Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Dark City
When John Murdoch (Rufus Sewell) wakes with no memory at the scene of a grisly murder he soon finds himself hunted by the police, a woman claiming to be his wife, and a mysterious group of pale men...  View more >

Starring Rufus Sewell, William Hurt, Kiefer Sutherland...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It is certainly the best movie this year, at least for now, it reminded me of watching the game, a weird movie. The storyline is really philosophical, well for me, we could get things out of this movie, i won't tell to not spoil it for people who haven't seen it, but all i can say is go watch it. I can't understand how my friend got asleep during the movie, it had intrigue from beginning to end, not a lot of time for a really brief starting because he starts right there in the bathtub, amnesia. But while watching it, it reminded me of an old hong kong movie, well i won't tell anything else to not spoil it.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is a "bizarro" movie. The society that it takes place in is quite unique. It has a "Tim Burton" feel.

If you enjoy brainless entertainment, or if you prefer extreme realism in your movies, don't see this.

If you enjoy strangeness, consider "Dark City".

If you want to think and philosophize a bit, or think and philosophize a lot, you should enjoy "Dark City".

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I just recently saw the new Alex Proyas film, "Dark City", and let me tell you if you think Hollywood has no imagination, get yourself to a theatre right now and see this masterpiece!!! This is the type of film that, for the first time since the original "Batman", shows you a world you have NEVER seen before. I'll start with the plot. John Murdoch wakens in a hotel with no memory. Trying to piece together what has happened to him, an evil group known as The Strangers control the city an can stop time at their will. While trying to get his memory back, Murdoch must figure cope with his wife, the Strangers, a detective who wants him in for prostitution murders, and who not to trust, because The Strangers affect everyone in the city. The Climax is one to definetly be remembered in cinema history. I invite anyone who to this film who wants to see an ORIGINAL movie with an imagination.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Dark City is a visually stunning masterpiece. A man wakes up one night with no memory in a city that never sees daylight. Soon he is chased by men called Strangers who want him dead. He soon finds out the whole city is part of a secret experiment. I'm not going to reveal anymore(trust me,it's more fun if you find out on your own. The plot is excellent, and so are the performances and special effects. The production design is great and so is the directing, and cinematography. If you go see this go to the bathroom beforehand because they keep revealing a little more of the plot every few minutes.

Jan 25, 2000
First of all...I kinda liked it. Let's cut to the chase here...if you liked "The Crow" or any of the "Hellraiser" or "Batman" movies, then you will love the scenery in this film. It is dark, I swear they saved tons of money on electricity, because it looked like it was filmed using flashlights. Without a doubt, this movie lives up to it's name, "Dark City". I personally don't care for films with such darkness; but I found myself overlooking that and concentrating on the combination crime-drama and "X-files" storyline and the freaky-looking characters. Sewell, Sutherland and Connelly are all great in this film. The three walking psycho-alien killers are something you will never want to run into, although personally, I would already think something was wrong with our world if the sun never shined. The basic premise of the film is that something is happening to the people on this planet, and no one is really even aware of it exactly, except for a few characters who are going to have a hard time convincing others of it. Bottom line...if you like the "X-files" along with really dark scenery, then this film is for you.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
My kind of movie! "Dark City" maintains an amazingly consistent, eerie feel to it, at times borderline spectacular. It is a movie right out of the twilight zone. I loved it!

If there is a problem with this film, it was that it was perhaps a little overly ambitious. At the end, it seemed as though the movie collapsed under its own weight. It sort of lost its ambiguity, by trying to explain too much of itself.

Big-time "weird" movies are not easy to pull off. That's probably the reason we don't see too many of them. David Lynch seems to crank one out every so often, but his movies are just a little TOO ambiguous. I think we need to see a little something in between "Lost Highway" and "Dark City." But this is certainly the best "weird" movie in while, a superior effort in many accounts especially in these days and times. If only more movies would exhibit this sort of creativity and daring to make something "a little different!"

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
First, I want to say that I'm only giving this film a "STAY AWAY!" rating because I think that the typical, American moviegoer who is used to easily understood plotlines and neat and tidy endings would be shocked, dazed & confused from beginning to end, and probably be more frustrated than anything. But if you go to this movie prepared for what it will offer you, that is AMAZING visuals, both in terms of special effects and imagined realities, you can sit back and let it hit you while you try to take in every minute detail that speeds by before you can really process it. On that level, as an experience to be passively observed and absorbed, this film delivers an amazing dose of mind-stirring images and concepts.

However, I must say that both the actual plot and dialog leave a lot to be desired... I kept waiting for a bigger message or some sort of clue to what was going on or what to take from this experience....and it's not easy in coming...

May 12, 2003
"Dark City" is a about a city, or was it? A film that has people guessing until the end. That what movies are supose to do, keep the moviegoers on edge. This film looks dark and dreary, but it full of unusual characters. The film entertains us in the most unusual way.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Dark City.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook