The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, November 24th, 1999

Directed by John Lasseter

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Toy Story 2
Academy Award® Nominee
The exciting all-new sequel to the landmark 1995 computer-animated blockbuster from Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar Animation Studios. This time around, the fun and adventure continues when Andy goes...  View more >

G

Starring Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Don Rickles...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Toy Story 2.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Hannah (Age 7) Jan 25, 2000

As good as the first one. If you didn't like the first one you might not like this one but you probably still will.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Mark O'Hara Jan 25, 2000

Toy Story 2

Q: I've heard that "Toy Story 2" is better than the original. Is this true?
A: "Better" is relative. The first edition did the work of establishing the characters, and the score was more solid. "2" takes risks like adding new characters and sending nearly the whole cast on the road to rescue Woody. The sequel has more action scenes, probably because Hollywood believes we viewers will surely be satisfied by more action. On the whole, it's a very impressive film, and I wouldn't think an Oscar nomination would be far-fetched.

Q: What was your favorite part?
A: The animation never fails to amaze me. I think the pioneers of cartoons would be fascinated by this technology. Sometimes it's like seeing an exhibit of photorealist paintings: you have to keep reminding yourself these images have been created! I also like all the material put in for Boomers. My wife was particularly impressed by the detail given to the old "Woody's Roundup" show - lunchboxes and record players and novelty toys, everything resembling kid stuff from 40 years ago. So hype is not new. My 11 year-old daughter liked Woody's sidekick Jessie, the strong-willed cowgirl voiced by Joan Cusack. And both my children liked the "Star Wars" and "Jurassic Park" allusions. (When Mr. Potato Head - voiced by Don Rickles - threw his hat, I wasn't the only one to think "Oddjob.")

Q: So what's the plot, basically?
A: While he's rescuing a rubber penguin named "Wheezy" from a yard sale, Woody (Tom Hanks) accidentally ends up in the hands of a toy collector and dealer. This slimy character, Al (voiced ably by Wayne Knight), actually steals Woody, after Andy's mom pulls the sheriff doll from the sale. To sum up, the main plot consists of the main characters Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen), Hamm (John Ratzenberger), Rex (Wallace Shawn) and Rickles as the potato, trying to locate and retrieve Woody. The complications include Woody's discovery that he's a classic doll from the Howdy Doody era, worth much money to a toy museum in Japan, which is willing to pay the wily Al generously. His reunion with Jessie, a sister-like pal, Bullseye the loyal and fleet horse, and Stinky Pete the Prospector (Kelsey Grammer) is intriguing, especially the grainy segments of the television show featuring the marionette-like dolls doing routines as simple as the ones Andy does with his dolls. At one point Woody can't decide whether 'tis nobler to wear out in the hands of a loving child, or be preserved with his old-time buddies behind museum glass.

Q: How about the non-animation aspects of the movie?
A: The script is better written than many live-action movie scripts. The dialogue is snappy and quirky, developing the characters easily. It's a very kid-friendly film, a fact welcome in these days when most offerings in a mutiplex are R ratings. There are probably fewer jokes per minute in this film, but as I've said, a little more action. The music is still strong, but the two reprises of "You've Got a Friend" (one by Robert Goulet as Wheezy!) suggest the original movie has the edge in score. Camera - or computer - angles are inventive and consistently clever, using the best options of the medium.

Q: Tom Hanks or Tim Allen?
A: Again, relative. Whoever you like. They are both so well cast! Hanks' Woody seems natural with virtually any character he encounters; there's a charming scene in which he puts Andy's real puppy through a series of tricks, and rubs the dog's belly until its leg waves in scratching. Tim Allen is expert at Buzz's bravado; the spaceman realizes he's a toy, and it's hilarious when he meets another Buzz doll, with the same voice, who has not been informed of the truth.

Q: Here's an important question. Will you buy the video?
A: A sure thing. It will be a great one to watch again and again, especially if you have kids. It's as good as any Disney except, perhaps, "Beauty and the Beast." John Lasseter and his co-directors have put scads of care and work into this production, and the jokes and cultural references alone are enough to qualify it as a classic. Recommended for all ages, this movie is a sure bet to entertain parents and kids out for a nice afternoon, teens on a group date, or seniors, who will love a cameo by Geri of the chess cartoon "Geri's Game."

 

[--- See Now! ---]by CARLY WINDT Jan 25, 2000

I think this movie was great and very funny and exciting! If I were you and didn't see the movie I would get ready to see it before it ends in theaters! Please see it otherwise your going out to seeing a great movie! so get ready to see a movie called Toy STORY 2!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Thomas Strong Jan 25, 2000

NOTE: No spoilers in this review.
Toy Story was not only a landmark movie for its computer graphics, but also for its well-written and touching story. I had no real expectations that Toy Story 2 could match the success of the first. Heck, it wasn’t even slated to released to theatres, it was going to be a direct to video release until Disney changed its mind.

From the first frame of film that rolls through the projector you are taken on an adventure into action, humor and sensativity that more than rivals the first movie. Adults as well as kids can enjoy this equally.

SEE IT NOW!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Brenda Jan 25, 2000

Absolutley better than the first!! Very creative.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Sarah! Jan 25, 2000

This movie was VERY well written and exciting,it would have to be one of the best movies i've seen in ages.it was made better than the first one and is perfect for anyone to see,see it now you'll really enjoy it!!!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Philip Jan 25, 2000

What a funny movie. This has so much to offer both the kids and the adults. Excellent gags and jokes. The animation is fantastic, the sheer detail in each shot - incredible. Each character is very well cast, Rex is just wonderful. This is not a film to be missed. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberJan 25, 2000

As the title implies, Toy Story 2 carries on the wonderful storyline of the original. Woody and Buzz are back, as are all the others. The action starts when Woody tries to save Wheezy the penguin from a yard sale, and is appropriated by a nefarious toy collector.

