The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, June 30th, 1999

Directed by Trey Parker
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:20

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut

R
Extreme profanity, cartoon nudity

Starring Isaac Hayes, Trey Parker, Matt Stone

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  8 57 See Now! Percent
Good  4 29 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 14 Stay Away! Percent
14 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Brilliant. If parents were intelligent enough to restrain their children from seeing this film, the biting social satire wouldn't hit home for them. Freedom of speech comes with responsibility...the responsibility to make sure that your children do not see this film. The self-parody is a constant running joke, completely overwhelming. The jokes are over the top as always, but even more so than the series. They (Matt and Trey) brought the scenarios and characters from the small screen, and added the depth that they've always wanted to. It's obvious that they don't take themselves seriously. By portraying things such as racism so outrageously and vividly, they make you think twice about your thoughts on such issues. The entire film is a 'what-if' about censorship and itself. They present a scenario that shows the viewer what movies like South Park can do to children if parents lose touch with their children. See this film for it's self-parody, it's satire of the media, and it's completely hilarious jokes. You won't be disappointed.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Well the first thing I have to say is if you are under 17 or if you don't like the tv show STAY AWAY! South Park the movie is the closest thing to porn via swearing I have ever seen. I loved it!. It was hilarious in all the respects that I have come to love SP for in the past and has a HUGE number of good songs in it. It seems to me that Disney has lost it's touch with many movies in the song department in it's last bunch of films and South Park has found the secret of making songs that you want to sing after the movie (but not in front of your mother or kids). A rousing success for the SP genre I highly recommend it but don't let your kids see it!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Oh my Gawd...they killed South Park! Those bastards!!

I'm a South Park fan, but this movie totally turned me off! This movie managed to insult and degrade every race, sex, sexual preference, political group, religion, etc...! And the language was waaaaay over the edge; it put Pulp Fiction to shame.

I realize that they do this on a weekly basis on the TV show, but NOT to this degree! Perhaps it is more palatable on TV because they are 'bleeping' out the foul language and the racial and sexual content is toned-down to get past the censors.

So parents BEWARE: DO NOT let any child under the age of 15 into this movie unless you want them to repeat 100's of new insulting racial and smut phrases for school.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I am 33 years old and found this movie so offensive that when 4 children snuck into the theater I was outraged... being a mother of 3 kids, ages 10-15, this is a movie that should be taken from the theaters. The concept of it being a cartoon appeals to the kid at heart... but also the kid of age. All parents who "drop" their kids off at a show thinking that because it is rated "R" that they will not be able to get in are surely in for a surprise. I did bring this attention to a manager (who I feel may not be of age herself to see it) and found her disbelief that ushers were not walking through the theater as slap in the face. Rated "R" means NO ONE under the age of 17 unless with parent or guardian needs to be inforced with this movie! As a parent and a once week visitor to the shows, recommend that any parent that wants their child to see this... or feels it should be a "family outing" should get a babysitter for the night and review it on their own first. Quite honestly however, I suggest don't even wasting your money on it!

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
If you like the show, this movie is good. But if you have a thin skin or are immature in any way, you definitely should not see a movie like this.

Despite its filth, the movie has an interesting premise and is very funny.

But keep the kids out of the theater!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
First of all...do not take your kids to this.

With that out of the way...this was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. If you like the TV show, this will make you laugh so hard, you will drop the popcorn (just ask my friend who I went with). South Park, the movie is a musical, and the music is as good as anything you will find in a movie. I was seriously impressed with how good the music really was. Did I mention that kids really don't need to see this one??? This movie does make fun of just about anything you could imagine, including poor animation. If you have already seen Star Wars and Austin Powers..go see this.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Who says nobody makes a good musical anymore? The last thing I expected to find in South Park was a good old fashioned song and dance number, and I got several. I also got a pithy commentary on our anal retentive society, censorship, misplaced hysteria, and political correctness. All this and fart jokes too. If the detractors of shows like South Park and Beavis & Butt-Head would stop their whining long enough to actually watch an episode, they might discover there’s more than meets the eye. If all there was was what was on the surface, the audience would get tired in a hurry. Matt Parker and Trey Stone do a great job of poking fun at their legions of detractors as well as the dreaded MPAA. Unfortunately, the targets that this satire is directed at won't be there to see it. It's probably just as well. It would go over their heads anyway.

10-point scale rating: 7

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Better than Austin II, but I'm a fan of the TV show.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
What a great movie! I didn't have the highest expectations for the new South Park movie when I heard about it coming out, but man was I surprised! Not only was South Park funny from start to finish, it was quite thought-provoking. It takes shots at everything, from religion to war, Bill Gates to Canada. What really makes this an excellent movie is its boldness. In other words, this movie has balls! Another nice surprise was the musical numbers. Most of them were funny and catchy, even with the profanity. South Park shows all the problems of today's society, especially how people look to blame others for everything instead of taking responsibility for themselves, as the "Blame Canada" song shows so well. The timing of this movie, after the Colorado shooting, couldn't have been more perfect. Of course, some people will probably come up with some way to blame this movie for something that their kids say or do, but those people are idiots that should be responsible enough to keep their kids from seeing this movie. Anyways, this is an excellent movie, go out and see it!

My rating: **** 1/2 out of *****

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I am not an avid South Park fan (I've seen the show about maybe four or five times) But this movie is ok. The only thing that really got to me was the swearing. The creators of South Park do a great job "spoofing" the outcomes of their own movie on this society. This movie does have some funny moments, particularly with Satan and Saddam Hussein.

Another thing that I liked about this movie was the songs that the characters sing. Instead of counting on big-name bands to do a soundtrack, you'll find that all the songs are sung by the south park characters.

In short, if you like South Park, you'll like this movie. If you have never seen South Park before and figure this is a good way to see it for the first time, don't go, it will disgust you.

My Rating **(2) out of ****(4)

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I know a lot of parents are against this movie because of the swearing and racial slurs, but I enjoyed almost every minute of this movie. I do warn parents with kids under the age of 15 not to let them watch, but it is your choice. I thought they could have left certain parts out, like the whole thing with Satan and Saddam. This movie is not for anyone who is easily offended, but for those who can handle it and enjoy the weekly show, go see it now!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie is great!

I took a non southpark fan to the movie and he was laughing all the way also. Only if your offended easily, or cant stand comical curseage, would I say stay away.

other than that..

Go see it!!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 6, 2000
This movie is not for kids!

This movie denegrated every religion, sex, race, etc...!

This movie had profound usage of profanity!

No kidding! Anyone who knows South Park's creators expected this. This movie was made to attack the MPA, it's rating system, and those who believe they should be able to censor what others watch.

For those who were offended, grow a little thicker skin and keep your morals out of my theatre.

This movie was hilarious and anyone that likes South Park on the tube will love it! Satan and Sadam were genious, as well as Operation Human Sheild. If you have a sense of humor you should see this. If not, do what you want, but don't expect others to live your boring existence.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberMar 12, 2003
One of the funniest cartoons that came out of 2000, "South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut" is a film based on the cartoon series by Trent Parker and Matt Stone. If you haven't follow the show, it revolve the misadventures of four foul months kids.

In the feature film a R-rated from which attracted kids, has led to war between Canada and the United States. One of the best songs from the movie is "Blame Canada." This film is not for children under 17. But for the rest of you, this is funny stuff.



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.