The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Saturday, December 25th, 1999

Directed by Dean Parisot
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:42

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Galaxy Quest
Twenty years after their show was cancelled, the five stars of the classic '70s TV series Galaxy Quest are still on the show circuit, milking their fame for all its worth. Their mission changes when...  View more >

PG
some action violence, mild language and sensuality

Starring Tim Allen, Alan Rickman, Sigourney Weaver...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  4 40 See Now! Percent
Good  5 50 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 10 Stay Away! Percent
10 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Galaxy Quest.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie was a BLAST!

It was such a great Take Off on the whole Star Trek Franchise!

But it was also a very funny movie in it's own right. All of the characters had parallels in the Star Trek Pantheon, but they were also well done, and enjoyable with out the parallels being to close! If you know nothing about Sci-Fi fandom, you will still get a kick out of this story.

If however, you do know the ins and outs of Con's, Fanzines, and such you will laugh you'r A## OFF!!! (You will also probable be able to identify friends that resemble many of the bit parts in the show.)

This move was so funny, on so many different levels, that i would recomend it to anyone with a working scence of humor!

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I liked this movie and had a good time watching it. Its spoofing of the cult status of Star Trek seems like it hits pretty close to the mark.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie had me roling in the isles with laughter, from beginnig to end. If you are looking for some good medicine, and laughter is the prescription, this movie is the cure for what ails you! The ensemble of actors in this film are perfect for the premise of this movie. The parady to Star Trek and its Actors as to where are they now is what I enjoyed as one of the conections to what we have seen on the television for years. This is a must see on the Big Screen because of the "special effects" that enhance the story line and make the Trip even more exciting and enjoyable. Did you ever go to a movie where the people applauded after the Ending, that is what happened at the end of this movie, the crowd broke into spontaneous applause!!! Have some fun and see this MOVIE. Take the Family.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
First of all....I loved it. "Never give up, never surrender" is definitely the motto for audiences who love sci-fi and/or comedies....never give up hope that someday someone might make a great sci-fi comedy. That day has arrived.

"Galaxy Quest" is by far one of the funniest movies this season. Tim Allen is Commander Peter Taggert or at least has played him on TV for four years. Now Allen and the careers of his crew have been limited to electronics store grand openings and/or sci-fi conventions.

That is until one day when the Thermians, led by Enrico Colantoni, arrive at a convention to recruit Commander Taggert to lead them against their enemies. Add the supportive crew of Sigourney Weaver, Alan Rickman, Tony Shalhoub, Daryl Mitchell, and Sam Rockwell to Tim Allen and you have one hilarious film.

The simpliest way to describe this movie is imagine the Star Trek crew being recruited to fight off evil today....imagine Captain Kirk, Spock or Bones (well maybe not Bones because he died this past year for real), but imagine the others truly getting on a real Enterprise. For example, Sigourney Weaver's sole job is to repeat what the computer says, while Sam Rockwell or "Guy" is the guest appearance guy that always gets killed. One of my favorite scenes involves the crew on a strange planet looking at aliens who appear to be miners and the lines that are delivered are just hilarious. This is movie making at it's finest, it truly is.

For everyone who has religiously watched soap operas or any television series on a weekly basis knows how easy it is to identify the actor solely as the character they play on television. Be honest here, when we watch William Shatner doing "Rescue 911" we all know that it's really Captain Kirk just taking a side job until the next Star Trek movie comes out. It's the same as saying that we would rather have Martin Sheen of "West Wing" be our President than Uncle Bill. I promise you that there is not a minute of this film that you won't enjoy.

Bottom line....young or old, this is one film you won't want to miss out on.

[--- Good ---]by  Feb 6, 2000
I have seen better sci-fi movies...but, hey! It's cute, and funny and has some good graphics...it is just for fun...no messages here, just Tim Allen doing what he does best. Snickers and hahaaa's. Have fun at this one.
[--- Good ---]by  Mar 2, 2000
GALAXY QUEST is a movie just brimming with innocence. It seems to say that the ultimate fantasy for a washed-up science fiction television star isn't a stellar comeback with a multi-million dollar paycheck, but rather a group of alien beings who have been monitoring the show's progress since it's inception not for entertainment, but to be studied as a kind of reference guide. That gives the actor's work true meaning, something a huge paycheck doesn't always guarantee.

