Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Coyote Ugly
Coyote Ugly is the hot Big Apple bar in which 21-year-old Violet Sanford (Piper Perabo) winds up getting a job after venturing to the big city to pursue her dream of becoming a successful songwriter....  View more >

Starring Piper Perabo, Maria Bello, John Goodman...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 6, 2000
Storyline: Innocent New Jersey girl goes to New York to pursue her dreams of
becoming a songwriter.

Violet Sanford (Piper Perabo) leaves the safety of her home in New Jersey and
her job at the local pizza parlor and heads to New York with a dream of being
able to sit in the dark and listen to other people perform her songs.

With her keyboard and guitar in hand, she creates a demo tape, but
unfortunately, no-one will give her the time of day. Low on cash, and
unwilling to give up she starts work at a bar called "Coyote Ugly". "Why
Coyote Ugly?" she asks Lil (Maria Bello), the owner. "When you wake up in
the morning and discover the person you brought home from the bar the night
before is laying on your arm, you wanna chew your arm off just like a coyote
would to get away."

Violet slowly starts to get the hang of things behind the bar until one night
she becomes the star attraction by singing along with the juke box.

Encouraged by her new friend Kevin (Adam Garcia), she slowly works towards
her goal, which will require her overcoming her stage fright and singing
her own songs in front of an audience.

While the movie is little more than "eye candy", I enjoyed the film. Not only
was the story just fine, but who can argue with the likes of Tyra Banks as
fellow bar mates?!

John Goodman plays Violet's father in the film. Unfortunately, he doesn't
play it well, and I felt that this was the worst part of the film. Every time
they shot back to him, I was thinking, "Oh no, not again."

When the movie is in the bar, it's great fun! Turn your mind off and catch
this one at a matinee.

Copyright 2000 - Ron Higgins

No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.
[--- Good ---]by  
Aug 8, 2000
Good to watch when it is raining. Hot girls in the move!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 19, 2000
I thought this movie was going to be nothing but an orgy. However, the minute I saw that Jerry Bruckheimer was producing it I had to see it.

I was actually really suprised that there was a plot and not just a bunch of pretty girls jumping on a bar. The soundtrack features new songs from LeAnn Rimes and leaves you ready to jump on that bar and dance right along with the girls of Coyote Ugly.

Some movies you might enjoy would be Center Stage, Fame, and Footloose. I loved this movie, I suggest jumping off your computer and go see it right now. What are you waiting for?
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 26, 2000
This movie was awesome! It was really really good for many of reasons.

Let's see it has hot girls dancing on a bar, good music, and did I say hot girls! Go see this movie right now!
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Sep 17, 2000
what is wrong with all you people? this movie was terrible!! i went into the theatre, expecting a sort of "cocktail" with women movie... boy, was i wrong.
the movie was filled with bad acting, bad singing, and an extremely predictable plot. you will kill brain cells just by watching it. really.. don't waste your money.. or time.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Nov 2, 2000
I liked it, contrary to what I heard about it. It seems like it was advertized purely as "5 model chicks working in a bar" but it turned out to have a plot of a nice romantic comedy.
[--- Good ---]by  
Dec 16, 2000
This movie is the best movie ever. If you like to watch fun, and exiting movies, well get your ass out and go see this one. This movie gets you going.

You will see the coolest things that these chicks do at this one bar. They dance up on the bar counter, throw bottles of alcohol behind their backs, then catch them. These girls get the whole bar wild, with laughter, dancing, singing, etc.

Trust me, go out to see this movie, if you haven't yet.
Sep 21, 2003
"Coyote Ugly" is a one of the best guilty pleasure movies that I saw in years. I don't care if the script is good or not. I fell in love with five of the most wonderful women in the movie. Piper Perabo plays a 21-year-old would be musican who ended up serving beer at the "Coyote Ugly." It may not be a good movie, but I like it. Watching those women doing their thing is good enough for a recommendation from me.
Nov 10, 2003
Women dancing on bars, how can you not like that??

There's even a little bit of plot to surround the action and the attitude of a bunch of women who run a bar, and the new girl who just wants to get by until her career takes off.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Coyote Ugly.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook