Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Full Monty
Academy Award® Nominee

Starring Robert Carlyle, Mark Addy, William Snape...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Full Monty gets an A-, partly because though it is funny, it isn't as smashingly brilliant as its press claims. But, as a cute little English kitchen-sink comedy about laid-off steel workers who become male-strippers, it's certainly entertaining, and maybe even "heart-touching" in parts. The cast is all-around good, and there are enough twists to keep things fresh. What this movie lacks in consistently good music (a few more good songs could have really helped), it makes up for in clever guffaws. Oh, and this would make a good double-feature with In and Out, as they both deal with the male of the 90's, and grapple in their own ways with male sexuality, both with humor. Oh, and Robert Carlyle proves he's a real actor, making a 180 degree spin from the "Begbie" character he wowed us with in Trainspotting.



[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I implore everyone to see this fantastic movie. I defy any woman not to have fallen deeply and madly in love with Dave (Mark Addy)by the end of it. It is the must see movie of the decade.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The Full Monty" is the most hilarious movie I have seen in a long, long while. It was a great surprise to see Robert Carlyle go from a complete psychopath (Begbie in "Trainspotting") to a unemployed steel worker and father. The entire cast is excellent, especially 9-year-old William Snape who plays Nathan, Gaz's (Robert Carlyle) son. The soundtrack is perfect, ranging from "You Sexy Thing" by Hot Chocolate to "You can leave your hat on" by Tom Jones.British humor is at its best in "The Full Monty" and I have nothing but great things to say about this movie. I highly recommend it to men and women alike.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Now I am a 18 year old male, and seeing a male stripper movie entitled "The Full Monty" made me very reluctant. Would I want to see a movie like this? I was talking with my grandmother, who had had one of the best times of the year watching it, not because of the fact it deals with the male stripper item, rather it is a hilarious comedy that deals with buddies. So, I decided to go.

And "The Full Monty" gives you that: a hilarious comedy that deals with buddies. These buddies are unemployed steel workers who are looking for a job. One day, one of the unemployed named Gaz (Robert Carlyle, fresh from "Trainspotting") finds a way that he and his pals can make money: they will go 'The Full Monty', or, strip down all the way to their bare arses. They will go all the way.

'The Full Monty' does not really appeal to these gents, and the bulk of the movie includes just that. It also includes these guys practicing to dance that leads to them stripping, with some really funny results. These include Gaz's friends, including Horse (Paul Barber), an old guy who has dance skills such as "The Funky Chicken", Gaz's overweight buddy David (Mark Addy), who can't come to terms with losing weight, Gerald (Tom Wilkinson), the ballroom dancer who can't tell his wife he has gotten laid off, Lomper (Steve Huison), and Guy (Hugo Speer), the man with a mega... well, let me put it this way: "I think we've found our lunchbox."

Grade: B+

Tech Review

Picture: 2 Eerie picture with not much going for it, faded colors, poor blacks, OK contrast.

Sound: 3 A meager Dolby mix, I am yet again blaming the theater for it, but I could easily tell another theatre would suffer from this mix.

Photography: 2 A mess. Matted to 1.85:1, the photography is high, then low, then hanging, although I did like a few shots, including that Danny Boyle rip off of the apartment complex.

Length: 92 minutes. Rated R for language.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Full Monty is one of the funniest films of this year, especially because it is a British film!!!! This is not just for girls, my friend took her boyfriend and he couldn't stop laughing YOU WILL BE LAUGHING FROM START TO FINISH! Watch out for the bit where one of the guys trys to top himself in his car! 10 out of 10 MUST SEE!!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is one of the most hilarious comedies of the year. Do not be put off by the subject matter (a group of laid-off steel workers become male strippers) as it is treated as tastefully and discretely as possible. I guarantee you will laugh until you cry. Try to get to see this one before it disappears from the theaters.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Fun, funny, & not too deep.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Don't let the thick northern accent of the actors put you off... after a few minutes, your ears will adjust. Fortunately, this film reflects some of the British humor we can see on their comedies now available on public television- or, rather, the better examples of some. The film's humor is offset by more serious plot lines about a man's doubts about his powers (physical and professional), economic realignment and divorce. But it's fun! I'd have whooped and screamed for the guys if I'd have been in the club, too. Enjoyable, but not Oscar performances and script.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
i was able to watch this movie in an inflight entertainment, and i was just laughing without minding my seatmate (my wife playing nintendo). Down to earth HUMOR out of life's tough times. It was really FUNNY. Go watch and enjoy THE FULL MONTY!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The Full Monty" all it implies and more! A must see for men and women. A touching and hilarious film about laid-off steel workers looking for a way to make some cash. This film confronts the multilayered issues of men in the 90's. An enlightening glimpse into these buddie's relationships to their families and each other will have you near tears one moment then gasping with laughter the next. The funniest film since, "A Fish Called Wanda."

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
At first, I was looking foward to seeing "The Full Monty" being that it was up for an Academy Award and all. But I found that the movie was just plain boring. There were even times when I couldn't understand the actors because of their thick accent. To be honest, I don't understand why it was up for the Best Picture. Personally, I thought that it was very slow and it had choppy editing. It just kind of snapped from one non-sense scene to the next. I didn't like it. Especially the dancing. The only thing these guys had was attitude, which is good. But dancing usally requires some skill as well.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The little movie that could. Do yourself a favor pretend the movie hasn't been one of the most talked about movies this year, and pretend that it hasn't been playing in theaters since August of 1997. Pretend it's a little film you stumbled across, playing in the 50 seat theater of your local multi-megaplex, because all three of the Bruce Willis movies you wanted to see were sold out. And enjoy it.

Baldly, this is a little "independent" film (independant in movies anymore is like "alternative" in music) about male strippers. Doubtless you're aware of the plot by now, so I'll just say this. When I saw it, I thought it was the funniest movie I'd seen in a long time. I didn't think that people still made movies that I could get good belly-shaking, tear-streaming laughs at anymore, but this is one of them (of course, I had the same reaction to "Porky's" in 1982, but then I've grown up a bit since then).

The story moves well, the comedy is bright, and the plot is involving. The characters are well developed, and Robert Carlysle, Begbie from "Trainspotting", shows us that he has a bright acting future by playing a caring, non-smack spiking parent. The music is, appropriately, dance music from the 70's which brings a delight all of its own to the film.

It's OK to see this on video, the film shouldn't suffer too much, but by all means see it. You'll be happy you did. But just pretend it's an art movie you stumbled on. It's for the best.

Sep 28, 2003
"The Full Monty" is a great comedy about a group of unemployed men who became strippers. Once you get past the British slang, you will have fun with this movie. One of the most funniest film that came out of England in years. "The Full Monty" is full of fun.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Full Monty.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook