Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Notting Hill
Anna Scott (Julia Roberts) is the world’s most famous movie star. William Thacker (Hugh Grant) owns a travel bookstore. For both, something or someone seems to be missing. And when Anna and William’s...  View more >

Starring Hugh Grant, Julia Roberts, Alec Baldwin...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts are very good in this movie. There is a definite chemistry on the screen between the two of them. The supporting cast of friends and family work very nicely and are fun to watch. In short, I liked this movie a lot.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Notting Hill is undoubtably a chick flick, just to start off this review. I think that my boyfriend enjoyed it, I heard a couple of laughs next to me throughout the movie. This stars two people that are almost as instantly likeable as Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks. Julia Roberts and Hugh Grant are paired up very well, and that combo makes the movie. Although at times, I didn't know if Robert's (or I should say Anna's) love for William (Grant) was genuine. Towards the end of the movie it was questionable to me.

All around there are great performances, sometimes taking away from Grant, but Roberts always shines through. This movie is your typical date movie. Something for the girls who don't want to go see Star Wars-Episode 1. I think despite the hype over Star Wars, this movie will do impressivly well.

If you're a gal, go with a group and swoon over the type of love that is presented. If you're a guy, I'm telling you this is a movie to start off a romantic evening. Go and see it. It's cute and fun.

My Rating: *** (3) out of **** (4)

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I wasn't exactly thrilled about going to see this movie. My girlfriend wanted to see it and since I'm such a good guy I went along with her. Sitting in the theater before the movie started, I realized that about 90% of the audience was female, so that didn't make me feel much better about seeing Notting Hill. But, after seeing it, I have to say it was a pretty good movie. Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts pretty much carried the movie. None of the other characters were very interesting to me. The character of Hugh Grant's roommate Simon, although amusing at times, got old after a while. But, overall, the movie was a good one. I really liked Hugh Grant in the movie. I think it was a good role for him, playing a normal everyday kind of guy. Likewise, Julia Roberts was cast in a good role for her. The movie had quite a few laughs, nothing incredibly funny, but I chuckled a few times. So, to all the guys out there reading this, if your girlfriends are begging you to go see this movie, go see it, you will more than likely be pleasantly surprised.

My rating: *** 1/2 out of *****

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie, is by far, the BEST Julia Roberts movie ever made. She is exquiset, not to mention charming, and lovely. Hugh Grant is an adorable bumbling fool who meets her in his bookshop and then later bumps into her. It all starts from there. I will not reveal the entire plot for u, but will disclose, that this movie is full of extrodenary talent, that will not be tolarated to be passed along as just another "movie" It is wonderful. Please go see it, it is worth every penny u spend on it. I personally am going back to see it with every single one of friends, each at a time. that is how much i loved this movie. Plus, the fact that i am Julia Roberts #1 fan, takes into consideration there. lol.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
For those who have seen the film let me ask you where was Hugh Grant's characters dignity? Does he have no spine? Very typical chick flick. I would have told Julia Roberts to take a flying leap. This kind of film gives a message to all of the desirable women out there that you can walk all over your boyfriend and he'll still keep coming back for more. Very disappointed with this predictable movie.

Side note: This is the second time viewing a movie at Mayfair Mall Premium Cinema and love the atmosphere. I was disappointed with the other guests who where there who felt that they needed to gripe about every little thing… "My chicken satay is cold… my salt shaker is clogged… I am not moving from this seat that I was not assigned too…" C'mon people instead of griping about every little detail take it for what it is. I found the service to be top notch. You ought to arrive at least an hour before the feature starts so that you don't feel rushed and the waiters aren't rushed to accommodate your meal before the film starts. Then all of the rest of us won't have to hear about your piddly complaints during the film.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was a wonderful movie. Roberts and Grant make a great match. I was never too impressed with Hugh Grant, but this movie changed my mind. I already was a big Julia Roberts fan, I'm a bigger fan now. They have a certain spark that comes through that makes you love them both. You know what? that "flat mate" also was something else. Great. Bring on some more of Julia and Hugh.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
First, I'm a guy. I'm not a Julia Roberts fan. I'm not a Hugh Grant fan. My wife made me come to this movie ! But it was probably the best movie I've seen so far this year ! Really a simple story done well. It was funny and touching (but not in a sappy way that drives macho men away).

