The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 25th, 1998

Directed by Robert Rodriguez
Genre: SciFi/Fantasy
Running Time: 1:44

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Faculty
Students suspect that their teachers are aliens after bizarre occurances.  View more >

R
violence, gore, profanity, nudity

Starring Elijah Wood, Josh Hartnett, Clea DuVall...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  8 57 See Now! Percent
Good  5 36 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 7 Stay Away! Percent
14 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
"The Faculty" is the latest of the teen horror flicks, this time director Robert Rodriguez(From Dusk Till Dawn) and writer Kevin Williamson(Scream) shoot for sci-fi, and it works well. This film follows a "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" plot where a group of kids who don't normally get along(Breakfast Club) are fighting for their lives.The most "popular" actors in this movie are Elijah Wood, Robert Patrick(T1000), and Usher. They all do decent. The best performance is the town rebel kid named Zeke. As far as acting the cast serves its purpose. The writing and directing is much better than some of the other crappy teen horror films I've had to sit through and all in all this was an extremely welcome surprise.Seemed too short though.

*** out of ****

Rated R for violence gore and language

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
The Faculty was a great movie. The plot twistest and turn and you never know what will hapen next. I recommend this movie for people that enjoy suspence/thriller movies. It's funny but at the same time you're scared.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
If it hadn't been for my good bud Jason, I wouldn't have seen this movie in the theaters. I went into the theater thinking we'd both hate it, but surprisingly, we both game out happy! The story line is pretty simple. A group of average high school students think their staff have been taken over by aliens. They're right! The friends begin to fight back the only way they can kill the aliens - one students drugs. The movie is full of surprises, especially when you find out who the "mother alien" or "alien queen" is! I can tell you, it shocked me!

Picture: 5.0 out of 5.0 The picture was well presented, with very little snow present. Sound: 4.5 out of 5.0 I thought the volume and sound effects could have been better.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
When you go into a Kevin Williamson movie, your expectations are bound to be high. The SCREAM films are deeply brilliant: moving and politically fascinating as they expose the U.S.'s obsession with Conservative values as the cause of "Generation-Why?"-'90s-teen nihilism and not horror film "nightmares of depravity"--it's one big "F*** You! Bob Dole!" I loved both SCREAMs. However, those were directed by a culturally and politically minded director, Wes Craven. Robert Rodriguez isn't such a director, he's a virtuoso hotshot of low-brow genres--giving them flash, not depth. And maybe, just maybe, that makes "The Faculty" work--he has "Just Another Brick on the Wall" play along with a football game: small-town American fascist ritual or MTV turn-on for the jocks in the audience?--or both? It's got some good scares (I jumped about a foot and a half out of my seat at one point). It's got some nice Williamson touches (I like the bit about the history of Body Snatcher movies--we always lose--and the bit about how maybe sf films, TV shows, and books are only a coverup to blind the people of the actual invasion--cute "X-Files" paranoia). But this is more than sf/horror, this is '80s John Hughes territory, a gross-out riff on "The Breakfast Club." That was an ambiguous work that ultimately brought about a happy ending through Reagan-era conformity, though the film left it open about whether the ties would stay.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I never seen to much blood in a almost 2 hrs movie I like rodriguez good homor The way they handle the aliens on the facuilty is the colest thing I have never seen.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
First of all...I liked it. Again, the only reason I see horror films is because I am trying to be the best movie reviewer around, one that is willing to put the public's welfare before my own. Despite my tendancy to sometimes scream out loud and jump out of my seat, I, and those sitting around me did enjoy this film. Okay a few readers may be wondering how can the audience believe that aliens took over the faculty of this high school with plans to conquer the world...well it could happen. How many times have you sat back in class and wanted to scream out loud and ask the instructor "what planet are you from?", but backed down for fear of their response. The same applies to this story, except these students did something about it! Bottom line...while this is a good film, it won't be used as a teacher recruiting film anytime soon

