tent. As time wears on, Josh "loses it." A combination of his weariness, the ceaseless hiking, and the horrible nights finally get to Josh and he nearly gives up midday. Heather insists they keep going, but Mike wants to make sure they keep their sanity. Later, Heather bursts into tears. She is emotionally drained. Flipped-out Josh begins pointing the camera on Heather, and she blurts, "It’s all I have left." They aren’t making a movie anymore; they need to keep it together. Through all this, Mike seems to unite them. Whenever a fight occurs or a nervous night wears on, Mike takes control to see that they are okay in the morning. By the last scene, Mike has taken command of the group from Heather, as he is the only one left who hasn’t "lost it." Some of the highlights of the movie include Mike’s admission that he threw the map in the river and the ensuing fight, Heather’s tear-filled confessional (which should go down as one of the most personal and truthful monologues in movie history). A twist here and a twist there keep you on your toes. Still, the way that the movie was made make all the difference. You forget that this is a fake. It feels real. It is real. Where most horror movies work by keeping you on your toes, waiting for what will happen next, this film does the opposite. It utilizes the fear of the unknown. Every night, they know what is coming. They just wait. Day after day, and everything feels so lost and helpless. There is no way out. It is only a matter of time until the inevitable hits. "The Shining," for instance, works by pitting good directly against evil. Nearly every suspenseful moment relies on the fear, "Can he/she get out of there in time?" "The Blair Witch Project" has an element of the fear ("Will they get out of the woods in time?") but that soon fades. Other questions are raised, such as "Will it come back tonight?" , "Will we ever find our way out?", "Who is chasing us?", and "What will happen to us?" The film works on multiple levels, as well as being an artistically beautiful vision carried out. It is, perhaps, the best picture of 1999. Heather Donahue’s performance is particularly outstanding, while the creators—Eduardo Sanchez and David Myrick—deserve nominations for both "script" and directing. They took a leap into making a very experimental film, and came out on the other end with one of the most original and exciting movies of all time.

Sep 28, 2003
"The Blair Witch Project" is by doubt the best horror movie in the last 25 years. Every moment of that movie is an orginal. This is not a typical horror film inwhich to gross out audiences with blood and gore. This film is filmed by filmmakers who knew plenty about how to make a horror film. Here we have a horror movie with lots of ideas about what a horror film could be. And in the process, they made the type of picture that Alfred Hitchcock would be proud of. A group of filmmakers disappeared trying to film a documentary of the Blair Witch Project. and though lost footage they left behind, we the audience will find out about the fate of the filmmmakers and it won't be pretty. But this film is a must see.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Blair Witch Project.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook