Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
There's Something About Mary
Cameron Diaz, Ben Stiller, and Matt Dillon star in this comedy from the makers of Dumb & Dumber and Kingpin.

Starring W. Earl Brown, Ben Stiller, Cameron Diaz...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Although occasionally the story lagged a bit, and I wanted to jump out of my seat and strangle the singer-narrator at times, this movie was geniunely funny, and was definitely worth seeing with a crowd. The situations were clever, and the story-line was complex (but not too complex) enough to keep you guessing. You may want to wait for rental due to the complete lack of special effects, but, as I said before, I honestly feel that you may enjoy the movie more laughing heartily with a crowd.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Hilarious adult comedy.

Solid cast, though the men are all kind of creepy.

I would recommend that kids under 14 not see it. It's not really potty humor, but it's definitely not for kids.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is like the best movie, romantic comedy ever! This guy was in love with this girl Mary since high school (where this accident occured when they were about to go to prom) then years later he decides to look her up, so he hires a guy to find her but then everything gets sorta messed up. Every guy who encounters Mary gets hooked. It has sick humor, but it's so funny. It's a movie you have to go see!! Now go, see it now. :)

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
There's Something About Mary

What is it about Mary? She's one of those nice people; you know, that kind of person that actually finds you and talks to you, not you every time having to find her. She's that person who loves cares for everyone, even her retarded brother. She's the kind of person that judges people by their character, and is not afraid to ask the nicest person to the senior prom.

That certain person is Ted (Ben Stiller), a nerdy looking, braces-laden 16 year old who hangs out with the losers at school (Friends, as Ted puts it, that don't even know his name). Mary has asked Ted because he doesn't judge her retarded brother, exactly what Mary looks for in a man. Even at 16.

So, Ted shows up at Mary's house. After getting a little rough-housed with Mary's brother, he goes to the bathroom, mistakenly catches Mary getting changed, gets his penis caught in his zipper, has Mary's parents enter the bathroom, then the police, then the firemen enter as well; and then Ted then gets his penis hurt even more. That is the last that Ted ever sees of Mary, who moves to Miami.

What a setup, eh? It seemed like such a nice little movie, and then it went absolutely nuts and sicko. I LOVE IT!! Especially since "There's Something About Mary" is brought to you by the same guys who directed "Dumb and Dumber" and "Kingpin", Peter and Bobby Farelly. This is the best though; I haven't laughed this hysterically since "Swingers". Ever exhausted yourself laughing? Ever realized that you are laughing more loudly and more hysterically then you usually do? "Mary" gives you that laughter quotient with plenty to spare. It's one of the funniest movies ever made, it surpasses almost every 80's comedy.

Cut to now, when Ted hires Pat Healy (Matt Dillon) to go find Mary. Pat does, but then he also falls for Mary. To get Ted out of the way, he tells him that she is a mail order bride who is obese and has four kids from three men who never married her. When Ted finds out what really happened, he goes to Miami to confront her.

Mary is played wonderfully by Cameron Diaz, and she has more character and dimension than most dramatic actresses in drama movies this decade. She is an instant Oscar nomination. She is beautiful, of course, but all the people love her because she is a nice person as well.

But the whole movie is the Farelly brother's territory, which means sick sick sick jokes. There are about seven wonderfully funny sequences, that include masturbation, a dog dying, a dog on speed, a police bust and interrogation, and that incident with the prom back in 1985. All of which made me laugh so hard, and remember them as well. Some comedies, even good ones, have laughs that make you quickly forget them afterwards (just see "Dr. Dolittle"). "Mary" hits you right over the head with humour and you can't forget. I'm still awkward-feeling over particular moments in this film which I have never seen before, all of which I can't write about, but I am not the same after one particular closeup. This is one of the year's best films, a comedic masterpiece.

Grade: A+

Tech Review

Picture: 3 A typical Fox picture with average colors and contrast, but the print seems very dirty and dusty, and this print is brand new!

Sound: 2.5 The dts mix is mediocre with no surrounds, basically a harsh mono soundstage.

Photography: 2 The film is matted to 1.85, which baffles me because the Farelly brothers' last film, "Kingpin", which was shot in Super 35. The same format would have been very welcome here.

Length: 119 minutes. 20th Century Fox. jwhyte2@hotmail.com. icq-4339199. Rated R for extremely harsh situations and language.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I sat in this movie all the while saying to myself, "I can't believe I'm laughing at this." Adult humor, cleverly presented. Don't see it if your easily offended by...shall we say, "colorful" humor. Otherwise, see it. It's a hoot.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Funny movie! I haven't laughed so much since, "Dumb and Dumber."

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie in my opinion was humor that only a male would enjoy!! Camreon Diaz was her typical self, flirtasious, and very cute. The biggest suprise is at the end, but I would of definitely waited to see this one until it came out on video.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
With their two previous screen comedies (the gloriously irrevrent and fitfully obnoxious "Dumb and Dumber" and the very entertaining and equally funny "Kingpin") the Brothers Farrelly had solidified their position as Tinsel Town's new princes of cinematic silliness, heirs to the throne of Mel Brooks and the Zucker siblings. The Farrelly's newest film "There's Something About Mary" is thankfully every bit as raucous as their earlier efforts. Lord knows there are enough tasteless bits to sustain the diehard, but it also functions quite well as a romance.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
What a great comedy! I laughed so hard and so often during this movie. There's some political incorrectness but that didn't bother me because I'm not politically correct. This is the first time I've seen Ben Stiller in a movie and I thought he was good! He was great in this role!

Cameron Diaz is great! As Mary, she is gorgeous, golf-loving, SportsCenter-watching, beer-drinking - you know, everything you want in a girlfriend!

This movie gives new meaning to suck things as "franks and beans" and "hair gel"! Once you see this, you'll know what I'm talking about.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is NOT a movie for mid-teens or middle + aged mothers. Very raunchy humor that is extremely well done. An interesting plot with some wonderful characters ... especially the old lady from Florida. I think this movie could become a type of cult movie for college kids. I saw the movie with my 20 year old son, but probably would not take his mother to see it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
No long review here. This movie goes well beyond good taste in multiple areas. It is also very funny. Cameron Diaz, Ben Stiller, & Matt Dillon do a great job in this movie. Watch for the recurring muscians.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was better then the last two Farrely movies, Dumb and Dumber and Kingpin. It a sick humor movie that entertains almost anybody that sees it. Cameron Diaz is HOT!!!! The movie was great until the cameo apperance by Brett Favre. He can't act and shouldn't of been playing that role in the movie. Overall I give this movie a GO SEE!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"There's Something About Mary" is the latest film from the Farrely Brothers and it is extremely funny.The thin plot is about a man(Ben Stiller) who has strong feelings for a girl he's last seen in high school.He hires a PI(Dillon)to find her.Dillon becomes attached and tries to keep her for himself.As I said the plot line is thin but most comedies dont include an award winning script,thats why they're comdeies. Cameron Diaz is in top form,physically,and acting wise in a film so tastelesss it pokes fun at handicaps.I loved it!!!

(Rated R for language,sexual humor)

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A twenty minute penis joke followed by a misplaced ejaculation and a very funny scene with Matt Dillon and a dog. If you like professional wrestling, Jerry Springer, and/or The Spice Girls, you'll probably like this one. Otherwise, skip it.

Lowest common denominator humor at its common-est.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"Something About Mary" was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. Just when you think you could not possibly laugh any harder, the next scene makes you laugh so hard that you feel like your side is gonna bust wide open from the laughter. This movie is the first movie that I have seen twice at the theatres in quite some time. Believe it or not, I probably even laughed harder the second time than I did the first. So go see it now while it is still in the theatres and prepare to be entertained.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Everyone that I know that saw this movie thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. I didn't quite agree. I walked out of the theatre thinking it was ok, but then a day later when discussing it with a friend, I thought about some of the scenes and realized I did think it was pretty funny. I would have enjoyed it more had it been cast differently. I'm not a big Cameron Diaz fan (the only thing she really has going for her is that she is pretty), and I could have thought of a few other people I would have liked to see in the leading roles. It was pretty crass, and I don't think it should be seen by anyone under 17. So, I thought it was pretty good, but I still can't figure out why everyone thinks its the funniest movie they've ever seen.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It isn't often I see a movie that makes me laugh until I have tears in my eyes (and ears), but I haven't laughed so hard since they were dragging Bernie behind the speed-boat in "Weekend at Bernie's!" I read too many professional critics shooting this film down as "crude," "politically incorrect" or other negative comments. I simply feel that it is the funniest movie I have seen in years and would highly recommend it to anyone who has a reasonable sense of humor. The ads read that your ribs will hurt from laughing and I went to the movie thinking, "where have I heard that before?" Well, this is the morning after seeing the movie, and I'm still laughing and my ribs are still sore. DON'T MISS THIS ONE--YOU'LL THANK ME LATER. The cast is perfect for a perfectly funny show. Don't miss the end titles when the entire cast sings-there's some funny stuff there, too. Enjoy--I certainly did!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie rocks, I think every cheesehead in WI should see it because Brett Favre is in it. Besides the making fun of a retarded guy in the beginning this is one of the funniest movies i have seen in a long long time. I dont care how not politically correct someone is making fun of retarded people is not cool. But the rest of the movie is the bomb go see it ...NOW!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
There's something about 'There's Something About Mary' that was great. First of all, 'Mary' has a great cast. No one else could have been in the movie but the ones that were. Kind of like 'Star Wars'. 'Mary' is a very funny movie. It's one to rush out an see right away! But if you can't see it in the theaters, renting it is fine. There are no scenes that the small screen would ruin. I would have to say that this movie is a must see! It made me laugh. So if you can't see it in the theater, see it right when it comes out on video!

Grade: A

Stars out of four: ***1/2

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is a must see! It really is one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. It definitely is a movie to add to your movie collection to enjoy for years to come. I give it "TWO THUMBS UP".

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
There's something about this movie!!! It rocked!! Leave the kids at home- you might have to do some explaining.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Absolutely Hillarious! I almost, well, okay...I choked a little on my drink during some of the scenes! I can't remember when I had this much fun, and laughs at a theater before. The Story line is rather simple...however, I'm not going to get into that here. A situation similar to the one I'm in now is present in this movie...many guys going after the same girl. One guy in perticular has liked her ever since High School. The ironic fact is, the ending of the movie actually inspired me forward, knowing that in the end, True Love is victorious over all else. My advise to my readers, is to see this movie with that special gal in you're life...you'll share some touching, however, mostly hillarious moments like I did.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Let me start off by telling you that besides "Armageddon" this film is probabely the most fun you will have in the movies of '98, it's non stop laughs which is a first in film history. Although the material used is extremely SICK!, well Jason Whyte already mentioned that, some scenes that you expect not to see the actual object that they are discussing are shown with a close up. The actors are so into their role it's amazing, and first i would like to dwell on the Farrelly brothers wich their two previous films (Dumb and dumber & Knigpin) were also barrels of laughs. Now there are rules when seeing one of their comedies. 1.Do not put anything edible in your mouth, or as a matter of fact no liquids either. 2.Do not even hold up a drink in your hand or when a comedy scene appears you will quiver and spill the drink onto someone behind you (hey it happened to me) 3.The final rule is to try not to laugh too hard or your stomach will ache for at least the day.

Now back to the movie. It's Long Island 1985 a day before prom night and Ted (Ben Stiller) does not have a date, he looks extremely geeky, and has braces. Cut to a menatlly retarded kid named Warren which is looking for his baseball, he asks everyone "Have you seen my baseball", no one has. One of the kids suggest warren to ask a tough bully only substituting the word baseball for WEINER, so warren goes to the bully and his girlfriend, "Have you seen my weiner?", Warren is oblivious to the definition of weiner. The bully gets pissed and Ted goes to Warren's rescue, then the fight is broken up by the stunning blonde knockout called Mary (Cameron Diaz), it turns out to be that Warren is her brother. So Ted gets the credit of sticking up for her brother and escorts Mary home, when they reach her house ted is invited to the prom by Mary, he enthusiastically agrees.

From there the film bursts out with a twenty minute hystericall scene, involving, Mary's mom and stepdad, a fireman, the mailman, and officer, and Ted with a zipper problem.13 years later ted still lives in Long Island and is in love with Mary even though he has not seen her since prom night. A friend gives him an idea of how to find mary, Ted hires a PI (Matt Dillon) to go to Miami and find her. He goes and then falls in love with Mary.

So many scenes so little time, I will not spoil any more for you because I think that everyone should see it. Well everyone is seeing it because after seven weeks out in theatre it is still gaining speed making 5 times as much as it's budget.

GRADE: A

Jan 25, 2000
So what is it about Mary any ways?

I've got to say, with such high praise as "from the writers of "Dumb & Dumber", and "Kingpin", you have to be seriously worried about this movie. However, based upon favorable reviews, I decided to spend matinee dollars and go see this film.

It was very good! Unfortunately, there weren't quite enough people in the theater. This is a movie that you MUST see with a dozen of your friends. The more people, the better the movie is.

There are great lines, and great gags in this film to keep you wondering what'll happen next, and when you'll stop laughing.

Cameron Diaz stars as Mary, a drop-dead gorgeous high school girl that grow up to become a stunning professional.

Ben Stiller plays Ted. Ted is a little clumsy, and a little shy. But the sun shines down upon him one day, and Mary asks him to the Senior Prom. This wholesequence of events takes place in the 1970's, and boy do the set designers and costumers make it look bad. (grin)

Well, Ted arrives to pick Mary up for the Prom. A small problem occurs, and that's the last that Mary and Ted see of each other.

Flash forward to modern day. Ted still thinks about Mary. To Ted, she's the "one". So Ted hires a private eye, played by Matt Dillon, to find Mary, who has since moved to Miami.

The rest of the movie plays out very well and the interaction between the characters is good, and believable. I wouldn't have thought that Chris Elliott could play a decent role in anything, but he does here.

I remember hearing that Brett Favre had a cameo in this movie, but I didn't remember about it until he appeared on screen. Quite the surprise for this Green Bay Packer fan.

There is nothing special about the picture, nor about the sound for this movie. I can't say that there's any need to run out and see it at the theater, except that you'll be missing out on this summer's funniest comedy.

Go see it with your friends, you'll enjoy it!

Copyright 1998 - Ron Higgins No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
What a disappointment!! I don't think this movie was at all funny! Matt Dillon really was his typical self!! I think this movie degraded women and men. I just don't think it was funny at all. I walked out asking the question "What was that?"

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Thereís Something About Mary, and that something is the funniest damned movie Iíve seen in a very long time. I only cared for a few portions of the aptly titled Dumb & Dumber. I enjoyed Kingpin even less. So I was curious what the Farrelly brothers could do for me now that they hadnít before. From the opening titles to the ending credits I was laughing uncontrollably. The cast blend perfectly. And the gags arenít telegraphed a mile away like in Kingpin. And the payoffs are hilarious. The biggest surprise (and the reason Iím awarding TSAM my rarely given **** rating) is that thereís more plot/story in this perhaps apparent throwaway goofball comedy than in most of the "serious" movies that are released today. Who would have thunk it? Stay for the end credits.

10-point scale rating: 9

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Ok, this movie was funny, I mean, it is adult, yes, I also wouldn't agree to let 14 yr olds know about this kind of matter. But still, it's a really funny movie. The plot is good, abit a little laggy, but the comedy portrayed by the actors is funny. I would go and see it again.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie had a lot of laughs. I really thought that this movie was the funniest movie I had ever seen. Every second there was some kind of hilarious thing. No one under 13 or 14 should see it because it is a very sexual and "perverted" movie. But none the less it is a very funny and a verygood movie!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I really thought that this movie was pretty good. But hey I say wait for the movie to come out at blockbuster or something. There were some really funny parts in the movie but after a while it got to be so dumb. I really hope that you don't waste your money to go see a movie like that in a movie theater. Please take it from me, wait until it is at Blockbuster!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A very funny movie. I was laughing so hard, thank goodness everyone else was too.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was difficult to decide whether or not to advise everyone to stay away from this one but that would be unfair as I have to admit it did have me laughing during the first half, however it goes seriously downhill from there. The ideas obviously ran out and I found one scene so comletely gross I was almost going to walk out. If you donīt like pubescent primitive humour donīt see this unless youīre very bored and fancy a few cheap laughs.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
While sitting in the theater, literally nauseous, I was astounded by the raucous laughter of my fellow movie-goers. The amount of senseless violence in this film, disguised as comedy, is obscene. I was not expecting high art when I agreed to see this flick with my husband. However, what I saw cannot be be described as entertainment by anyone except die-hard fans of "Ultimate Fighting" and Jerry Springer.

The premise was interesting. A woman so attractive and compelling that several different men are willing to assume false identities and "plot and plan" to win her favor. This could have been done SO much better, and maybe then it might have been funny instead of depraved and pathetic.

Sophomoric at best, the only bright spots this movie has to offer are the two lead characters. Cameron Diaz and Ben Stiller are its ONLY redeeming glimmers of hope.

Granted, I am over 30 and a college graduate, but not a humorless prude. I do like movies "beyond Disney" in scope. Maybe you have to be a Three Stooges fan to like this stuff. I would have been more entertained watching paint dry than by this sad statement of what Americans like. UGH.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
There's Something About Mary is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen! It's got so much humor. With incredibly bad taste, Bobby and Peter Farrelly, who also directed Kingpin and Dumb and Dumber, have created a masterpiece. It grossest more than I expected, and the acting is very good. Cameron Diaz is great! See this movie A.S.A.P. My rating: * * * *

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
[12/23/98] (11:40 PM) I saw a terrible movie today. But in fact, it was just a mirror. The problem is that I can't tell which side of the mirror I and the rest of our race is on. I have many other bad things , in fact very bad things to say about it, but I will not say them. It's called There's Something About Mary.

Any man, woman, dog, or dust mite, who enjoyed this movie, is a tick, on the neck of our civilization. Props Karen Ray.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A stab at the Stooges, Ultimate fighting and Jerry Springer all in one post. Let me guess, either a relation to Sen. McCain or a Clinton supporter. These three things you probably cannot comprehend, thus you shun them. I love the Stooges and MMA's (mixed martial arts fighting competitions) and yes I loved this movie. Jerry Springer I can't comment on since I haven't watched him, but I know he has caused controversy much like this movie. Does this mean you have to love violence and be sadistic to like this movie? No. You need a sense of humor and a sense of comedic timing. This movie takes things that are a possibility in everyday life and blows them up to immense proportions to fill the screen with laughs. If you liked Dumb and Dumber, run to see this movie. If you think Happy Days is the end all of comedy, stay home and have a Laverne and Shirley/Happy Days marathon - Something About Mary is too far beyond.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
For those with a sense of humor - go see it! For those who would rather play with their earwax like Elliot and Karen Ray - Get a life!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is probably the funniest movie I have ever scene. I haven't laughed this hard in 20 years! Some scenes will have you rolling in the aisles, even when you see it again.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Mary is a wonderfull girl. When she was in high school, she met a boy (who was very ugly)and he decided to invite her to his graduation party. But when they were going to the party, something happened and, not only did they not go to the party together but also they never saw each other again. After some years, he decided to find her, so he found a detective to track her down. In this movie you will see a lot of strange situations and people too. If you want to laugh, you shouldn't wait any longer to see this great movie!