The characters are excellent (especially those other than Julia/Hugh). Every viewer will be able to identify with at least one of them. Go see this movie. It'll make you happy.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I was impressed by this. I went with a few reservations, but it was funny and both my wife and me enjoyed it.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
We all know how predictable romantic comedies are, so the difference in the good ones and the bad ones are how we get to that end. What makes this romantic comedy different from any other romantic comedy and why should we care? Jerry Maguire offered a sports angle. The Wedding Singer offered an 80’s setting. Notting Hill offers NOTHING different, shamelessly ripping off the successful "Four Weddings and a Funeral," a movie I didn’t like the first time I saw it, nor did I like it this time masquerading as a new movie. Notting Hill, which should more appropriately have been named "Nodding" Hill, starts with a promising scene: Grant takes Roberts to his sister’s birthday party where his star struck family offers a chuckle or two. But then the movie runs out of gas and offers tired contrived conflicts to keep the duo apart. Together, apart, together, apart. By the end it really gets annoying, complete with a boring car chase scene. Flatmate Spike is apparently the comic relief, but I didn’t find his juvenille sexual antics funny. Roberts is Roberts and Grant is Grant. Not a bad thing, but there’s no effort on the part of the stars to go beyond reading their lines and being themselves. Perhaps even they couldn’t get inspired by this pure formula material.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was great for all you romatics out there, and everyone else. The minute you think you know what's going to happen at the end, something happens to throw you off. Do they get together or don't they? Hugh Grant plays his role terrifically as a down to earth book shop owner. Julia Roberts, well, she's stunning as always.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I really did not want to see this movie. My wife suggested we go to a movie and we frequently see movies that are not excactly her type. I was WRONG. I have seen plenty of Julia Roberts and her mannerisms always seem to be the same. Not so in NottingHill. By contrast I have never seen a Hugh Grant movie. I only new of his "other" activities.Thus I did not have a real favorable impression to start. Notting Hill was very funny. Nearly as funny as Something About Mary only it was not crude humor. Spike, Hughs roommate, stole nearly every seen he was in. It is a must see.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
NottingHill is a romantic comedy starring 2 veteran stars---Hugh Grant and Julia RobertsThe plot of the movie is quite good, except that it can get a little repetitive. The jokes are pretty slapstick, but can be understood by people of all ages and thus it would be quite a relief for a hard day's work. However, the jokes may get a little offending and the bond of the 2 main characters is a little unnatural. What's more, why pay for a movie with no special effects? That is why I recommend you wait for the rental.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
My wife, my 18-year-old son and I all enjoyed this movie. We saw it at the budget theatre which made it even more enjoyable. It was probably worth $6.50 a ticket. It is a romantic comedy, but the comedy is well done. The romance part does make Hugh Grant quite a bit more tolerant than I would be of Julia, but it is only a movie. See it. It's a lot of fun.

Oct 31, 2001
A predictable, but still enjoyable, romantic comedy where major movie star Julia Roberts ends up falling for bookstore owner Hugh Grant.

I have to admit that I'm not a huge Hugh Grant fan, but I think that he works as a common guy caught in the media frenzy surrounding a celebrity. As the inevitable complications appear, you end up sympathizing with him, and hoping that they get back together somehow.

As good as the performances by the two leads are, the gem of this film is in the supporting cast. Hugh Grant's host of friends take this movie from tired rehash of the romantic comedy formula, and make it into a story that you can lose yourself in for two hours.

While not original, Notting Hill is definitely worth seeing in the theater and again renting or purchasing on video.
Sep 16, 2003
Julia Roberts shines again in "Notting Hill," a romatic comedy about an actress who falls for a book dealer, played by Hugh Grant.Robert's character in "Notting Hill" almost mirror her own life. "Notting Hill" is a fun movie to watch.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Notting Hill.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook