The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 18th, 1999

Directed by Chris Buck
Kevin Lima

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Tarzan
Disney's latest animated feature about the most famous king of the apes.  View more >

G

Starring Tony Goldwyn, Glenn Close, Rosie O'Donnell...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Tarzan.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Rose Jan 25, 2000

Tarzan is a great family movie, but should not be seen by unsupervised children under the age of 9. There are some very intense moments that happen to Tarzan and the Gorillas in the beginning when he is young and again near the end with a fiece tiger. Over all this movie is great. As Tarzan grows up he proves himself worthy of being in the family, but he does screw up several times. This packed movie will keep you on the edge of your seat and your children laughing throughout the entire film. Go see it now.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Bill M. Jan 25, 2000

This movie is excellent. The animation is incredible even by Disney standards. The movie grabs your attention and holds it throughout the show. It does seem to be aimed at a slightly older audience than a typical Disney animation. I also loved Phil Collins in the soundtrack. His music cuts to the heart of the movie quickly.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Mark Welch Jan 25, 2000

For three summers in a row the Disney animation machine has produced **** features. I canít explain why I like these movies so much. The stories are fairly basic and predictable, the characters do pretty much what you expect them to do, and the movies are all too short. But Disney has achieved new heights in animation, and in Tarzan they have perfected the blending of traditional and computer animation. It used to be that a computer animated segment during a movie would stick out like a sore thumb. No more. Tarzan also offers a twist on the soundtrack front: About half is background music by Phil Collins (a la Randy Newmanís work in Toy Story). In addition to these songs being collectively the strongest work by Collins in perhaps his entire career, this also serves an additional purpose by cutting down on the songs sung by movie characters. Sometimes the story in a Disney movie is interrupted because itís time for a song. With Collinsí songs in the background, the music can still be an integral part of the movie without being forced. Other than being a beautiful movie, the scenery reminding me of the work in my all time favorite Disney film "The Lion King," there was one other facet that put Tarzan on my list of 1999 favorites: The use of a process called Deep Canvas, a computer animation tool that emphasizes three dimensional detail. It is amazing to watch the speed at which the Lord of the Jungle swings through, in and out, and up and down the trees. Disney has accomplished something that would be impossible in a live action film, and itís totally believable. Tarzan is larger than life in this film, and thatís the way it should be.

10-point scale rating: 9

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Nancy Bradley Jan 25, 2000

This was an excellent movie for all ages. It was full of fun and excitement. There are some intense scenes for younger children. We can't wait for the movie to come out so that we can buy it. The animation is right up there with The Prince of Egypt. The music was fantastic. We went straight to the store afterward and bought the soundtrack. GO SEE THIS ONE!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jennifer Clancy Jan 25, 2000

I am going to tell you about Tarzan the Movie! I think everyone should go see this movie!It was a really good movie! I think it is recommened for everyone to see! I give this movie a 10/10 because the music is great and the movie is great to! I've seen the movie two times and want to see it again!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Natalie Jan 25, 2000

Tarzan is a great movie. I recommend it to everyone of any age. Some parts are funny, some parts are sad, and other parts are just calm. This movie has all the parts that a good movie needs. Make sure to see Tarzan if you have not seen it yet!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Amy Jan 25, 2000

I think this is a great movie for the whole family to see. It was absolutley wonderful.I liked the way that it tied together two worlds: Tarzan's human world, and the gorilla world. We have foster children, and my mom likes the song "Two Worlds" because it kind of ties to us. I am 13 years old, and I loved it. The rest of the day after we saw it, I had Phil Collins' songs stuck in my head. I agree, though, that there should be parental guidance, because if some sad parts. This isn't your average Disney movie. All the characters don't start singing whenever a song comes on. It's much more serious than that. But this is a great movie. It's great!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by ziger Jan 25, 2000

We loved it! The animation was awesome and the story was pretty good. The kids will love the way Tarzan "surfs" the trees. It's a good family movie and I would see it in the theater for the full effect. It's well worth the $$ spent.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by L Jan 25, 2000

This is the best Disney movie since Lion King. My toddlers loved it. I didn't think it was too scary for them. It had a love story for us moms and some action for the dads. Rosie O'Donnell and Minnie Driver were great.

 

[--- Good ---]by steve Jan 25, 2000

A little too much violence for a 3 year old. Why can't Disney make a movie that even very small kids can see. Does every Disney movie have to have something scary?

 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberMay 18, 2003

"Tarzan" is another excellent amination movie from Disney as they retold the Edger Rice Burrough tale of a boy that was riased by apes. Jane is voice by Minnie Driver and her along with the rest of the film is a job well done. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.