Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The Game

Starring Michael Douglas, Sean Penn, Deborah Unger...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was as good as the previews looked. The acting was top-notch, with Michael Douglas giving his best performance in years.

The story was excellent, and always kept me guessing. If you like the kind of film where you try and figure out "whodunnit", this is the film for you. It had so many twists and turns that it always kept me on my toes. Then, when I thought that it couldn't fool me any more, it did!

The direction was solid, the sound was good, and I'd say that it was the best movie that I've seen this year. It is, by far, one of the most creatively written and planned movies that I've seen in a very long time. It's good to see that there's still some creativitiy and suspense in Hollywood films.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I went into this movie expecting a spectacular performance from Michael Douglas, and I came out of the theater very satisfied with it. Douglas was entirely believable in his role.

I was, however, expecting a faster-paced movie than what I got. This movie slows to a snail-like pace after a while and I began to wish that the "game" would pick the pace up. Maybe I was expecting more of a thrill movie rather than a who-done-it. The movie begins with enough of a thrill, but the action falls off quickly after that. Also, there were a few plot points that were almost too unrealistic to believe. Looking at the movie as a whole, it is just too much of a coincidence that all the pieces of the puzzle fit together as well as it did.

The reason I think this is a movie best seen on the big screen (besides great acting from Michael Douglas) is the clever use of lighting and sets. I sat in awe at many of the scenes. This makes it worth the price of admission.

*** out of *****

Jan 25, 2000
Rating: EXCELLENT at any price. Truly Starring: Michael Douglas, Sean Penn, Deborah Kara Unger But Also Starring: lots of other people

First of all...I loved it! This was by far one of the best pictures of the decade...seriously it is. If this doesn't win an Oscar, I'll never write another movie review again (just kidding, you can't get rid of me that easy). This is the best Michael Douglas film by far. I bet you are wondering what this movie is all about....well, keep wondering because I'm not saying. If I do, you'll just get ticked off and say I gave the plot away....because you can't say anything about this movie without ruining it. It is a thriller. It makes Alfred Hitchcock's thrillers pale in comparison. If you ever watched MTV's Real World, even Puck would be sitting there at the end of movie with his mouth wide open just taking in all the craziness of it all. Sean Penn and Debra Kara Unger are excellent in their supporting roles. Bottom line...don't read any movie reviews that tell you what the story line is...just see it for yourself...you'll be glad you did.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The Game is one of the best thrillers to come along in years. David Fincher, the director of Seven and Alien 3 proves again what a brilliant director he is. The movie has so many twists and turns that you are just bombarded with so much information that you have no idea what is real and what isn't. The film also features Michael Douglas in one of his best roles ever, almost as good as he was in "Falling Down". Go see this highly original film right now, you won't be disapointed.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Two Hitchcock Dream films in a year! First it was the masterpiece "Breakdown", where Kurt Russell was trying to find his lost wife, and now it is "The Game" director David Fincher's (Seven) thrilling new movie.

It is Nicolas Van Orton's (Michael Douglas) birthday. He is a millionaire, and his life goes on as normal, until he meets his brother (Sean Penn) at lunch and recieves a gift certificate from him. "What is it?" Orton asks. "It makes your life fun" he replies. The gift is from a gaming agency that seems to be a hoax at first, but then he finds himself getting into trouble, with a beautiful young woman (Deborah Kara Unger) and many other situations. All of a sudden, "The Game" is swallowing him alive...or is it? The great fun of "The Game" lies in the fact the movie lets us know as much as Orton does, and nothing else. Is the Game out to kill Orton? To frame him? How this movie unfolded, was beyond me.

Even though I pointed out this movie is in Hitchcock territory, this movie is a complete original. It never lets its guard down, and it always keeps the viewer guessing (and guessing and guessing) to what may happen or what will not happen. And this is one of Douglas' best performances since Wall Street. Finally, a movie that likes to have fun with the audience, and we don't mind the fact they are taking us for a ride where we haven't gone before.

Grade: A

Tech Review

Picture: 5 Mostly this film is black, but it is masterfully used to create a very eerie atmosphere.

Sound: 4 Good stereo effects, even though the surrounds could have been used far more. Mastered in all three formats, SDDS, DD, and dts.

Photography: 5 Fincher shoots in Panavision, and terrificly. He uses his camera very very well.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I have seen it twice... Each time I noticed details that I'd previously missed. It is one of the most entertaining films ever. It is definately Michael Douglas' best film to date, finally pushing Black Rain into second place in my opinion anyway. I agree with those who say it is worthy of a Hitchcock Thriller. But it does, as has been said, easily stand on its' own.

You could probably watch this movie 10 times before you finally pickup on all of the clues. Look around the edges of the action...look at the names of buildings, at license plates. Keep your eyes open. If after you see the movie once you think that part of it was a little loosely connected to another part, you will find on watching it again, that the ties are very strong, but you over looked them.

A great film, twists and turns, full of surprises. Just when you think you have it figured out, you are thrown a curve.

With Michael Douglas's performance in this one, and Al Pacino in Devel's Advocate, it's going to be a tough choice come the awards...



[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
THE Game was very entertaining to some..but my associate and I had more fun making jokes about the foolishness of it and she is still apologizing for selecting it. I do think the idea was cute... but too farfetched all the waythrough. I recommend this movie though to anyone who's dumber than me!!!!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was good but a tad predictable. I enjoyed seeing it and would see it again when it is on rental. At times you could get confused and it was fun to watch

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was a good movie all in all. Although at times it was a little predictable it kept you guessing throughout the entire movie. The Actors and actresses did a wonderful job! See now!

May 13, 2003
Michael Douglas has been challenged to "The Game," in this thriller about a man who is being chased by those who organized the game. douglas life is a nightmare without no end. Sean Penn gave a great performance as Douglas' friend also caught in the game.
May 21, 2003
Jun 30, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Game.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook