The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, January 19th, 2001

Directed by Christopher Nolan
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:00

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Memento
Academy Award® Nominee
A man with a short-term memory of only 15 minutes is obsessed with finding his wife's murderer, using notes to himself and tattoos to provide him with clues to help him track the killer.  View more >

R
violence, language and some drug content

Starring Guy Pearce, Joe Pantoliano, Carrie-Anne Moss...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  6 67 See Now! Percent
Good  3 33 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Apr 26, 2001
This was a very thought provoking movie, but not in a typical Hollywood way. I enjoyed it from the beginning, and it just got better and better throughout. It was even a bit disturbing. It's a good bet this will be near the top of my yearly top 10.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberApr 29, 2001
Guy Pierce gave a great performance as a investigator who is out to get the guy who killed his wife. "Memento" is not an usual crime drama, because the character played by Pierce has limited memory and must piece his finding as if he's piecing together a puzzling mystery.

"Memento" is a chilling mystery that pays tribute to the film noir.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberApr 29, 2001
It has been a couple of weeks since I first saw Memento in the theater. Since then I have seen it again and had plenty of time to reflect upon the story that my eyes saw and my brain processed.

This is a film about a man named Leonard who has condition. He was involved in an incident that has left him with a memory problem. He can remember everything that happened up until the incident but since then cannot make new memories. Everything fades from his mind shortly after he experiences it. For example, if Leonard had been reading this review, by now he would have forgotten how it started it.

The incident at hand is the rape and murder of his wife. His quest is to avenge her death by finding the killer. He does this by leaving himself with clues in the form of Polaroid photos and handwritten notes. He also makes some of these notes more permanent.

The story is told in reverse. We see the ending and then work our toward the beginning in small segments. This is a brilliant way of telling the story as we get to see things the way that Leonard sees them.

The problem is, who can Leonard trust. Who are his true friends and who is just taking advantage of him via his condition.

Easily the best movie so far of 2001. Seek out this film.

Copyright 2001 - Ron Higgins
<I>No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.</I>
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 6, 2001
Truly an amazing movie. If you liked "The Sixth Sense", you will love this.

Guy Pierce turns in a Oscar worthy performance as a man with a "condition" with very little short term memory, who is seeking to find and kill the man who killed his wife and destroyed his memory.

Don't just sit there, go buy your ticket. Easily the best film released this year so far.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 6, 2001
This is probably one of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
[--- Good ---]by  May 29, 2001
I really enjoyed this movie. You have to pay attention in order not to miss the various characters and how they enter the main character's life. Time jumps around in this movie, but the basic scheme is that an action will take place, then scenes showing what led up to that action will be shown. Eventually you see what led up to the movie's opening shot.

I'm not sure that the lead character's memory can be timed as lasting for "15 minutes" as stated in the main review- it seems much shorter than that. Overall the movie was original, fast-paced and interesting.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 17, 2001
The mainstream masses may look at the title of Memento and think it's about those candies nicknamed "The Freshmaker." Those people will be confused silly by the Best Movie of 2001 to date while those of us who have been longing for something to turn our brains on for have finally gotten our reward.

Leonard (Guy Pearce) has short-term memory loss. So do we, as we don't know what is happening to him. That's because Memento is presented in reverse order. The film starts with a developed Polaroid photograph that slowly - uh - undevelops (is that a word?). I muttered under my breath, "I love it already."

We are then drawn into an intricate puzzle that we are trying to solve along with Leonard as things are not always what they seem. And when you can't remember what happened mere minutes before, whom can you trust? Leonard has a collection of notes (stored in an interesting manner) and photographs that he refers to, but this is not a foolproof plan as time is running out and lives hang in the balance.

There are two things to consider in a movie this complex: Originality and execution. Time Code was an original concept that was not engrossing to watch. Most of Disney's animated features are basically unoriginal but are usually executed very well. It is hard to hit both facets 100%, but that is exactly what Memento has accomplished. It is rare that immediately following a movie I begin to anticipate future viewings. Time to test out those theories and get into speculation and analysis like right after I watched Fight Club, Eyes Wide Shut, and 12 Monkeys.

What does it all mean? What different interpretations can be made from the information presented? And when a new theory proving or disproving an earlier one is formulated, I just have to smile and realize that this is why I sit through mountains of mediocre to poor movies: To get to films like Memento.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberAug 18, 2006
After seeing this movie, I'm left with the odd feeling that it's going to take some time to fully understand what I just saw. It makes that point clear in the opening scene when a Polaroid photo undevelops before your eyes, and it takes a while for you to realize that instead of developing, it's actually un-developing.

The entire story is told in reverse, which immediately sets it apart from other movies. That can be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on the execution. Fortunately for Memento, it's a good thing.

If you're looking for a brainless action movie, this isn't the one to watch. It makes you think. Don't get up and go the bathroom without the ability to hit "Pause" because you'll miss something that's most likely important to understanding and appreciating the movie fully.

I recommend seeing Memento because it's not like other movies, and that's a good thing.
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 24, 2013

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Memento.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.