The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 22nd, 2002

Directed by Lee Tamahori
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:12

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Die Another Day
From Hong Kong to Cuba to London, James Bond circles the world in his quest to unmask a traitor and prevent a war of catastrophic proportions.  View more >

PG-13
action violence and sexuality

Starring Pierce Brosnan, Halle Berry, Rosamund Pike...  View more >

Check out the World of James...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  3 33 See Now! Percent
Good  4 44 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 11 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 11 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 24, 2002
See it now if you're a Bond fan, that is. The latest Bond outing starts off very different from any other one. Even the "scope sight" intro is different; it features a bullet whizzing at the screen (very cool). It starts off with the signature Bond opening action scene with a twist; Bond is captured. He'll become a renegade agent before being re-accepted by MI6.

Anyways, for the first 20 minutes this one had the possiblity of being the best Bond in a long time, possibly ever. Then it started getting more ridiculous. By the time the giant satellite/magnifying glass was blowing stuff up I had resigned myself to the fact that this movie is Bond through and through. I even accepted the silly-looking Robocop suit as something only a Bond film could get away with.

If I sound like I'm complaining, I'm not. Sure, most of the movie is utterly ridiculous, but that doesn't mean it's not incredibly entertaining. In fact, the last hour or so is pretty much nothing but incredibly intense action sequences, many of which are very original.

So, same Bond humor, same Bond action, same Bond ridiculousness, and with Halle Berry added in, Die Another Day turns out to be a very strong action flick, even with the giant magnifying glass from outer space.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberDec 4, 2002
This was a solid Bond movie.

Who hires these professional critics anyway? Most of the movies they say are bad are good and vice versa. Notice that the actual viewers and "critics" disagree a lot. I'd quit my job and become a critic if I could find some way to whine more.

This movie renewed my fascination with Mr. Bond and I think it will for others too. It kept my attention 100%, and the special effects didn't dissapoint. Bond wasn't lacking in character -- he was Bond and that's how he behaves. What, do you expect him to jump around and sing or something?

Trust me. I'm a viewer. It's a decent movie. Maybe not movie of the year, but I feel confident that you'll walk out feeling like you didn't waste your money. Geez, it was thrilling, and quality all the way 'round. What does one go to a movie for but that?

I'm thankful I'm not a critic. I don't think I could enjoy movies anymore if I was.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberDec 10, 2002
James bond marches into the 21st century in "Die Another Day." Pierce Brosnan again plays James Bond and I hope he plays Bond forever. The film has two crediable villians, an bond girl, played by Halle Barry who is called Jinx. Bond again is out to save the world, no surprise here.

What makes the Bond series last for 40 years is no surprise either. The series is fun ,well-written with plenty of twist and turns. Plus lot of bond girls and villians to go around. I enjoy the series and I hope the series goes on forever.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 14, 2002
duna duh! duna duh! dunna nuuuu nuuuu nuuuuuuuuu! this movie was SWEET!!!! im no bond fan but sheesh this movie rocked! i love that bmw with the rockets
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Dec 27, 2002
I don't know what the other reviewers were thinking. I always thought bond movies were o.k., but this one brings the whole series down.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 24, 2003
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Feb 27, 2003
The film started off so promising, but devolved into typical Bond - guns, fight scenes, chase scenes, mass destruction of the villian's lair. Rates well against recent Bond, not so well against Classic Bond.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
Probably third in line of the Brosnan Bond films, although it comes close to Tomorrow Never Dies for spot #4.

The CGI visual effects were spotty as well. The surfing in the beginning looked very real, and very well might have been. The second surfing scene was incredibly obvious in its effect, and should have been sent back for more work.

Halle Berry was a great screen presence, and probably the best Bond girl in recent memory. The beginning of the movie was very good, but the plot runs out of steam towards the end, and even the really cool Aston Martin can't save the movie from turning into a parody of itself.

Even with all that, it's a Bond film and fans won't want to miss it.
[--- Good ---]by  Nov 23, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Die Another Day.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.