Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Dogma
The latest battle in the eternal war between Good and Evil has come to New Jersey in the late, late 20th Century. In Kevin Smith's comic fantasia DOGMA, angels, demons, apostles and prophets (of a...  View more >

Starring Ben Affleck, Matt Damon, Linda Fiorentino...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
hi, this is adam. i would like to tell you about how much i liked this movie. the reason i liked it was because the title of the movie is DOGma and coincidentally, i own a dog!!!!! his name is max and he's my very best friend. ever since i got cut from the jv baseball team, i've had no friends, but max has always been there for me. the only reason i lock him up in the kitchen is because otherwise he'll pee all over the house like he did when he was a little kid. anyways this movie inspired me to ask my dad to be my friend so now i will have two. its a great movie if u really like good movies, i give it an A+

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was one of the best movies on the subject of religion i have ever seen. it was funny, insightful, and outright hilarious in some spots. as the opening credits state, this is not a political or religous statment, its just a movie, and it was a very good movie! The story was fun,The writing was excelent, and they did there biblical research, i only spotted one error, though i must admit it was a big one, the name of the angel of death was "AZREL" not "LOKI" but one mistake like that i can forgive. (even if i don't understand why they made it when everthing else was so well researched.) The acting was great, and even if it wasn't ment as a religious statment,if you have anything remotly resembling an open mind, it will make you think! 5 out of 5!!!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was a seriously weird movie!! I was not sure what to expect when i saw it but it was different. I am not sure what to say so as not to spoil it, tho there isn't much to spoil. I would see the new 007 movie or somethin else because this was truly an odd movie. Those who are catholic may understand some of the scathing remarks about them. Tho i am a fan of george carlin, and j and silent bob, they did all they could with a weird script. It could be offensive or thouhg provoking, well i dono what to think of it, but out of 5 stars this got a not so intuisiastic *1/2 out of ****

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
WOW! What a fun yet great message movie. Be prepared to read for the first few minutes of the film thought as it starts with the funniest disclaimer I have ever read. Director Kevin Smith is in prime form in this his 4th film. While this film is pro faith and pro God, it is not at all preachy. If you have not seen Smith's other films ("Clerks", "Mallrats" and "Chasing Amy") there will be a few in-jokes and references that you will miss out on but they will in no way interfere with your enjoying this film. Being a costumer, I thought the angel's wings were fantasticly done, pay attention to Loki's first T-shirt and God's outfits are very nice. I could go on and on about this film, so get out to the theatres soon to see this film before it leaves.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
What can I say. I've delved into religion of many different statures and really this is a funny romp that has some real good points. Points that are made by different scholars as to why each man's adopted religion may not be as sound as he thought. I was hoping for a bit more of this, but with what it had, the movie was already called a "religion bashing" movie. Hardly. Maybe a bashing of MAN'S religons, but not God's. Religions were created by men and thus flawed, and this movie just comes out and says it. It asks you to ask questions, to find answers, and it does it in a funny way. Way to go Silent Bob, great flick.

Jan 25, 2000
First of all...I hated it. Ben Affleck and Matt Damon truly bombed in making this film. You may have heard that many Catholics are outraged at this film...no wonder...it is a rotten film. It's boring, it's stupid, and it has no redeeming qualities. Forget the whole religious offensiveness bit, this movie simply stinks. Bottom line....the title should have been "Ernest Gets Kicked Out of Heaven and Then Trys To Sneak Back In."

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Not for the easily offended, Dogma has more than its share of funny monents within a complex plot. It is both a thought provoking movie and a feel good movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
After Chasing Amy, Kevin Smith continues to develop as a film maker, of course with tongue planted firmly in cheek. If you are catholic and can laugh at yourself, and our sometimes stodgy religion watch this immediately. If not then continue to watch "touched by an angel" and fall asleep accordingly. This film find humor and pathos in religion, with great dialogue and a wonderful ensemble cast. But, for those who are looking for an anti religous film, you will not find it here, this is a film about faith. Like it or not, this film delves into the belief of a higher existence, even if the higher existence is really funny and gets drunk occasionally. Kevin Smith is the new writer, director, to watch with consistency in his films and dialogue.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Dogma is one of the funniest recent movies. Actually, it's just plain one of the funniest movies. It ranks up there with Kevin Smith's other work-Chasing Amy, Clerks, and Mallrats. See it now!

My rating: A+

Aug 16, 2005
Kevin Smith's very funny take on religion is a film called Dogma, a humerous look at religion. A lot of people are protesting the failmm calling it offensive. Why? I sat thought many offensive movies and "Dogma" isn't one of them. A very funny movie.Jay and Silent Bob are in it. (Modern-Day answer to Laurel and Hardy) and Alanis Morisette as God. She's the best thing in the movie.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Dogma.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook