The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, July 30th, 1999

Directed by Garry Marshall
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:51

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Runaway Bride
Julia Roberts and Richard Gere, in their first film together since Pretty Woman, star in this story of a woman (Roberts) who leaves so many men at the altar that a reporter (Gere) wants to do a story...  View more >

PG
language and some suggestive dialogue

Starring Julia Roberts, Richard Gere, Joan Cusack...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  7 50 See Now! Percent
Good  4 29 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 7 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 14 Stay Away! Percent
14 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
this movie was well made.. but not half asgood as Notting Hill..... some things in this movie i didn't like... like the fact that they wanted to get married even though they knew each other for like what... 2 weeks?!! that was a little to fairy tailish.. i'm a die hard fan of Ms. Roberts.... she rules!! if she wasn't in this movie, it would probably be a box-office bomb. her mile-wide smile lights up the entire room!! she makes her character sooooo lovable!!!! richard gere is very good in this movie also.. he portrayed his character well also.... joan cusak was just hilarious in this movie.. all in all.. this movie was very good.... doesn't matter if you go see it in the theaters.... if you are a diehard fan like me and will see anything of Julia's.. (of course all of her movies are great works of art!!).. you will see this movie again and again.... great movie people.... notting hill is a lot better though : )

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I almost missed seeing this delightful movie after I read the review by your "featured critic". My husband & I went to see "Deep Blue Sea", which was recommended by the same "featured critic". What a waste of money! You guys need to get a new critic. Anyway, as the pre-movie hype suggested, there truly is a chemistry between Gere & Roberts. They rock! In fact, the entire cast clicked so well, that everyone had good parts. It may be a little off the charts as far as believability, but so was "Pretty Women", and no one complained there. The only problem was that in several parts, the audience was laughing so loud & long that you tend to miss some of the dialoge after one of the great "punch lines" that are sprinkled throughout the movie. Julia Roberts was spectacular and her laugh is infectious. Gere showed almost a boyish sense of humor and his character was much more playful and developed then their last flick together. Kudos to Joan Kusak who returned to her warm & nutty self after playing the "smiling" housewife in "Arlington Road." She was positively spooky in that flick. This movie is great if you want something light and heartwarming with "quirky" ending.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I went to see Runaway Bride expecting to like it. I mean, it did have two of my favorite romantic comedy stars in it. What I came away with was a sense that romance and love are still alive and well. They may be living in Hollywood, but nevertheless they are still around. Julia Roberts is at her best when she can be the quirky woman, and Richard Gere, well....What can I say?? I guess I didn't realize that he could be so humerous until now. Oh, sure, he showed some of that in Pretty Woman, but apparently he has much more of that in him. All in all I thouroughly enjoyed this movie. It was funny, tender at times, and, okay, maybe a little fairey tailish,too. But so what! I go to movies to be entertained, not to solve the worlds problems. I loved it!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
You must see this movie. I'm not going to give you a long drawn-out review, but I will say that James Berardinelli, the featured critic, is senseless. This movie has great comedy, a somewhat expected but entertaining ending, and fun characters.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I very much enjoyed this movie. Julia Roberts was awesome, and Richard Gere looked better than he ever has. I'm not sure that I would recommend you should run and see it today, above any other movie, but you should go. I'm glad I went. I will buy this movie when the video comes out.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I am a 14 year old girl who is a major fan of Julia Roberts. I loved her in My best Friend's Wedding, Notting Hill, and- I guess- Runaway Bride. It was harder for me to totally love this movie because there really wasn't much character development- at least in regards to Gere and Roberts relationship. Like, it was kinda hard to believe that they'd fall in love so quickly. I didn't laugh as much as everyone says you should, but it still was a "subtle comedy". All in all, I liked the movie, Roberts was, as usual, wonderful, but I wouldn't buy it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Runaway Bride was the best movie I've seen so far this year. Julia and Richard's chemistry make it all the more exciting. If you're ready for a good time, go see this movie ASAP!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie is supposed to be a ďromantic comedy.Ē Letís analyze those two words and how they relate to "Runaway Bride. (1) Romantic: Whatís romantic about a psycho bÖbÖbroad (yea, thatís the word I was looking for) that chews the hearts of men and spits them out? Nice protagonist. (2) Comedy: I didnít laugh, chuckle, or even smile once during Runaway Bride. There are more guffaws in The Usual Suspects. Poor Laurie Metcalf and Joan Cusack canít save this formula waste of time with their limited roles; most of the screen time is devoted to Dick Gere and overpaid Julia Roberts inane journey down their completely unbelievable road of romance. They even act bored most of the time and the final hour drags mercilessly as the duo await their fate. Will Gere tire of Robertsí antics and whip out an Uzi? What do you think? Am I the only one that is sick of movies that the characters despise each other for the entire film but we know what will ultimately happen? Life isnít like that. Quentin Tarantino needs to direct Julia Roberts in a film that we havenít seen over and over again. But with that $ 40 million paycheck and lovers of substanceless, dumbed down fluff lining up in droves to see her movies, I donít anticipate a change of scenery for Roberts.

10-point scale rating: 2 (Bernardinelli was kind)

Rent "You've Got Mail" or even "Pretty Woman" (this movie was done well the FIRST TIME) instead...

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
a great love story! take your sister, mother definitely not your boyfiend or dad. you'll love it so enjoy!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
A wonderful movie!!! Sit back and enjoy this one! The best movie I have seen this year! My daughter (18 yr) and I enjoyed the humor and the love story.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
There aren't many films that make you extraordinarily happy as you exit the theater. This one makes you glad that you met the characters, that they have something significant to say significant about life, that they succeeded. Prepare to laugh out loud at least 4 times, no matter how stoic you may be or critical of summer fluff. Is that what "Runaway Bride" is? Well sort of...but it certainly has elements of a serious film. There's questions about journalism's ethics, differences between urban and rural life, condemning and forgiving, judging and understanding, etc. And, what's especially nice is that you have two pretty people who recognize their flaws. I was prepared not to like Julia Roberts, but director Gary Marshall does a brilliant job stirring some heartfelt emotion from her. She's especially gorgeous when's she's all teary doe-eyed. And Richard Gere, wow. He uses his looks to portray a sensitive man whose bright enough to acknowledge that what counts is genuine love for a good person. My only criticism of the film that it took a little too long to establish the setting in New York City. The action was in Julia's small town. This one's worth your 2 hours and 15 minutes. Hotfoot it to the nearest cinema. You'll be REALLY happy!

[--- Good ---]by  Feb 6, 2000
if you've seen the "pretty woman", you'd not be surprised the similarity they have.

hero and heroine,theme song and the whole staff in production.

anyway, having watched the flick after years of the former one, i feel it's somewhat creative in certain asects.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberOct 6, 2005
"Runaway Bride" reunited the stars of "Pretty woman," Julia roberts and Richard Gere. Her'e where the story fell apart, the plot and story is stupid and there nothing to like. Nothing! Julia Roberts plays a bride who keeps leaving men at the alter and Richard Gere is a reporter who wants to know why. A terrible waste of talent from the two included Joan Crusak. "Runaway Bride" just got up and went.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Runaway Bride.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.