The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 12th, 1998

Directed by Harry Elfont
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:42

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Can't Hardly Wait
Aspiring writer Preston Meyers (Ethan Embry) has been in love with beautiful class knock-out Amanda Beckett (Jennifer Love Hewitt) since freshman year. The big graduation party is his chance to...  View more >

PG-13
teen drinking and sexuality, and for language

Starring Jennifer Love Hewitt, Ethan Embry

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  4 36 See Now! Percent
Good  5 45 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 18 Stay Away! Percent
11 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie was great in my opinion. At first i heard it sucked from many people , but then one friend suggested it so i went. Its funny and entertaining. It is somewhat predictable, but it is enjoyable to watch so that doesn't matter.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Slightly cliche, but still a top notched coming of age movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
In the spirit of such movies as The Breakfast Club, Mallrats, and Empire Records, it portrays the many humors of adolescent life. Can't Hrdly Wait is a great movie to see for those of us who are between the ages of 13 and 25 because those people can relate to the lifes of the characters. It was enjoyable and realistic but at the same time very off-the-wall.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Good date flick, although your heart very well may be stealed by Jennifer Love Hewitt. Its only problem is that it is unrealistic. Seth Green is hilarious as a wannabe gangsta, and Charlie Korsmo shines as a dweeb who for one night experiences popularity, only to be once again humiliated by the popular jerks that befriended him the night before. THAT is realistic (believe me, I know).

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
*Sighs* Grad parties. I love them. I was just at three of them last week, and the movie "Can't Hardly Wait", while a far cry from the parties I attended, has the same spirit and loudness that exists in reality. It's a nice surprise to see a teen movie, in this year, be such a memorable treat. However, "Can't Hardly Wait" is a far cry from the movies it is borrowing from (and in order of how I like them): "Say Anything", "Fast Times At Ridgemont High", "Dazed and Confused", and most forgettably, "Porky's"

Naturally, "Can't Hardly Wait" goes semi Robert Altman and tells a bunch of stories: Preston (Ethan Embry) and his lust for the school babe Amanda (Jennifer Love Hewitt) who just broke up with Mike (Peter Facinelli), Preston's friend Denise (Laura Ambrose) the pretty but shy girl who has a negative look on the school (and the party she is going to), the nerd William (Charlie Korsmo) who plans his revenge at the party, and Kenny, a sex starved guy who carries a bunch of S&M garbage in his backpack at the hopes of getting laid.

The situations all come together at "The Party". To get into this would take pages and pages of typing, and my fingers don't have that much energy to type.

Directed and written by Deborah Kaplan and Harry Elfont, I surprisingly cared about how the movie would turn out, for all the characters. A lot of ground is covered in 100 minutes. Still, this is not a movie where you get completely wrapped up in the experience, transfixed by the emotions of the individuals. This isn't a movie that has a surprising climax. Everything is resolved. Sadly, the plotdidn't expand past the point of just caring for the people. It could have gone further, but it didn't.

Grade: B-

Technical Review:

Picture: 5

Sound: 5 While I did not see this in SDDS (the film's only available digital soundtrack), the Dolby mix was so explosive, with many obvious split surround effects, that the film will be a treasure to watch in the Sony Digital format.

Photography: 2.5 The film seems to be matted to 1.85:1, the film at least is nicely framed in this format if it is matted.

Length: 100 minutes. Columbia. Rated PG13. jwhyte2@hotmail.com. ICQ- 4339199

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
It is too bad that CAN'T HARDLY WAIT is considered a Jennifer Love Hewitt film, because she really is the worst actor in the whole movie. She serves as nothing but eye candy. Okay, okay, so maybe she didn't have a GOOD WILL HUNTING-caliber script, but the was outperformed by everyone. Oh well, if I'm looking for a GOOD young female actress, Miss Hewitt undeniably pales in comparison to, say, Kate Winslet.

Now that I've gotton that off my chest, I'd like to praise some of the "petty" cast members, such as Seth Green, Charlie Korsmo, and Lauren Ambrose, for stealing the show away from Hewitt and Ethan Embry. Sure, this movie is basically a collage of other teen flicks, but what do you expect? This is summer, and originality sure isn't the specialty. If you see this movie, do two things: 1) Enjoy the fine supporting cast, and 2) Try not to wince when Jennifer Love Hewit demonstrates her "acting ability".

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Yet another teen age, graduation flick. The latest: "Can't Hardly Wait" isn't anythingnew, but the performances and humor make it seem very fresh and original. The plot is very simple: a boy named Preston(Ethan Embry) has been in love with Amanda(Jennifer Love Hewitt) Amanda has just been dumped by her boyfriend, Mike. Preston figures it the perfect opportunity to express his feelings. Thats basically the main storyline. There are subplots, but they are suprisingly funny. While not original, good for its type.

Rated PG13 for mild language and some suggestive themes(I'm guessin at this one)

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
this was a cool movie. its about this dorky guy whos in love with a really popular girl who got dumped by her HOTTIE boyfriend. i am kind of like jennifer love hewit becuz im popular (ive been home coming queen both years of high school). i really like JLH. shes still my 2nd favrite actress next to drew barimore. the guy who plays her boyfriend is so hot!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I thought this movie was great, and although Jennifer Love Hewitt isn't my favorite actress, she did a good job. This film shows the reality of high school cliques. If you can remember your high school days, you'll find all of them there. Ethan Embry did a good job as the hopeless romantic in love with the prom queen beauty, along with Charlie Korsmo as the computer geek, Peter Facinelli did an okay job as the extremely egotistical jock, but the best characters in the movie were definately Seth Green and Lauren Ambrose. Seth did an absolutely great job as the wannabe gangsta, and Lauren did a good job as the girl full of mild negativity and boredom. The movie didn't really have a main plot, but was filled with interesting sub-plots. It's the last night of high school, and Preston(Embry) tries to get with the pretty girl he saw on the first day of school, Amanda(Hewitt), just after Mike(Facinelli) has dumped her because he didn't want a pathetic high school girl. William(Korsmo) wants revenge on Mike for tormenting him all through high school, Denise(Ambrose) gets dragged along by her best friend Preston, and somehow gets locked in a bathroom with Kenny(Green), her long since forgotten childhood friend, who's soul purpose for going to the party is to get laid. All in all a great movie, a definate must see.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie, while very predictable, was amusing and satisfying for a night with nothing better to do.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberMay 5, 2003
Seeing Jennifer Love Hewitt in that sexy dress is the only good moment in "Can't Hardly Wait." A dull film about a group of teenagers who is having a party. There's nothing good about this film. the party scene in "Sixteen Candles" is much better.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Can't Hardly Wait.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.