As it turns out, Woody is part of a set which was the subject of a TV-series, and a variety of spin-off items like lunchboxes and board games. Woody is elated to find out that he is famous, and to meet the other members of his set; Jessie (a sister-like cowgirl), Bullseye (Woody's trusty steed), and Stinky Pete the Prospector.

Watching this movie is like getting back in touch with old friends. Toy Story 2 has all the magic of the first, and more. Seeing this will make you want to enjoy both movies again upon leaving the theater.

Pixar and Disney created a stir with the computer-generated animation used to create Toy Story, and their experience since that time is shown by the extra realism embodied by the animation in Toy Story 2. Some views look almost life-like, and you will be hard-pressed to forget that you're watching animation, much less computer-generated animation.

I thoroughly enjoyed Toy Story 2, and anyone from the age of 4 to 94 will enjoy it as well. Do yourself a favor and catch this movie in the theater, then catch it again on video!

<I>This review is the property of Scott Jentsch, Copyright © 1999. This information cannot be reprinted without the permission of the author.</I>

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Amy Jan 25, 2000

Finally!!! Someone has knocked some sense into your critic! Over and over, I have read his evaluations on movies, hoping you could find someone new. I don't think I could read another one. Although I do believe this movies could receive a 4, I was pleased with his reaction. This is a wonderful movie. Much better than the first. The sequel has more meaning to it, not just convincing a toy that he is, in fact, a toy. No no no. This has more moral. I won't say exactly what the lesson is, but it has a reverse role: Buzz convincing Woody of something. You learn the true meaning of friendship. This is most definitely a family movie, mixed with a little adventure, and romance on Buzz's part. See it A.S.A.P.! Well done!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by kelly Ann Feb 6, 2000

This was most definantly the cutest movie that i have ever seen. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tara (age 17) Feb 6, 2000

I thought I was crazy when I went to see Toy Story 2 with a bunch of my high school friends. It turned out that we all loved the movie. It is definitely a movie for all ages! Don't miss out on this one! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Cassie Feb 6, 2000

It was a vary good. I had a vary fun time woching the move.It was the best move ever.You should take your children to see the move because it is a vary funny you'll get a lot of lafs. You'll have a fun time.SO woch the move and have a fun time.Ow yea if you have sean the first toy story to you will love this one even if you hated the first toy story you will love this one vary moch prodly even more.You'll have a fun time woching it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Schack Feb 6, 2000

Wow, I'm impressed. This was a great movie and those who didn't see the first won't be dissapointed at all. Pixar has succeeded in making the perfect sequel, and nobody should miss out on it. I don't wanna spoil it for you, I just reccomend that you go see it while it's still in the theater! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Rick Gagliano Feb 8, 2000

First of all....I loved it and I'm not afraid to admit it. I was actually looking forward to "Toy Story 2" because I thought the 1st one was great.

Remember when "Toy Story 1" first came out and everyone was talking about it and saying how great it was, but you kept thinking "I am not going to go see a children's movie, no matter how great it is." Somehow you ended up seeing it (probably the same way you ended up seeing Titanic)...either all the other movies were sold out or you bought a ticket for a "grown up" film and then snuck into this G-rated movie. You know what I am talking about.

It turns out that "Toy Story 1" took in over 350 million at the box office, 120 million in rentals and sold 22 million videos. Not bad for a G-rated film.
Well, guess what..."Toy Story 2" is just as good if not better. All your favorite toys are back and this time they brought a few friends. Story line...Woody (Tom Hanks) is once again having feelings of depression and worthlessness, but while his friends try to encourage him, Woody feels they are just "toying" with him. Before Woody can see a toy shrink (no not actually see a toy get smaller, but see a certified psychotoytherapist), he accidently ends up in a rummage sale. Along comes a toy collector who loves "Woody" toys and takes the real Woody home. Here Woody begins to find himself and begins making various emotional breakthroughs that restore his self-esteem and self-worth.
Now poor Woody is torn between the life he once had with his old toy friends (the enablers) and his new friends (a loving and caring Woody support group). Okay, maybe Walt Disney didn't see the film in exactly the same light that I did, but I think I am pretty darn close. As you watch this film, you forget that you are seeing an animated feature; for you recognize the voices as real, you laugh at their jokes, and feel sadness when they do...and in the end you are caught up into their world as if it is your own.

Bottom line....Disney has another great hit. We live in a world that doesn't always offer us opportunities to escape...but, if you go to "Toy Story 2", you can at least get away for a couple of hours.  

[--- See Now! ---]by cat May 21, 2000

this movie was thrilling to see espically with kidsthere all yelling at the top of there lungs saying "GO WOODY ,GO BUZZ" 

[--- See Now! ---]by Cindy May 24, 2000

Unbelievable!!!! Fantastic story!!!! I laughed so hard I almost missed the next line. The animation is amazing! The animators definitely did their homework. When you see Woody riding a dachshund puppy down the stairs, it looks just like you would imagine a floppy toy cowboy would look riding an exuberant puppy. Loved it!! 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberAug 30, 2006

"Toy Story 2" continued the adventures of toys that come alive while no one is looking. In the second movie, the Cowboy is having problems with old age and ended up in the hands of a Doll Collector. This film is just as good as the first, maybe better. I saw the first Toy Story once. I saw "Toy Story 2" twice. I has a message of how toys are loved by kids and then toss aside when they get older. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.