Jan 25, 2000
It's a little offensive, a little obnoxious, a little bit crass and only has a lttle plot. But it's a LOT of laughs.

I took my wife along and we were both literally falling on the floor laughing.

The funniest movie since 'The Blues Brothers'

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I saw this movie when it first came out. It got hard to watch after a while becuase I was always laughing so hard. In order to enjoy this movie though, you have got to have a taste for stupid comedy that can easily be found offensive. Always keep in mind that this is only a movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I must admit that this movie was a hysterical twisted movie of comic greatness. Not all people will enjoy this form of comedy but for those who enjoy off center satire will fully enjoy this movie.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was completely unbelievable and more disgusting than I could bare.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'm the kind of person that loved the movie Dumb and Dumber... This movie wasn't at all like I heard from everyone.. I was expecting to be holding on to my seat, instead there were only threeactual funny parts... the movie was sweet at most... It's okay but I would rather wait for the rental.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I shouldn't have found this funny. It's terrible. A guy's crotch caught in his zipper? Semen as hair gel? Oh my, what a distasteful film. Too bad it was hilarious.

The Farrelly brothers have done it again. Peter and Bobby Farrelly have knack for feeding the audience incredibly bad-taste gags, but presenting them in such a way that you just have to laugh, even though you don't want to. Lots of people have dismissed Dumb and Dumber as just a star vehicle for Jim Carrey (then again, aren't ALL of Carrey's films star vehicles?), but it owned some of the freshest humor of that year. 12-year-old boys will love There's Something About Mary, but so will 40-year-old women and 18-year-old college students, like me!

Ben Stiller plays Ted, who had a crush on Mary (Cameron Diaz) in high school and actually succeeded in asking her to the prom. Suffice to say, things went horribly wrong on prom night, and he never saw her again. Flash-forward to 1998. Ted is still single, and still owns an infatuation with Mary, who has long since moved away. His friend (Chris Elliott) convinces him to look her up again, and he enlists the help of a private detective (Matt Dillon) to track her down. The detective, however, soon falls in love with Mary himself, and tries to keep Ted out of the picture.

The performances here are great. Cameron Diaz as Mary really shows why every man she meets falls in love with her. She's smart, beautiful, nice, and, best of all, she loves football! (And the 49ers. Right on!) Stiller has the burden of being the "hero" of the film and handles it well. Dillon is a riot as the detective, who is quite possibly the worst human being on earth. Chris Elliott, Lee Evans (Mouse Hunt), and a cameo by Harland Williams (Rocket Man) round out a strong supporting cast.

You'll find yourself laughing in spite of yourself. The funny scenes are too numerous to describe, but rest assured that they are all in bad taste. All in bad taste, impeccably timed, and hilariously performed. Even with so many bad taste gags, There's Something About Mary manages to maintain a sweet center, mostly because of Diaz's endearing performance, and because, at its heart, it IS a romance. I guess.

[--- Good ---]by  
May 1, 2001
Funny but as far as bad taste comedies go, I liked American Pie and Road Trip more.
May 1, 2001
"There's Something About Mary" is perhaps one of the best films ever done by the Peter and Bobby Farrelly.

The film centers on a girl name Mary, played by Cameron Diaz, who is surrounded by the all the men of her life. Ben Stiller plays one of them. As the film opens he try to go out with her. She agreed, but Stiller had a bathroom accident, so he had missed his chance at courtship. Many years later, Stiller found out that Mary is living in Florida, the detective who helped Ben, played by Matt Dillon, also had the hots for her.

The farrellys who also wrote the screenplay has pressed all the right buttons. The humor comes easily, even if those laugh are somewhat offense. The movie puts the character Mary in the center of the universe and all the men are nothing more than plants that circled her.
May 27, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for There's Something About Mary.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook