The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, January 15th, 1999

Directed by Brian Robbins
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 1:50

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Varsity Blues
In his 35th year as head coach, Bud Kilmer (Jon Voight) is trying to lead his West Canaan Coyotes to their 23rd division title. Things change when the star quarterback is injured and the replacement...  View more >

R
strong language throughout, sexuality and nudity, and some substance abuse

Starring James Van der Beek, Jon Voight, Paul Walker...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  7 58 See Now! Percent
Good  2 17 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 17 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 8 Stay Away! Percent
12 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Varsity Blues.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
First of all....I really liked it. Well it's about time we had a football version of "Hoosiers". Okay, it may not be exactly like Hoosiers, but it is a great film about high school football. If you have ever read the book, "Friday Night Lights" about football in Odessa, TX, this is the closest you will see to a movie version of that book. We hear so many stories of how some parents relive their lives through their sons/daughters sports accomplishments, some good stories and a few sad ones....this movie plays upon the sad ones. While it is a "feel good" movie of youth rising up and taking control of their own lives, it is also a film that can be used to keep some parents and coaches in check. Bottom line....simply, you will enjoy this film.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This film is a *HUGE* rip off.

Teen flicks are always the same thing. Dead Man on Campus and Can't Hardly Wait. Now this movie. I think you should see this movie on the big screen if you like both The Waterboy and Can't Hardly Wait.You might enjoy this movie. But if you enjoy movies like The Godfather, Titanic , and Good Will Hunting. I want to tell you this STAY AWAY FROM THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS.

If you like the movie Clueless, I will tell you this Wait for this movie to come out on Video, You might be upset for spending all of your money at your locel movie house.

Now here what I think of the movie:

This movie okay, there some parts are good. And Some parts sucks. I like the drama half of the movie, the comedy half. I have to say no. The comedy half wasn't a bit funny to me. I don't know why I spend all of my money on this cheap movie.

OVERWISE I should say wait for it to come out on video.

* out of ****

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I thought it was great. it was really funny and it had a lot of energy. Go out and see it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
my opinion, along with all my friends, is that this movie ROCKS!! it's well worth your money. alot of guy humor, but still a good movie to take a date to.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I'd see it again in a heart beat. Best movie I've seen in a long time.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
i went last weekend to see this movie and there was never a dull moment this was very funny and realistic movie that i would recomend to any one except kids so far that has been my #1 fav for this year

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I play sports and I can in a way relate to this film. It was a great film showing the pressures of being in school and playing a sport. Although it was kind of predictable, I still love it. Great movie!

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I took my 2 daughters, aged 16 and 10, and one of their friends, aged 17 to see this. First of all, this is a teenagers movie. I do not understand why they put so much nudity and language in this that they had to give it an NC-17 rating. If they made it for teenagers, then why did they make it so graphic that teenagers can't get in without a parent or another adult? I consider myself pretty open, but felt embarassed while watching certain parts of this movie. I think that it had a good basic story line, but it all got lost somewhere along the way.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
UGH! This film is one of the worst movies ever. If you want to laugh, watch There's Something About Mary or Office Space instead. Brian Robbins, the director of the god-awful film Good Burger makes another crappy movie with no laughs.

If you want a real comedy, rent There's Something About Mary or watch Mike Judge's Office Space. You will laugh at those movies, this movie you will fall to sleep.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I had thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It is a movie for the younger generation (High school or college). Good plot development, story line and performances. This may also be a good soundtrack to purchace.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
"Varsity Blues" was good. It had alot of nudity in it. Vanderbeek adds a lot of character to his role. Voit was definitely good. If your a big football fan then you'll love this. It was cleverly written. Good screenplay. It was about a teen who wants to be a football player. This is more like a slice of life type of deal then anything else. See it in theaters it's worth it.

I would rate this **1/2 out of ****

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
This movie is your typical teen film, to the point where you'll be looking for John Hughes' name in the credits.



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.