Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Deep Blue Sea
A scientist performing brain cancer research on sharks unwittingly creates smarter sharks with an attitude.

Starring Samuel L. Jackson, Deborah Unger, Jacqueline McKenzie...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I quit bitting my nails 26 years ago, but thanks to "Deep Blue Sea" I just about chewed my left forefinger down to the cuticle. Boy! does it hurt.

P.S. It makes "JAWS" look like foreplay.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Scared me more than any movie since Alien.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A month, or even a week ago if someone told me I would be recommending this film I would have smacked em. But as it is, I loved Deep Blue Sea, the thing is I didn't want to see it. The fact is I saw it, and loved it. Now summer films, USED to be all about brainless fun, action, and effects, and each year the number of these films dwindle. This summer Wild Wild West attempted, but it is only brainless, and contains effects. Deep Blue Sea on the other hand, is fun, filled with action and effects, but actually contains a damn good script. Now I know you're sayin "It's a friggin monster movie how good could it be?" my answer, Very Good, most films like this you know who's gonna meet there demise next, or you may know for sure who is going to survive the ordeal. Now to prove this out, out of the 7 or 8 people who started out during the crisis, at LEAST 2 were killed that you wouldn't expect, one because of the basis of the scene and another because it catches you so off guard you can't help but laugh in surprise, even if you may like that character. What this film is, is an overlapping of great action scenes, because this is a great action movie. Filled with action, surprises, and more than a few likable characters.

Rated R-for gory shark attacks, profanity, and animal cruelty

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I really did not want to see this movie, but it kept my interest until the end. Lots of action, lots of gore. The plot is exactly what you would expect with just a few extra suprises. If you are going to see it, definitely see in on the big screen -- the big effects and action are what keeps your attention.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was about what I expected it to be: a solid, intense, summer action movie with great special effects. The story here really doesn't matter too much, it has to do with doctors doing research on sharks looking for a cure for alzheimers. Or something like that. It really doesn't matter. What matters is that once the action gets going in this movie, it doesn't stop until the end. And the action is intense. Like every movie of this type (e.g. Anaconda) there are a few ridiculous scenes that you just have to laugh at. But this movie is one of the more clever "monster" movies I have seen. It is anything but predictable. So, if you are looking for an exciting action movie with great effects, this is your movie.

My rating: *** 1/2 out of *****

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Deep Blue Sea is a movie that I compare to "anaconda" , but it's what Anaconda would be if it wasn't so bad. That movie is somewhat predictable and this one isn't. Sometimes you really don't expect the shark attacks, which is very suspensful. The cast is good, with a lot of new faces. This is a good animal horror movie, with good effects on the most part. Sometimes the sharks look fake, but then they make up for it a few scenes later. LL Cool J is funny, but the sad part is that for the majority of the movie he only has lines with a bird.

My Rating: **1/2 (2.5) out of ****(4)

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The unpredictability was what made this movie work. Normally, in movies like this, you suspect when the shark's going to attack, and you have a good idea who will die next and who will survive to the end--all according to formula. Not here.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I would imagine that if you are in your teens, this would be a real terrific and scary movie. The premise was a good one - it's just the movie that was horrible. It was compared to Jaws. Well, that was one of the top 5 money making films in all of movie history. The only comparison between this and Jaws is that they were both seen in a theater. This movie is garbage and it will be at the budget shortly. Enjoy if you have cash and time to waste.

rating0.5/4

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
When the movie started out the first 5 mins. were great but after that it was long and predicable and not worth the phoney ending

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I think the producers were trying to surpass "JAWS" in this one but you can't do that against one of the top grossing films of all time. I didn't see one special effect that the artists did that could surpass "JAWS" and there is only so much you can do with a mechanical shark. This won't even play well at the budget; forget it and move on to something with a more suspenseful plot!!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I work with movies so I can never relax to a movie. I always think about the effects and the cameramovments. But this movie!! I can only say WOW!!! I forgot all about it. Good story, nice editing and not to speak bout the sharks. In all the outher shark movies the people are safe as long as they stay away from the water. In Deep blue sea, The water follows them around in the small and dark underwater rooms. If you have a heart problem, DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE !! If you are looking for a nice time, Deep Blue Sea is it.

May 20, 2003
Do we really need another shark movie? "Deep Blue Sea" is a silly shark movie, even sillier than the last two Jaws movies. There's nothing amusing about this movie, except you sat there watching person after person being eaten alive by the shark. Kind of boring isn't it?

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Deep Blue Sea.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook