The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, August 13th, 1999

Directed by Frank Oz
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:37

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Bowfinger
Steve Martin and Eddie Murphy star in this comedy about a nearly-bankrupt movie producer wannabe that gathers a group of misfits to con a big-name movie celebrity to star in his low-budget film.  View more >

PG-13
sex-related material and language

Starring Steve Martin, Eddie Murphy, Christine Baranski...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  3 33 See Now! Percent
Good  3 33 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  3 33 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Bowfinger.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie takes public's general vision of Hollywood as a "Let's do lunch" kind of place and makes it into a very entertaining movie. Including a not so subtle jab at Scientology. The stand out performances are given by Steve Martin as Bobby Bowfinger, Eddie Murphy as Kit and Jiff Ramsey, and Heather Grahmn as Daisy. It all makes for a very funny movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
If you enjoy funny movies, which don't resort to adolescent gross-out humor, you'll really enjoy this movie. There are many points in the movie where the entire theater burst out laughing, and even a few where I still chuckle out loud three days later. It's well written, and the actors play their roles without "over-acting" (except when its called for). The plot is straight forward, yet it doesn't fall into the predictablility that most (all?) movies do that I've seen in the last 3 years.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
When I first saw the trailer for Bowfinger, I thought it looked pretty dumb. But then it came out and I read a bunch of good reviews for this movie, so I thought I'd check it out. And I must say I was pleasantly surprised. This seems to be the summer for the comedy, and like American Pie and South Park, this one delivers lots of laughs. Of course, the comedy is a lot different here, there is none of the toilet humor that has become so popular lately. Here the comedy comes from the characters played by Steve Martin and Eddie Murphy. I wouldn't consider myself a huge fan of either one, but they are both excellent in this movie, especially Murphy, who is hysterical in two different roles. I would even say this is the best Eddie Murphy movie I've seen, way better than The Nutty Professor and Dr. Doolittle. Overall, this is a very good movie, not quite a great one. I thought there were a few awkward scenes that weren't really funny, and weren't really anything. But other than that, I have no complaints about this movie. So if you want to see a good summer comedy, go see Bowfinger, and be ready to be entertained.

My rating: *** 1/2 out of *****

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
"bowfinger" is a great comedy. This summer we haven't seen too many comedies, with the exception of "Austin Powers II." Steve Martin and Eddie Murphey are great in this movie. Martin is a failing independant film-maker and he reads a script (written by his bookkeeper) called Chubby Rain. He loves this script and gets a hold of a few friends to play the roles. He wants people to see this, so he says that he gets big time actor Kit Ramsay to star in it. Well, that's what he says. So he films the movie without Kit knowing that he's in it.

This movie got mucho laughs from me. I thought that it was hilarious!

My Rating: *** (3) out of ****(4)

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
It’s amazing what Eddie Murphy can do with a mediocre script. His energy carries Bowfinger to success, despite the movie being essentially a one gag bit stretched into a feature length film. The concept is clever: A snake of a moviemaker (Steve Martin) has a plan to cast Kit Ramsey (Eddie Murphy), the hottest action star in Hollywood, in his new film without him knowing it. He hires a lookalike (also played by Murphy) for the close ups and then has his other actors interact with Ramsey for additional scenes. The kicker is that Ramsey is paranoid and thinks that aliens are after him, so when strangers filming a movie about an alien attack accost him, well…you get the picture. Murphy’s a hoot as both Ramsey and his “lookalike,” and Steve Martin also gets credit for his performance. There’s more than a bit of Ed Wood in Bobby Bowfinger, and it’s amazing how many crappy movies like “Chubby Rain,” the fictitious movie that he films, actually see the light of day. Hmm…aliens in raindrops (which make the drops, well, chubby). What’s Will Smith doing next Independence Day?

10-point scale rating: 6

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie is for Steve Martin fans. And I'm one of those. The movie got a lot of hype -- "hilariously funny" and "best these two have made." But it didn't quite get there. It was not hilarious (not one person laughed during the showing I attended) and certainly not the best efforts of either Steve Martin or Eddie Murphy. Kind of dumb in a lot of ways. Mildly amusing, but can certainly wait for rental.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
With Steve Martin and Eddie Murphy in this movie, you'd expect a little more humor...The story wasn't well written and the idea wasn't all that. There are some funny parts to get you through to the end. If I were you, I would wait for a discount rental.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
"Bowfinger" was not good at all. How could Steve Martin and Eddie Murphy spoil this? I'll tell you. Actually it wasn't them it was the plot. It was horrible. How old is this plot? It was terribly made. The jokes were all raw. The only thing good about this movie were the trailers. I'll tell you to wait for rental because the acting wasn't bad.

I would rate this ** out of ****

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 26, 2004
"Bowfinger" is a funny movie, and that's rare in those days where they made movies that it don't have laughs and they don't care. These are the people that don't back a product up. But "Bowfinger" is funny. Her's one movie that will make you laugh. Steve Martin who plays the owner of a failed movie studio is trying to get Eddie Murphy to be in one of his action movies. He refused. He then went out a grab a Eddie Murphy lookalike, also played by Eddie Murphy. "Bowfinger" isn't a takeoff of "Goldfinger" the James bond film. It's the name of the studio. "bowfinger" is a very funny send up of Hollywood.



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.