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie was a great horror film! You'll be scared to go to school for weeks. It's a knock-your-socks off film. You'd never guess who the queen is. If you believe in stuff like aliens it's a movie for you!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
It was the best movie I've ever seen! I loved it and I'd see it again!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I must admit. I've never seen any Robert Rodriguez films except this one, and the only Kevin Williamson film I've seen is "SCREAM", which I thought was... uh, *gory*. (Weak plot. What was the killer's motive, huh?) Anyways, none of that inspired me to like this movie. And I really did like it. What's with bashing the humor? I thought the humor was great. ("I'm sorry, I was breathing here" springs to mind. that's 'flat'?) So, maybe THE FACULTY did rip off "The Breakfast Club", "Invasion of the Body Snatchers," "The X-Files," and...even--especially--Animorphs. But, that doesn't matter. I really liked this movie's suspense. I am a weak, easily-frightened person who succumbs to suspense, but really, I liked not knowing what would happen with this movie. The drug-sniffing scene I found riveting actually. Zeke's intelligence may be hard to swallow (come on, the guy sells drugs and condoms from the back of his car), but all the characters are portrayed quite well. I liked Elijah Wood in this movie. The school geek thing works for him. I haven't seen Clea Duvall before, but I liked the way she played out the friendless outcast role. And the "T1000"? The football coach...man, what a FREAKY guy!! The only thing I remotely didn't like about this film was the very last line, spoken by Casey. Uh, dur. Lame... So, there it is. Anyways, I highly recommend you see this film. I place it way up there with movies like The Parent Trap and Men In Black. Maybe to your surprise, the highlight of my trip to the movies wasn't seeing the two girls outside sitting on the bench, eyes glued to a teeny-bopper magazine with 'N Sync on the cover, saying, "That's his MOM!"

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I love this film. Who think up this kinda stuff? Alien teachers take over the school. This film got a great cast and the acting is very good. In my opinion, I think that this movie is much better than Scream 2 and I Still Know What You Did Last Summer. There is some jokes in this movie almost make me wet my pants. The Faculty is a must see.

**** out of ****

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This is the best horror film I have ever seen (right beside Psycho, The Shining, and how could I forget Carrie.)This is a great horror movie. All of the acting is good. Josh Hartnett as Zeke is the best. Elijah Wood, Shawn Hatosy and Laura Harris II are all pretty good. Salma Hayek is very good. Bebe Neuwirth is fair. Clea DuVall is great. And last but not least Jardana Brewster acts very good.

Kevin Williamson (scream) brings you a great movie called "The Faculty". This movie is about six kids Zeke, Stokely, Marybeth, Stan, and Delilah. It just so happens that there school is in the process of being abducted by aliens. Soon every kid in the school was an alein except of course the six students. Zeke, the school drug dealer discovers that his caffeine filled pens are the only thing that will kill the aliens. But, they don't want to kill that many aliens because once you kill the alien that started this. Every body turns back into a human.

I would rate this ***1/2 out of *****

P.S. I am that ten year old kid that can see R movies. Oh yeah and theres me a Mattt with three t's and then theres the normal Matt with two t's. I just wanted you to be aware that we're two different reviewers.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I went to this movie thinking that I would like it the same way that I liked Scream. But, I didn't. This movie is so boring and drab that I just wanted to leave, but I didn't I wanted to be able to review it and to do that I think you have to stay for the whole movie and that is the only reason I did. Also because I paid five dollars to see it.

* 1 star

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberMay 13, 2003
"The Faculty" is a smart science fiction/horror film about a group of high school kids who battle aliens after they took over the bodies of their teachers. This film is scary good mindless fun. The film will make you grab hold of the chair and never let go. This is what science fiction and horror films should be all about. Too many of them are bad, This film isn't one of them.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
Surprisingly good action/horror movie, but definitely not at the same level as Nightmare on Elm Street or the first two Aliens movies.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Faculty.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.