The washed-up actor is Jason Nesbeth (Tim Allen), although as the story opens he doesn't completely realize just how washed up his career has become. It's only when he overhears a couple of brain-dead teenagers in a restroom talking about what a has been the man is. But all that's about to change for Nesbeth, in the most unusual of ways. It seems a race of aliens, viewing the show from deep space, have been quite taken in by just how good of a commander this man is. (Or, at least how well he plays the part.) One day at a Galaxy Quest convention (a la Star Trek), the aliens show up to ask for the commander's help. Of course, they look just like any other obsessed fan of the former hit show, so when Nesbeth first meets them, he thinks they are making reference to a public appearance he scheduled for himself. When he realizes exactly who these weird individuals are and what they really need him for, he is so flattered he enlists the help of the rest of his crew - a group of actors almost as weird as the characters they portray. There's Gwen DeMarco (Sigourney Weaver), the blonde bombshell whose only job on the ship was to act as the interpreter between the commander and the spaceship's main computer. (Even though the computer relayed everything back in perfect english anyway.) Also on board are Alexander Dane (Alan Rickman), a former British stage actor who is growing increasingly tired of playing to audiences who think a thespian is a playwright from another planet; Fred Kwan (Tony Shaloub), the show's equivalent to Mr. Scott; and Tommy Webber (Daryl Mitchell), who was just a cute, plucky little kid during the show's heyday and is now a bit older, and whose pluck seems to have been surgically removed.

The movie takes the fish-out-of-water concept and operates it in reverse. The aliens have basically constructed their entire world around what they saw on the show, so the actors aren't out of their element, but are instead smack dab in the middle of it. Writers Robert Gordon and David Howard have a great deal of fun with their idea. When Nesbeth and Gwen are faced with a nearly-impossible-to-survive situation, she suddenly yells out, "Whoever wrote this episode should be SHOT!" Another fun moment occurs when one of the show's extras (Sam Rockwell, from THE GREEN MILE, who has hopped along for the ride but later realizes what he has gotten into, pleads "You gotta get me outta here! I'm the one who gets killed in the first five minutes!" It's a clever premise, and the filmmakers play it up for all it's worth.

Tim Allen seems to be doing a human variation on his Buzz Lightyear character, and the result is actually quite effective. Nesbeth's realization that the cheesy television role he made famous has now manifested itself into a cornball reality is so appealing to him, he can't help but relish the danger while trying to evade it. Allen plays the role like a child plays with a new toy on Christmas morning. The rest of the cast is equally fun to watch, especially
Enrico (TV's JUST SHOOT ME) Colantoni as the leader of the alien group. What begins as a comic freak show performance actually turns out to be a very likable character.

The special effects are dazzling as well. Stan Winston and his effects team
do an excellent job of creating visually stunning sequences while somehow preserving the B-television show look to the film.

The idea that aliens would create a world any cast member or fan of the fictional show Galaxy Quest would have a blast occupying captures the essence of innocence. In a way, the filmmakers of the movie GALAXY QUEST have done the same thing.

--Michael Brendan, Mad Dog Film Reviews (www.maddogreviews.com)
[--- See Now! ---]by  Apr 24, 2000
First of all, let me say that I am not a big fan of Star Trek. While I have liked a few Star Trek movies, I never did like the TV shows. I guess I'm weird in that way since I never did get into the whole Star Trek fan thing.

That being said you will better understand my bias when it comes to finding great pleasure in poking fun at the strange Star Trek fans who seemingly live and breathe Star Trek. (Yuck)

This brings me to Galaxy Quest. Which, is not only a spoof of Star Trek, it also mocks the Star Trek fan. Portraying them as people who live, eat and breathe star Trek. (Which they do)

I wasn't sure what to expect when I saw Galaxy quest. I wasn't expecting much. But, I have to say that I really enjoyed the movie. Probably more so then the last few Star Trek movies.

This movie is funny. Don't expect a serious sci-fi movie. It also has very good special effects. (If you enjoy special effects, you won't be disappointed)

I saw this movie at a value cinema, and it was the first movie I've seen at a cheapie theater where I saw people clapping after the movie.

So, I guess you could say I highly recommend this movie.

One word of advice though, if you have fake Spock ears, leave them at home. They will do you no good while you watch this movie.

Beam me up Scotty :-)
[--- Good ---]by  Apr 29, 2000
We saw this movie at the budget theater and it was definitely worth the two-dollar tickets. My 18-year-old son really liked this movie as well as my wife. I am a Star Trek fan and I also enjoyed the movie.

I like Tim Allen and he did a good job with his part. I also like Sigourney Weaver. She played a totally different role from anything I ever saw her do before (e.g. Ghostbusters, Aliens) so I found her performance very interesting.

It is a fun, entertaining movie, with only one message: Movies are for entertainment! The special effects are worth seeing on the big screen.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberJul 18, 2001
"Galaxy Quest" is a poor comedy that started out as a spoof of the "Star Trek" fandom, then it switches gears and became a boring space fantasy as stars of the a science fiction television series go into outer space. A better take-off of the "Star Trek" series is needed.
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 30, 2014



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.