The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, December 19th, 2001

Directed by Peter Jackson
Genre: Action
Running Time: 2:58

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
Academy Award® Winner
This long-awaited screen presentation of J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings trilogy is helmed by Peter Jackson (The Frighteners) and promises to be an incredible realization of Tolkien's work.  View more >

PG-13
epic battle sequences and some scary images

Starring Elijah Wood, Sean Astin, Ian Holm...  View more >

Oscar ® Winner for Best Original Score, Best Visual Effects, Achievement in Cinematography, Best Makeup
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  31 72 See Now! Percent
Good  7 16 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  4 9 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 2 Stay Away! Percent
43 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 19, 2001
This movie is unbelievable! So much attention to detail, so much depth, action, adventure, and even a little romance! This is by far the best film of the last few years, if not ever. Don't wait, make it a priority to see this film!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 19, 2001
The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring is like Ivory Soap: itís 99.9% pure. That is, it is 99.9% faithful to Tolkienís Fellowship of the Ring.

This is highly desirable, because Tolkienís Lord of the Rings trilogy is the greatest fantasy novel written in the twentieth century. This movie has outstanding acting and exceptional scenery & special effects. Peter Jackson did an extraordinary job directing his masterpiece.

As usual, the book is better than the movie, but the movie is still well worth watching.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 19, 2001
Saw the 12:00pm showing. I got there 1 hour before and i still had to stand in line. But got a great stadium seat. 3 hours was way to short. It ended and I was like " What, it just started".

Being that the closest I have come to reading Tolkien was watching the cartoon 'The Hobbit". This movie was totaly awesome. I am a avid D&D roleplayer and if this wasn't the best reprisintation(sorry for the spelling) of the D&D world i don't what else could beat it. The whole thing was great. The ringwraiths were scary as hell and the Balrog was the best ever. Anyway i give it a 100 our 10.

YEE HAAA

OMG It was awesome. If you like Dungeons and Dragons or just plain old fantasy. This movie is for you. This movie will be a landmark of future movies.

The creation of the characters is awesome. Making them look the right size in contrast to the others has never been done and they TOTALY did it. Everything is the movie has the greatest detail. All the of the monsters and people all look like title characters.

I can't wait for the next 2 movies. I personally can't find a bad thing about this movie. Only that I wish they would have just did a 9 hour movie instead of 3 different.

GO LOTR
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 19, 2001
Here's my one-word summary: WOW!

As someone who read the books, I was worried about how something so long could be trimmed into a movie without losing anything important. I think the scriptwriters did an excellent job of deciding what to trim and what to keep. While the movie isn't exactly the same as the book, it's very close in all the places that matter to the plot.

They did an excellent job of making the characters come to life such that they spoke and looked much like I imagined. (The depiction of Strider was spot-on the same as what I had in my head when I read the books).

They spent years getting this movie just right and it shows.

The scenery makes me want to take a vacation to New Zealand. (Where the movie was filmed.)

The only downsides I can think of are related to those who have not read the books: There is an introduction that seems epic and intense for those who know the story, but might seem rushed and confused for those who don't. Also, while they show snippets of Tolkien's wonderful maps in the movie, they don't use them to help show the audience where the action is taking place. Someone who doesn't already know the map might be missing the sense of where they are in the journey.

I could easily see this again several times, even though it is three hours long.

Oh yeah - there's one more downside to the movie. I have to wait 12 months for the sequel and it left me bouncing with anticipation for it.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 19, 2001
Bravo, Bravo! Peter Jackson. You have delivered what you have promised.

I have just seen the local movie premiere of "The Fellowship of the Rings". I have to admit this movie is better than I would ever have expected. In fact it is a wish come true.

30 years ago I read the trilogy while in college. At that time I wished a movie version could be made preserving the magic and enchantment intended by Tolkien. I found myself experiencing the near same feelings and emotions that captivated me while reading the books in the first place.

This is not perhaps a movie for the non Tolkien reader or for those without imagination. I now feel as I felt then. I cannot wait to experience the sequel. I have two questions. Do we really have to wait a whole year for "The Two Towers"? When will Mr. Jackson continue and do justice to the prequel "The Silmarillion" when "The Return of the King" has been released?
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 19, 2001
Words can't even describe the movie I saw

This is probably one of the best, if not THE BEST, book adapations ever. It stayed way true to the book and didn't totally cut through Tolkien's books and just take the parts that seemed like they would attract an audience.

There is no way that I can honestly express the way that Jackson brought the books to life here.

Wood was very very good as Frodo. You really can believe without a doube that he is Frodo Baggins

Ian McKellan's performance was beyond words. He truley was Gandalf. From the fierceness at the end of the film and his relization that Saruman betrayed him and joined with the dark forces to the feeling of deep friendship he had in his scenes with Bilbo.

Christopher Lee was great as Saruman. He really portrays villians to an art and this was another example of what an extrodinary actor he is. I can't wait to see his performances in the next two films or his work as Count Dooka in Star Wars: Episode 2

Ian Holm was great as Bilbo. Since we don't get to see all of the great Bilbo scenes from "The Hobbit", you only get a small glance at Bilbo if you've never read "The Hobbit" before seeing the film. But watching Bilbo's emotional scenes about giving up the ring and the jump out of my seat scary as all heel weird look/face that he gave Frodo in Rivendell when he wanted to hold the ring but Frodo wouldn't let him was off the page.

Pippen and Merry were great in the film and brought some comedy to the picture but not in an all out way, but very subtle.

Worries about Liv Tyler's performance were expelled as she was awesome in the film.

Cate Blanchett as Galadriel was a great performance too, especially when Frodo offered her the ring willingly. Man, scary stuff

Sean Austin (bad spelling) as Sam was perfect. You really felt for Sam and his undying loyalty to Frodo, especially at the end when Frodo decides to head off alone but Sam won't hear none of it

and what about Gollum? Man, simply awesome. Just hearing the "My...prescious" from him was great. He looked superb from what we were shown. Can't wait to see him more in future films.

Overall, one of the best masterpieces ever laid out on film. A true piece of art for all time.

But one note, there are some who haven't read the books who will go see this movie. While many can enjoy what they see and thanks to an intro part in the beginning whice explains a good deal of the story up until the beginning, they can figure out most of it.

But rest assured, this is not Harry Potter. This is not all broomsticks and having fun and stuff for the kids. This movie has some very dark elements that you may not want to let you kids see. So don't come home and write up: "Oh well, it was too dark and my kids were scared". If you read the novels, you know the trilogy has many dark parts to it and may not be suitable for the young kids.

For that, take them to see Harry Potter
[--- Good ---]by  Dec 19, 2001
I read the other reviews and since I did not read the books ( I am NOw ) we felt the movie dragged on to long. The scenery was great the stars were great but some of the fight scenes were very grafic. I'm not sure I would want young children to be exsposed to this kind of action.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 20, 2001
This was far and away better that even I had hoped for! The trailers looked great, but the final product put the trailers to shame!

The Balrog gave me chills,

The Ring Wraiths were awsom,

The characters were very well acted,

And the story was very fathfull to the original....

Just one small problem... and it may only be a issue for Tolkien fans, but whay wasn't Aragorns sword reforged in Rivendell?

and without the "Broken sword reforged"... how will he become king of Minas Turith?

so i have to reluctantly give it only 4 3/4 out of 5...

What about the sword?
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 20, 2001
I was so excited about this movie I was afraid of getting too excited. I was afraid that it would be some hack job that would never live up to the mastery of Tolkein's books. While the book is always better than the movie, this is the closest I have ever seen of a movie getting to being as good as the book.

The cinematography was breath-taking, while the special effects dazzled me, I was still able to concentrate on the story that was unfolding in front of me and not miss it. Some movies over do the effects and drown out the plot, but I feel that this one had the right combination of the two. You could really see how all of the pre-planning had paid off.

Bravo!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 20, 2001
This movie was great. Lots of action and adventure, and the detail was amazing.
Hope the next installment is as good as this one.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 20, 2001
I am a fan of the books. I expected this movie to be awesome, and it did not disappoint.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 20, 2001
You have to see this movie if you are a big fan of the Lord of the Rings series, like me! You will love the way the actors and actresses act! And the emotion is just wonderful! And the effects!

I saw it last night and I want to see it again! Elijah Wood is EXCELLENT as Frodo Baggins! And Gollum is just...wow! And, our lovable Pippin and Merry are wonderful too! And the beauctiful Arwen and Galadriel!

The is deffinetly a MUST SEE! It's my favorite movie!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 21, 2001
Simply excellent. This film was 3 hours long, and when it ended I thought I had only been there for 30 minutes.

I had my doubts about Liv Tyler as well, yet she was perfect, and incredibly beautiful in this role.

Bilbo's obsession over the ring is portrayed wonderfully, and 'the look' he gives Frodo will give you the creeps.

It would have been neat to hear one of Led Zeppelins songs in the movie, maybe in one of the battle scenes. Many of their songs were heavily influenced by J.R.R Tolkien, and could have fit. Maybe.....
[--- Good ---]by  Dec 22, 2001
This movie oozes style and atmosphere. . . huge, swooping camera shots of fantastical sets help put you in the mood for some good fantasy. The special effects were pretty good, but I was unimpressed by the Balrog. It looked like something out of a videogame.

All the action scenes are strung along nicely, but the thing I have to complain about is that as one movie, not a part of a trilogy or something based on a book, but as ONE movie with nothing else surrounding it, it doesn't have a payoff. There's three hours of thrilling action, decent dialogue, and wonderful acting, and then it just. . . stops. The last fifteen minutes or so set up plenty of things for the characters to do in the next movie but doesn't resolve anything that had happened in the last three hours. When the movie suddenly stopped and the credits started rolling, the people in the theater I was in stayed in their seats, staring in disbelief at the screen.

It's a great movie with a few good messages and great action scenes, and if you can see past the abrupt ending and wait patiently for the next installment, you'll love it.
[--- Good ---]by  Dec 22, 2001
I loved the beautiful scenery in this film.. "Lord of the Rings"..

The Hobitts lived in the Middle Earth with houses built into the sides of hills and beautiful flowers all about and dearly loved characters (this whole film is made in New Zealand, this country is beautiful with rolling land and waterfalls, deep lovely terrain, etc)

BUT the war starts between the good and evil...over this Golden Ring forged by the Evil Dark Lord called Sauron...

I had to close my eyes through half of this movie as the waring was so frequent and the grotesque evil figures were not fun to see with their hugh swords and axes in very darkened landscapes..

Many said that Hollywood made this story into a action film....and it was alot of violent action...lots

The movie is 3 hours long but did not seem long despite the violence. The movie ended abruptly as it was just 1 of 3 in a trilogy ...The ending left me wondering what would happen to the hero, Frodo.

There are some marvelous lines in the movie where the Frodo is told by the Wizard, Gandalf that "even the smallest person can change the course of the future"...Frodo wished the ring would never have come to him but Gandalf tells him that "you have to decide what you want to do with the time that is given to you"
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 23, 2001
For those of you who have not read the book first, like me, you will most likely have to see this movie twice. The first time you will enjoy it, but much will pass over your head. The second time, however, will be incredible, and you will judge it to be one of the finest films of this genre ever created.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 23, 2001
Superb character portrayal and development.

Enthralling scenery and special effects.

I wish:
It had included the hobbits' journey through the woods that led them to Tom Bombadil, before they got to the Inn at Brandybuck, where they met Strider.

I also wish:
The producers had followed the story more accurately at the crossing of the River where Frodo was pursued by the Riders. He actually rode over alone on Legolas' super-fast steed, and didn't he use the ring at that point also?

But all in all, it was really fantastic-

Wouldn't have minded a bit if it had been another 45 minutes in length.

Au revoir.
[--- Good ---]by  Dec 25, 2001
FOTR was not a bad movie. But it also was not great.

After months of waiting and hearing many glowing positive reviews I finally saw the movie and I have to admit that it was not what I was expecting.

Yes, everyone is praising the cast-but to me Aragorn (played by Viggo Mortensen) was a let down. Especially with how great he came across in the book. He was my favorite character, and his role in the movie was reduced to a minor leader. He was more wimpy in the movie than in the book. There's something wrong when Baromir (wonderfully played by Sean Bean) is far more dominant than Aragorn. I thought to myself, why isn't the actor playing Baromir playing the part of Aragorn? He was fantastic!

Besides this, the most annoying aspect of the movie was the camera shots. Everything was not only too TOO tight- Jackson transitioned from one shot to the next in a very odd manner. It reminded me of power rangers. With the fast zoom ins to orcs snarling and running.

The movie also came across as campy. An example being when we the orcs forging weapons of war. Campiness is a word that came to my mind a lot. I did not expect camp. I expected more seriousness. The camera shots weaved and moved while the orcs hissed and growled into the camera. The orcs were a negative in the movie. Very disappointing.

I wanted this movie to be great. It was good but missed the mark for these flaws which really troubled me. Maybe my opinions will change after a second viewing of the movie but for now that's my feelings. Decent movie but certainly not the 'greatest ever' as some have implied. To imply that is just pure silliness.
[--- Good ---]by  Dec 25, 2001
As fantasy movies go this one is entertaining. Not having read the Ring cycle, I was able to view this as a movie with no other expectations. The action sequences and special effects were above average. And the film had no end of action. Elijah Wood was surprisingly good in the part of Frodo. One wonders if the reason the film was two and a half hours was the fact the there will be sequels and will all the sequels be two and a half hours?

This film was good enough to attract me to a sequel, but not much more than that. Frodo is going to have to do his job in the second movie. If that means fooling around with the books, so be it.

The cast was a good one, but poor Elijah had to match the English accent with the others, except for Sean Astin who did not attempt it. That was smart. Wood's was a little forced, but he managed his characater well.

Making Hobbits look smaller than humans was an interesting cinematic effect. At first it was uncomfortable, but the viewer was able to get used to it.

I have no idea if Tolkein fans will like this.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Dec 25, 2001
This movie is not suitable for any child under the age of 16. There are a lot of macabre plot twists, direct references to witchcraft, and intensely dark, as in evil, battle scenes. There are a lot of adult themes throughout this movie. Most children have not had enough life experiences which would equip their minds to deal adequately with the messages of this movie.

Some of the battle scenes reminded me of scenes from the Excorcist. I don't recommend this movie to anyone. It's depressing, and many of the scenes have a dark, forboding sense of oppression to them.

Don't waste your money.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 25, 2001
I though harry potter was great, but this was EXCELLENT. I cannot wait until the next one! SEE IT NOW
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 27, 2001
This movie is absolutely incredible and held my attention for the entire 3 hours. The acting was great, and the special effects were stunning.

Although the battle scenes and monsters are a bit graphic, anyone above 10 years old would really love this movie. Read the book too, it is even better than the movie. I cannot wait for the next one to come out.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 27, 2001
Finally a Fantasy Movie that doesn't try to dazzle you with so much special effects that the story gets lost. I've read "Fellowship", so I pretty much knew the storyline going in. I give director Peter Jackson alot of credit for staying pretty faithful to the book and also creating his own original vision.

The movie is definately for older viewers. I saw commercials on TV with critics saying that "it's a movie for the whole family to see"....no quite.

I can't truly say there was anything I really disliked about the movie. Of course everyone has their favorite parts of the book they wanted to see on the big screen, but we can't have everything.

*The Acting was pretty solid, but I don't see any Academy awards performances..

*The Scenery was awesome...this movie will definatly boost New Zealands tourism!

*The Music is good...nothing overly original...a little "Braveheart'ish"

*The Special Effects were nicely done....only exception being the part with them attacking the Cave Troll...jumping on his back...stabbing him....looks like something Harryhausen would have done in "Clash of the Titans"

**Favorite Scene(s)....Arwen with Frodo being chased by the RingWraiths...fight scenes with Aragorn!

Hoping to see LOTR nominated for some Academy Awards!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 27, 2001
I loved this movie and I would just like to comment on what most of the negative comments are consisting of. This was not Harry Potter and was never labeled as a kids movie. Even the description states " Battle Sequences and scary images". So please stop commenting on how graphic a movie this was for little kids. If you read the book you know that it would be scary at some point and probably have violence since you pretty much have that when there are battles!

its pg-13 and probably should be R. So if you bring little kids and they get scared blame your own stupidity for bringing them in the first place.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 30, 2001
This movie was excellently done. It was exciting and thrilling. This movie followed the story line well, so if you had not read the book you would still understand the story clearly. The acting was well done and the set of the movie was very realistic.

The movie flowed well. When the movie was over it did not seem that I had been sitting in the theater for 3 hours. I would recommend this movie to anyone that likes action movies.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 31, 2001
Easily the best adaptation of the book into film yet. (although that isn't saying much, considering the very poor attempts to date)

Although you don't have to have read the books to understand the movie - I think it helps to at least have read "The Hobbit" so that you know what a halfling is before you are presented with one in the opening of the movie.

There are some "missing" scenes in the movie - but that had to be done - otherwise it would have been six hours long - although the length of the movie (3 hours) passed very quickly. If you never read the books - you aren't missing much from the deleted scenes.

Don't wait for this to come out on video. It has to be seen on the big screen. The scenes are magical all on their own. For a true Tolkien fan - it was interesting to see The Shire come alive.

GO SEE THIS MOVIE!
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 3, 2002
Although it was hard to sit and watch the movie after reading the books again (just finished the set before the release date), and be totally objective I found it HIGHLY entertaining and engaging. Those who have never read the books may find it even more enjoyable!!

The pros:
Awesome computer animations.

Beautiful landscapes and scenes.

Most everything I imagined as I read.

The cons:
BADDDDD attempt at showing hobbits next to humans and elves (the aspect ratio was almost laughable - like watching Dr. Shrinker). Would have been better off eliminating those FEW scenes and saved face.

Scenes that never happened in The Fellowship of the Ring (Arwyn did not promise herself to Aragorn until The Return of the King (3rd book)).

Scenes changed at some points too fast to keep track. Got dizzying for me (maybe because I was struggling with objectiveness).

Missing items: Re-forged sword, elven rope, swan boat, Gollum following Fellowship after Moria.

Enough negative, anyone can pick a movie to pieces, this one deserves many awards for offering the public a REALLY CLOSE adaptation of a classic. This movie will be in schools as soon as it can be and hopefully we will see an increase of interest for other classics (T.H. White (done well) for one).
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 5, 2002
As I sat and watched the movie, I did not feel three hours pass. The perfect combination of story telling and action kept the movie moving and the effects of time away from the viewers.

Lord of The Ring fans have waited long for this movie. The Fellowship of The Ring (Book 1 of The Lord of The Rings) would easily fill a five hour movie so obvisouly some things had to be dropped out and others changed around a bit. Even the small changes and the sections that were left out did not hurt the movie. The sencery was the best, the characters were strong and well developed, and special effects were great.

I have seen it twice so far and was enthralled each time. I will see it again and I will own it when it comes out on DVD. I can't wait for the next installment "The Two Towers". I want to see the Ents.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJan 10, 2002
"The Lord of the Ring:The Fellowship of the Ring" is the first of the three movie adaptation of the JRR Tolkien trilogy. The film will be shown over the next three years.

The first movie "The Fellowship of the Ring" tells about the origin of the ring which can rule all else. A group of warriors led by Elijah Wood launched a long journey to get rid of the cursed ring. It has action and lots of creature. The origin of the ring may have taken the first half-hour of the movie, but it well wroth it for anyone who don't have the understanding of the ring trilogy.

Director Peter Jackson has put this film together very well. I was hooked fromn the very beginning. I'm looking forward to the second installment.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 13, 2002
I would wait for the video on this one, I love computer generated imagery as much as the next guy..but hey when they drag a movie beyond the point of interest at a much lesser cost than in the past, you are going to have a sore tush from sitting in a chair for half the day..when the point could have been reached much sooner with out all the dragging on and pointless waiting to see a movie end such as this one does.

sorry but if you rent it on video when it comes out..you can probably do major home repairs while it plays and still catch the ending and be just as involved as the people sleeping on your couch.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 13, 2002
Way way too long. Great and beautiful action scenes were broken up by tediously slow dialog that hurt the rhythm of the movie.

Don't take the little ones.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 22, 2002
Perfect portrayal of Heaven and Hell. This movie was very tense and kept the viewers on the edge for its intirety. The director does a good job of bringing the crowd into the realm.

The movie starts off very slow and happy, almost as a distraction. It then slowly draws you in to the reason why we all came to see it. Once the happiness stops and the struggle begins, the crowd is in for a long and exciting ride of wizards and warriors, orcs and hobbits, and the struggle for power.

A must see, but be warned this movie is not for the faint of heart.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 23, 2002
Fabulous cinema, giving hope to the moviegoer who has been sadly disappointed with the current neverending supply of bad movies! Solid and attention-capturing story , entertaining characters, and good acting.

You will not be sorry you paid to see it in the theater either! Good even for those with overactive imaginations. Maybe not for the little ones though.

A + on my scale.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 29, 2002
I have to honestly admit that I did not like this movie at all when I saw it. I kept looking at my watch for the last hour, hoping, praying that it was going to end soon.

The movie just did not spark my interest at all. It reminded me of the Star Wars movies (probably because it was a high action, good vs. evil, trilogy), however I actually enjoyed most of the Star Wars movies.

Most people I talked to really enjoyed the movie, so when it comes out on video I might give The Lord of the Rings another try. However, I am not about to spend again so that I can be lulled to sleep.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 14, 2002
Disclaimer: I read the original books and liked them very much.

This movie did very well against the original books. There were a few cut scenes (as any movie based on a novel would have) but the story was told in a very cinematic way. Some dialogue was taken word for word from the books, which I liked. I knew the movie was 3 hours long, but it moved by so quickly that I didn't look at my watch until about 15 minutes were left. Peter Jackson really brought the world of Middle-Earth to life.

Probably not for youngsters, but for the most part the action sequences had very little blood. (A couple of decapitations, though, ala Weird Al's UHF quick camera shot style). If you'd let your son/daughter see Saving Private Ryan, you can rest assured the violence in this movie is FAR less.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 15, 2002
good!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Feb 19, 2002
Sorry, It just did not do it for me. I never read the Tolkien Books - perhaps if I did, I would have liked the movie better.

E. Wood did a great job in my opinion. Other actors were solid. Scenery was Awesome. I just got lost in the artsy movie. I will rent the movie and try to comprehend the movie in it entirety again. It should be easier to follow at home - also I will give the book a try too.

My recommendation - If not a tolkien fan, or havent read the books, wait for rental and watch the movie at your own pace. It is long, and if you cant pause it once and a while to soak it all in, you may miss out.

3 stars out of 5
[--- See Now! ---]by  Apr 4, 2002
A techno marvel with a feel good story line. As fast and violent as things go, one is comforted by the characters. This is one totally excellent movie. Much better than A Beautiful Mind.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Apr 17, 2002
For a year of pretty Brilliant movies, this was the Brillest of the most Brilliant.

It's been some years since I read LOTR But this movie brought back to me all my favorite characters. It brought to life for me the complex world that Tolkien(sp) had created. It took my breath away and gave me goosebumps to watch it all unfold.

Thank you Mr Jackson, and your team, for giving us such a truly wonderful translation to the screen.

I shall gladly watch this again, and again, and again.......And I'm especially looking forward to the DVD version with more than an hour of added footage.

10/10

Any comments on my comments can be sent to fdperth@wiredcity.com.au
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 19, 2002
I loved it. Great movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 20, 2002
Once in a blue moon a movie comes along thats a "Hafta Have" movie. This is one. Having read the Hobbit and Lord of The Rings more than once I found this movie to be one of the best I've ever seen. I would have given Oscars to this movie in every category it was nominated.

I'm on pins and needles waiting for the next installment even though I know whats going to happen.

For those of you who feel the movie is to violent, get a life, it isn't real and kids (6 yrs and older) know that. Witchcraft, so what, any fool knows there is no such thing anyway. If you're worried about your kids, then be a parent and teach them right so they can enjoy fantasy not fear it.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberMay 21, 2003
One word: epic

Peter Jackson will be remembered for bringing a classic fantasy tale to life on the big screen in grand scale.

A fine piece of filmmaking!
[--- Good ---]by  Oct 13, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.